Interesting Story: The Parable of the Two Brothers

in #story5 months ago

The Parable of the Two Brothers

There were once two brothers who lived in a small village. They were very different from each other. The older brother was hardworking, honest, and generous. He worked as a farmer and shared his crops with his neighbors. The younger brother was lazy, greedy, and dishonest. He spent his days gambling, drinking, and cheating. He always envied his older brother's wealth and happiness.

One day, the younger brother decided to steal his older brother's harvest. He sneaked into his barn at night and loaded his cart with sacks of grain. He was about to leave when he heard his older brother's voice.

"Brother, is that you?" the older brother asked, coming out of his house with a lantern. "What are you doing here at this hour?"

The younger brother was startled and tried to lie. "Oh, I was just passing by and saw that your barn door was open. I thought I would check if everything was alright."

The older brother looked at the cart and saw his own grain. He realized what his younger brother had done, but he did not get angry. Instead, he smiled and said, "Brother, you are welcome to take as much grain as you need. I have plenty to spare. But why did you not ask me? I would have gladly given it to you."

The younger brother was ashamed and speechless. He could not understand why his older brother was so kind and forgiving. He felt a pang of remorse and regret for his actions.

"Brother, I am sorry for what I have done. I have been foolish and wicked. Please forgive me." he said, tears in his eyes.

The older brother hugged him and said, "Of course I forgive you. You are my brother and I love you. Come, let us go to my house and have some supper. Tomorrow, we will work together in the fields and share the fruits of our labor."

The younger brother agreed and followed his older brother. He learned from his example and changed his ways. He became hardworking, honest, and generous. He stopped gambling, drinking, and cheating. He started helping his neighbors and sharing his crops with them. He found peace and joy in his life.

The two brothers lived happily ever after, as friends and partners. They taught their children and grandchildren the value of kindness, forgiveness, and generosity. They became respected and loved by everyone in the village.

The moral of the story is: It is better to be kind than to be right. It is better to forgive than to hold a grudge. It is better to give than to receive.