Dirt Road Blackberry Picking

in #story7 years ago

As a kid growing up in rural Arkansas I always looked forward to each season. Summer is one of the most exciting seasons because there's many wild fruits to collect such as pears, strawberries, dewberries, pawpaws, and mulberries. The most abundant fruit out of them all is the blackberries.


These berries are so abundant that we drive down a low traffic dirt road until we stop at a blackberry bush with a few black dots around red dots. We stop for a couple minutes to pick as many berries as we can reach and move on until we spot some more.

I've always been told that there's no such thing as free, this holds true to wild blackberries.


The true cost is being pricked by thorns, bug bites, and poison ivy to watch out for. You can also find almost every animal species around wild Arkansas blackberry bushes. Beetles, mice, turtles, and birds are all excited about getting a taste of these dark bubbly berries.

My wife, @samkitty, and her brother, @cbenvenutti, went along for the picking yesterday. After two hours of picking blackberries we collected over 3 pounds of these soft sweet and sour berries.

After a good rinse @samkitty has an exciting plan for them soon, maybe a delicious blackberry crisp.



Thank you for exploring!

PepperNickel Blog
Sort:  

Great shots. I like the gif concept. Thanks for sharing

I love blackberries, I try to incorporate them into my smoothies or granola or even just snacking on them alone. I usually just purchase them at the grocery store, but I did have the privilege of picking them by hand in British Columbia! You are so right about the thorns, I came out of that bush completely scratched up, but the tasty treat at the end was so soothing!

Definitely! Now if we just had wild blueberries then that would be very exciting. I take pride in what grows wild in the Ozarks.