Technology what have you done to me?

in #story6 years ago


Source:

I was born in the 90’s generation, in which I considered the era of where the past and future meets. During my childhood most of our pastime games were “Tumbang Preso”, Agawan – Base, Luksong – Tinik, Luksong - Baka, Chinese Garter (lols), etc”. Wherein these types of games requires athletic abilities because it exerts more efforts, strength and stamina including also quickness to make a decision. We were then mentally and physically active, in short. Friendship and camaraderie was very strong among the 90's kids.

But then, new type of games emerges, though during our time only the rich and famous could afford. It was the rise of brick games, Gameboy, console and pc games. That made me realized that at that moment time passes quickly.

Street_Fighter_II_game_play-300x225.png play-mario-online1-300x225.jpg mortal-kombat-3257-1-300x234.jpg Quake-Reloaded-game-300x225.jpg

Source:

These was the beginning of the new chapter of my life. As I approach my teenage year’s technology was rapidly improving, arising the evolution of telephones to mobile phones.

BEFORE

582495b98fa32stryimg.jpg

AT PRESENT

582495e664628stryimg1.jpg]

Source:

From the conventional sending of letters through post offices to exchanging letters through emails. Thus, the evolution of our technology has just begun. From Friendster and Multiply, which I believe the ancestors of Facebook and other social media platform. Indeed, these has made our lives easy and comfortable. We could no longer wish for more. Our friends, relatives and loved ones are within our reach. We have immediate access to them anytime and anywhere.

Thus, my dilemma arises, I am grateful that these technology has been within my reach. I could make my “Hello’s and Hi’s” with my friends. I am updated with their lives daily. I could see what they are doing and I could feel their emotions every time they posted their “shout outs” what’s on their mind.

But the worst part was I failed to see the people around me, which slowly has been slipping away from my grasps. I am very near to them yet it seems I am miles away. My head and hands are hooked on my smartphone, busy reading updates from my friends, sending private messages in messenger. I was more concerned on the notifications that may pop up on my FB rather than making a sound conversation with my loved ones. This technology has gotten inside my system that I could no longer leave my house without bringing my smartphone. Not for communication purposes but am hooked with the app inside it. The closeness I built during my childhood days within my family has suddenly deteriorated.

The technology which I believe its sole purpose to make our lives comfortable, has become a burden on my part because it has slowly eating me inside. It has become my worst nightmare, the “thing that spreads destructively” to my entire self.

It is just like a medicine when taken moderately could cure illnesses but when abused it could lead to destruction and addiction to substance. It was once said that anything taken in excess is destructive. I believe when we let technology control over us it could lead to our demise.

work-life-balance-quotes-and-awesome-best-images-about-work-life-balance-on-take-work-life-balance-quotes-humor-21.jpg

Source:

Technology is good, like any social media these brings our friends from miles away bring us closer. But let’s not forget that the people around needs more caring and attention we could give. Let’s take things on moderation to live a healthy relationship with our family and loved ones.

Letting technology, social media apps control over me made me realized that I need to be in balance.

Balance is the key to a peaceful mind.

28062-quotes_xlarge.jpg

Source:

Disclaimer:

This is just my point of view and opinion. I am just sharing what I have observed nowadays with the rapid evolution of technology. Let us take these things in moderation and enjoy comfort it offers but never allow it to control us.

Until then, keep on steeming guys. Please comment your violent reactions below (lols) and your words of wisdom. Don’t forget to follow me guys and upvote also (hehehe).

Sort:  

Hi, @steeman220, you have presented your thoughts very well. I really think you have a background in editorial writing.
But, as much as I would like to resteem this, I am bounded with my own rules.... I have said in my post that I would only resteem 4 per week. And you are the fifth :)
That is why it is called a cell-phone. Kinulong ang karamihan sa atin ng cell-phone na ito.

But, as much as I would like to resteem this post..

thanks @christianyocte, and its ok, the fact that you find time to check my post and upvoted it is more than enough...

Very nice post.

thank you @aboutart...followed you.

great realization gem:)

thanks gem...

"Technology is a useful servant but a dangerous master."

This is something we have to realize. Technology has ruined relationships and lives. People has to learn to manage and know when and where to use it.

Very informative post. Nice one 👍

thank you @ayingroxie. yes indeed, a wonderful tool yet deadly when not used in moderation.

Right, parents should take precautionary measures and guide their children on how to properly and moderately use the gadgets.

yes i agree, parents should take responsibility to limit their children in using gadgets...thank u so much @ayingroxie for your insights 😁😁😁