Extraordinary Moments in an Ordinary Life: A Personal Story

in #story7 years ago (edited)

I was at the local KFC and ordered my regular 3 piece chicken. Not for myself but for the three stray dogs on my street. I try to give them a treat every week because everyone feeds them measly scraps.

I placed my order and prepared to pay. The workers there looked young and seemed very excited about something. I thought nothing of it (maybe they were motivated workers).

The cashier, a young lady kept smiling broadly.
When she was packing the chicken she was in an animated conversation with another person whose face I could not see.
I had the money ready and proceeded to give it to her.
She said no charge.
I didn’t quite get it and pointed to the amount due on the machine.
She smiled and said it’s been paid for.

Apparently the person whose face I couldn’t see was an ex student of mine. I remembered him as a timid boy.

The school where I had taught for the past 20 years is in a poor neighbourhood. Most of the parents are post workers and/or small scale market traders. I knew this boy was from a poor family, he didn’t excel in his studies although he tried very hard.

I could not accept his generosity.
He had so little and yet he paid for my chicken. But I saw the pride in his eyes, that he could do something, and he kept saying he appreciated all the ways I had helped him in the 2 years I taught him. He said he had a staff card he could swipe and it gives him a discounted price. It’s not much he said.

Still, his moment of generosity affected me and brings tears to my eyes.

What a heart, bless him.

So I came home and ate some of the chicken too, to honour the big hearted, generous boy.
He had so little, just starting out, but he wanted to give back.

Bless.

"People will forget what you did, people will forget what you said, but people will never forget the way you made them feel." Maya Angelou


Sort:  

You get what you give. <3

this is true.

Do not become scanty hand of the giver!

i'm not sure i understand, but thank you! :)

what a lovely thing to be doing for the stays and a wonderful gesture from a person who you must have mad a big impression on that he hasn't forgot you

i'm just humbled to have made an impression, no matter how big or small. it means so much to me. thank you.

Awww !
What a simple, beautiful, heartwarming, human story. First I feel what a kind generous man you are buying chicken for the strays and of course for the young man, another real human gesture of kindness. I am pleased to meet you!

On a side note, I did write a story about Bali Dogs a while back. I might look for the link later.

Meanwhile in case you don't know this series

<3 Mammasitta meet my Mummy, Guch! She's one of the kindest people you will meet, and you know the saying, "like attracts like" ;) I started watching the show and am 15 minutes in, wow. So moved. Thank you for sharing that with us! I'm going to continue watching this. x

I wish he could add a photo to the story. I will submit with @curie

nice to meet you! "like attracts like" - i like that. I simply believe in being kind to all beings, i do what I can however small. kindness is free after all! Belle tells me I need to watch the series you shared, I plan on doing so later today. If you're interested, these are the dogs I was buying chicken for: https://steemit.com/animals/@bellekaur/the-three-strays.

Please please add a photo!!!

i unfortunately didnt get a photo last week but plan on returning to see him and get another order of chicken for the dogs. will keep you informed!

You can choose another photo but your post would look so much better . Put any kind of stray dog picture