Peaks and Valleys (Original)

in #story6 years ago

I’ve kept the those things that remind me of you -
The blankets and cap, the shirts and some socks,
The endless sleepless nights near your pillow.

The sandy colored bedsheet still carries your scent -
is the last thing I smell before sleep
and the first when I wake.

We always saw distance differently -
You worry the miles will break the bonds -
That because I am far my heart will wander.

But we are entangled, you and I,
And there is no distance too great
Where my heart cannot touch yours.

I gather in your broken things
To breathe in deeply and sense you
Because missing you is just that hard.


@prufarchy

Sort:  

I lost someone close to me recently too and missing them has been hard. This was so sweet but a little bit heartbreaking to read. I have kept things from him too that I found hard to look at at first but now I view them fondly. This is great, thanks for sharing
Ivy

I'm really glad we could share a moment like this

Me too. Thanks for sharing your poetry. Poetry can be so cathartic.

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

Haven’t seen you around for awhile, glad to see you back.

It’s been a hard traveling in 2018 - just glad to be back, thanks

Loading...