To All The Mom in the World.

in #story6 years ago

DQmQaSdNWdJCJgJXihrCcQUTboA7W9nqcuzFC53wWYp8bku_640x480.png

Dear Mother,

It is in times like this I feel vulnerable when I have to write in tears and fetch words deep inside the flowing walls of my heart. No, I do not cry because I’m sad, I cry because despite my weakness and susceptibility to danger, you broke yourself into tiny bits and dropped every part of you inside me. You killed yourself in a thousand ways to make sure I live again, and again.

Today, I have gathered the world together in a room to read these lines as they pour out carefully from my lips to say thank you. For I realise that it’s better to say ‘thank you’ while there’s still strength gushing in my bones, than waiting till my teeth have fallen off to the earth in quick succession.

So,
For the times you endured the rigours of pain, carrying me in your womb and holding my little hands to the thread of life, I say thank you.

For the time you held your breath ceaselessly under water and carried me ashore in order to prevent me from drowning, I say thank you.

For the times you wrestled with yourself at night to defy the call of nature just to give me rest in your arms, I say thank you.

For the times you sold your cloths in parts and walked on the street without shoes just to quench my cutting hunger, I say thank you.

For the times you ran hectically to the moon, asking for help in places you wouldn’t have been in order to pull me away from the mud of shame, I say thank you.

For the times you carried me on your back through hills and sloppy paths because my legs were too frail to walk, I say thank you.

For the times you cried because of my silly mistakes and protected me when they came for my head in repayment for my wrong deeds, I say thank you.

For the times you ignored the meetings with your special friends just to care for me and give me all the attention I need, I say thank you.

For the times you proved that you’re more than a woman when a host of adversaries loomed up against me to take my life, I say thank you.

For the times you called me those little sweet names; smiling brightly and tickling me until the glee on my face swallowed the tears in my eyes, I say thank you.

For the times you flaunted my strength to the world and made me a hero in the face of daunting opinions, I say thank you.

For speaking positively to me and not giving up on me regardless of how many times I failed, I say thank you.

For being the heroine the world never knew because you were too busy preparing me to become a worthy champion, I say thank you.

For loving me unconditionally like no one else, dear mother, I say thank you.

Truly, no amount of treasure in the planet can quantify the undeniable love you show to me. You are indeed my shiny ray of hope, and I’m glad you are always here.

Thank you.

Dedicated to all best Mothers in the world! 😍💖

.
By Emmanuel Ebimoh
© January 2018