Winter's dagger

in #story2 years ago



Image src

The years had gone by. Ever since I've found the dagger, I have never been allowed to leave the village. With this has been the many questions, though which I never had gotten answers to. The villagers never explained anything, except it was dangerous outside, they would tell me it would explain face to face.

I've always wondered why. Why I couldn't go and see them. Why I had to stay here and look after the sheep; I would often feel like the sheep were more my family then the villagers and their families.

But then, I thought of what father had told me. 'Do not seek to leave these lands. They risk your lives and your soul, lest you enter the dangerous Outdoors'

I was even more confused now. Outside, where?

In the evenings, I would sit and think about what could be out there, and what could lie beyond the mists. I was always told by father that the outside me was filled with dark creatures and dangerous people, why would they bring me out here if it was filled with creatures like that?

In the evenings, I would sit and think about what could be out there, and what could lie beyond the mists. I was always told by father that the outside me was filled with dark creatures and dangerous people, why would they bring me out here if it was filled with creatures like that?

I was never allowed outside of my home. I was to live in my home. The whole village knew me, except they call me the 'Lord of the sheep'. This is what I am called.

I hear rumours that the Lord of the sheep lives in the middle of a lake, in a house that never gets covered in water, and that he where I live and work, is but a cover. I then think that someone stole this story. How could I....

No, I couldn't think like this. I must have been crazy. I could not live in a city like this, on the other side of the lake. Here in the dale, everything was old, stone, dull and grey. As far as I could see, there was nothing else. Though this was what I wanted.

I was used to the the fog, the rain, the cold and the wind, but there was something else. Something I feared for years. If I should ever go outside into the wide world, I would die. That was what everyone in the village taught me. But why? I was never told of what I was going to face. Why should I live in this dale, when there is only fog and rain, with no light for the summer and no need for people to live in stone huts.

Father obviously must have thought this too, as he never let me return to the world. But why? I know he could have taken me to the city to see it, but he never did. I think he thought I would die once I go outside. Or was he just keeping me safe?

I was told that the outside was to dark, endless, dangerous and evil. I didn't believe them, but I never dared to think that they were lying. There was no good reason for that; why then should they lie to me? I was told that I would die without the light of the sun. Of course, it didn't make sense, because Father would allow me out on the mists if I needed, so I would be safe.

I think that's why. That's why he wouldn't leave the village with me. When it started to rain, I would have to hide inside, while he would stand and watch the clouds, tripping in the sky. He was the man who was afraid of the clouds? I don't know.

That's why I started talking to the sheep, the only thing I trusted. With them, I can talk freely and eventually they all know.

If I should return to the world, now that I have grown, and have the strength to do so. I will not die, regardless of what anyone says. I am also curious about who I am and why I was brought here. I was never told of this before; nothing about my past. I did not look like the people around me, who had blonde hair and blue eyes like the sky.

I was different. I had grey hair and blue eyes, and I looked more like the old people that lived here. The young people here doesn't have grey hair like me; when it comes to old people that is. It is strange, isn't it? I think so.

But I know that I am not of this land. I am not a sheep herder, I am not a farmer, but I am a Lord of the sheep. These are the only details I know about me. I know I was brought here when I had very young, but I don't know by whom.

You could say that the dagger has its powers. If a person should pick it up, they could read the mind of the one that owns it. They could read its thoughts. Why is that?

If I should return to the world, now that I have grown, and have the strength to do so. I will not die, regardless of what anyone says. I am also curious about who I am and why I was brought here. I was never told of this before; nothing about my past.

I should ask father.

Father was not happy when I claimed the dagger. He called me insane, a liar and an intruder. He had warned me against touching the dagger. 'Stay away from it, if you must. If you are found to be with it, you will be punished for a long time. I shall tell you why. The dagger means complications, and it is for this reason why you should stay away from it.'

He keeps mentioning this in all his ranting, which I consider, as ranting. I am not trying to stay away from it, I just want to know more about myself. Why is it so dangerous to leave? What could happen to me?

If I should return to the world, now that I have grown, and have the strength to do so. I will not die, regardless of what anyone says. I am also curious about who I am and why I was brought here.

I think that's why he wouldn't leave the village with me. When it started to rain, I would have to hide inside, while he would stand and watch the clouds, tripping in the sky. He was the man who was afraid of the clouds? I don't know.

If I should ever go outside into the wide world, I would die. That was what everyone in the village taught me. But why? I was never told of what I was going to face. Why should I live in this dale, when there is only fog and rain, with no light for the summer and no need for people to live in stone huts.

Father obviously must have thought this too, as he never let me return to the world.

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @ryberu! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!