When we all grow old.

in #story6 years ago

Hello stimit, today I have decided to share my story with you.
This is St. Bernard, once a beautiful chapel lying on the outskirts of Uyo, in its own ruins. Rejected and isolated by those who have once had unreserved love her. Screenshot_2018-06-06-01-50-14.pngHer magnificent sanctuary and her lovely field, her symbol of dignity and beauty erstwhile, now becoming a dire of its former self, and a hideout for rodents and reptiles.
Six years ago, on memory lane. On her pews in her lovely field sat me alongside my companion and mates, having a full romance of the morning breeze and the glistening kiss of the morning Sun, attending our Cathechesis class. In her bosom had I first known the joy of solitude. While I and my mates enjoyed our cathechesis class, my companion(Billy) was busy playing in the meadows. download.jpeg(image from Google){https://www.google.com.ng/search?q=dog+in+a+meadow&oq=dog+in+a+meadow&aqs=chrome..69i57j0l3.12710j0j4&client=ms-android-gionee&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8#imgrc=bwEC-6sRqBVv_M:} And here, we normally enjoy listening to the angelic voice of St. Bernard choristers sing their sweet melody.
Billy, my pet dog, has been a faithful companion all the years we have been together. He wouldn't pick up any offense no matter what had transpired between us. He had been a darling for the six years we had been before life, the cruel sadist came between us. I had journeyed away from home, Just to add meaning to my life. In the Unknown I had struggled for six years till home called. Screenshot_2018-06-05-19-06-54.pngThe joy in my mind couldn't be contained for I have had a fill of my adventures and I will reunite with my Billy, my mates and St. Bernard. I returned to meet my Billy in its feeble state, having lost almost half of his teeth. He will only lie still all day, with his frailty look. The nolstagic feelings that crept down my spine after my Vet announced I will lost my Billy. River flow of tears couldn't even bring back my Billy, neither can it restore the glory of St. Bernard. images.jpegHelplessly, I stood watching all I have loved rip away from me, under my own watch. For once, I think of how life will be when we all grow old. The duo has left an indelible imprint on the sands of time, for everytime I visit St. Bernard, the memories of my childhood creeps back into my mind.