Life Is A Gift... I Won't Waste It - Keep Going....

in #story6 years ago (edited)

I got a letter from my sister Mary today. She always sends me cards almost everyday. She lives far away from my village. It's a 5 hours drive. Even though I want to see her, I can't travel anymore. I just turned 98 years old last week and my sister Mary is 92. She is the youngest among the 10 siblings. We grew up together in a farm. We had a big house with a lot of animals like chickens, pigs, cats, dogs, birds and horses.

My 5 brothers were amazing, 2 of them were priests, Martha and Bertie were nuns. I was born and raised as a Catholic. When I was 6 years old mum sent me to a boarding school until I was 18. I didn't like it much  because I was away from mum and dad. But maybe having 10 children was not easy for mum, so she could have some time for herself. Yes, I still do remember Sarah she was our amazing nanny. The boys were a bit naughty. I miss her up to now...she was like a second mother to me.

Growing up, I always wanted to work with animals or in the farm. But instead I took up Nursing because my sister Esther was a nurse. It was a  tough profession. I only studied 2 years and I tried to find another job. I ended up working in a hotel I became a manager where I met my husband James. James was a lovely man. We fell in love tho I got married very late in '50. We bought a cottage in a village. We named it the "Garden Cottage" we have a beautful garden with a river  where I spent most of the time. 

I do miss my family, they are all in heaven, including James. Sometimes, I  feel sad and lonely but I have to go on. Though my knees and joints are hurting me. I must endure the pain.  I will keep going. I had and have a wonderful life..

Someday I will be with them when the right time comes. I am still enjoying my morning walks my knitting stuff and my jigsaw puzzles. Mary she needs me, she mentioned in her last letter that she has a boyfriend in a nursing home. I will write her a letter again....and tell her to keep walking and enjoy the new found love.

I love my life...I must go on until my last breath. Life is a gift.. I won't waste any of it..

Hope you like my story. All photos are mine including the postcards:)

Please continue to support @surpassinggoogle
If you haven't vote your witness yet, vote Terry now!
Write @steemgigs >>>https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Yours truly,
The village girl @sunnylife in the Steemian Forest

Sort:  

I hope we can be a little bit of virtual company, so that the sun continues shining!!! xx

ohh elena,
always good to see you:)
keep shining too!
hope all is well.

xoxo

Ahh, this is the lady you work for. This is very nice my friend.
The stories she must have, enjoy your time with her!!
God bless you village girl!!
Hugs!! x0x0x

thanks papi.
my grandma's story with combination of other things:)

Thanks for everythng papi:)
hugs xoxo

Very nice story, Sunnylife. Age is a gift! My father is 90 and my uncle 92. My father is very healthy and very active at 92. I hope I can do as well. Have a great day.

Thanks so much Mama Bear:) It is a gift:) that was amazing age!
I'm sure you will and still active when you reach that age.
My grandma was 98 when she passed away. She had a great time on earth:)

Have a lovely day xoxo

We loved your family story, pictures, and life experience! Very nicely written! We will follow you closely for more great post.

oh thanks:) glad you like it.:)

I cant( imagine living more than like 75 years
I dont want to live too long to become a burden to my family
I want to live and die before I start depending on others 😉
that's what I think now, but who knows, maybe I change my mind 50 years from now 😀
of course if I get to live that long 😏

hey hazem good to see you:)
Live first before u die lols
enjoy each day, you're not there yet hehe

yeah I got so into your post that I could imagine myself at that age loool
ok back to reality
Hazem you are 27 (almost) 😀

lol enjoy it hazem..you're still young:)

super nag enjoy naman ako sa kwento mo sis..ang mga picture ang gaganda din talaga :-) <3

thanks sis at naaliw ka den hehe
miss u na:)

Nice story and like the photos. :)

thanks sis:)

Nice story sis! Sensya kana ngyon lang kita nadalaw busy ako kanina naghanap kami car para kay ashlyn. Para hindi na sya nanghihiram ng car sa kapitbahay. Kaso walA naman kami nakita. May luto ako sis sana magustuhan mo para sayo yun.😍

thanks sa mga lut mo sis nabusog akosa kakatingin hahaha

wow ang gaganda ng pictures mam @sunnylife & yes, the story is sooo maganda :-)

salamat po maam:)

You are indeed blessed, sis <3 <3 <3 Stay grateful <3

thank you sis:)
Miss u xoxo

Thanks for sharing some personal story. May you know rest in ur life.. Thanks

agree with you. it's art!