Christmas, crypto, cops and drugs that aren't really drugs: An educational Christmas carol - Part 1

in #story6 years ago (edited)

The other day, someone who could have been me learned a lesson about the importance of being very serious about how we store and backup our digital currencies. This is his story, spoken through my words:

Meme.jpg

We’re heading into the most bipolar time of the year as Christmas is getting closer and the days become increasingly hectic. The one moment I find myself relaxing in the armchair with a cup of hot chocolate and marshmallows, letting the calm and soothing Christmas spirit sink in. In the next I’m standing waist deep in workload and things that has to be wrapped up and finished prior to Christmas. Many of these tasks are twice as time consuming as usual because everyone else find themselves in the same position, which is clogging up the natural order of things. I suck at wrapping presents, which has led me to spend countless hours over the years, waiting in line at the crowded stores. Fortunately this is not that big of an issue this year, as I’ve decided to give everyone CBD oil and paper wallets with super fun cryptos. Most of my family are not overly excited about the concept, or just don’t care, and it’ll be interesting to see how they respond. Witnessing the reactions when they open a wallet two years forward in time to realize that they can buy themselves a new house will be priceless (fingers crossed).

2-1-635x595.jpg


As for those of you who do not know what CBD is; it is one of the major compounds found in the cannabis plant. And no, I’m absolutely not giving all of my family weed for christmas. CBD does not induce a high. Quite on the contrary; it’s inherent antipsychotic properties makes it kill the buzz you get from consuming THC (the main psychoactive component of cannabis), an effect which has shown great potential in the treatment of schizophrenia and various psychotic disorders. The medicinal value of CBD oil is unrivaled, as it can be used to treat a plethora of diseases and condition, without any serious negative side effects tied to responsible use.


Anyways.. The other day I was out dining with a bunch of guys I grew up with. We have this annual tradition around Christmas times where we go out to eat, drink and catch up on everything that has happened since we last met, which is usually at the last years Christmas gathering. We’re getting older, and many of us are now married, with kids etc. and don’t really have the time nor the energy to do actual fun stuff any more. I’m so happy I’ve not gone down that road yet, even tho I have to admit the idea of getting married and settle down does not sound as crazy as it used to do a couple years ago..

I’ve always been on the liberal/alternative side on the spectrum, but didn't get into cannabis activism before about six months ago, and thus this was news for most of the people there. After giving a short presentation on CBD, a friend of mine asks if it can be effective in the treatment of eczema, to which I happily replied that it in many cases is.

I always carry some bottles around just in case people are interested in checking it out, so I offered him one and told him he could repay me later if it turned out to be effective. At this point this other guy which I’ve hardly ever known firmly plants his beer down on the table and proclaims that he is a cop. I jokingly ask if he was going to arrest me, to which he replied “No, I am intoxicated and am therefore not in a position to intervene.”. A feeling of dread struck me as I suddenly realized this guy wasn’t joking, and I was actually talking to a real freaking cop. To make matters worse, he turned out to be the cousin of the guy I had just offered a bottle.

I tried reasoning with him, emphasizing the fact that this was a non-intoxicating medicinal substance, but he had a very hard time wrapping his head around the idea that anything coming from this plant had uses beyond just getting high (and crazy.. the Reefer Madness was strong in this one). I asked him if he intended on taking action and got to know that I were to be reported. “One does not go to a christmas gathering and sell drugs to MY friends and family!” was the words I heard as time froze and I thought to myself “My God.. What have I gotten myself into now.”

End of part one. If you enjoyed the story and would like to know what happens next, feel free to hit that follow button! Part 2 will be out in the coming days. https://steemit.com/@partywalrus

Sort:  

I’m about to unfollow you just for the cliffhanger.

Lol, thank you I guess :-P

Haha, awesome story man! Can't wait for part two! :D

Cheers, bud! It got a bit delayed.. Christmas, new years eve, etc. but it will be out sometime soon.

This is awesome man! Seriously captivating! Thank you, ill be following.

Thank you, sir :-) Happy you enjoyed the read!