One Thousand and One Nights: The Story of the Hunchback with the Tailor, the Jew, the Christian, and the Barber of Baghdad: Fourteenth Night

in #storylast year (edited)

THE STORY OF THE HUNCHBACK WITH THE TAILOR, THE JEW, THE CHRISTIAN, AND THE BARBER OF BAGHDAD


hunchback.jpg


The Jewish Doctor's Narrative, Part 3.

ON THE FOURTEENTH NIGHT

Sheherazade said:

As I lifted the cushion to arrange it, I saw, under the cushion, a gold necklace with, from space to space, three rows of perfect noble pearls. It was precisely the necklace of the young woman, who had been put under the pillow the night of our antics. At this memory, I began to shed tears of regret and mourn the death of this adolescent girl. Then I carefully hid the necklace in the lining of my garment.

After three days of rest in my house, I thought of going to the souk to try to find an occupation and to see my acquaintances. Arrived at the souk, it was written by the order of Destiny that I must be tempted by the Sheitan and succumb to the temptation: because all destiny can only be fulfilled. And I was, indeed, tempted to get rid of the gold and pearl necklace by selling it. I, therefore, took it from the lining of my garment and showed it to the ablest broker in the souk. The broker invited me to sit in his shop, and himself, as soon as the souk was well underway, took the necklace, asked me to wait for his return, and went to submit it to the merchants. And, after an hour, he came back and said to me: “I thought at first that this necklace was made of real gold and real pearls and that it must be worth at least a thousand gold dinars. But I was wrong. This necklace is fake. It is shaped according to the artifices of the Franks, who knew how to imitate gold, pearls, and precious stones. So they only offered me, in the souk, a thousand drachmas instead of a thousand dinars. I replied: "Yes, really, you're right. This necklace is fake. I had it done simply to make fun of a woman I had given it to as a gift. And, by the greatest of luck, this woman has just died and left it as an inheritance to my wife. So we decided to sell it at any price. Take it then and sell it at that price, and bring me back the thousand drachmas in question!"

The broker understood that the young man did not know the value of the necklace and that he had either stolen it or found it, and that the matter had to be cleared up. So he took the necklace and went to see the main chief of the brokers of the souk, who immediately took it and went to find the wali of the city and said to him: “Here! This necklace was stolen from me! And we just found the thief. He is a young man who is dressed like the sons of merchants, and he is in such a place, with such a broker!"

The young man went on to tell me his story thus:

Immediately, and while I was waiting for the broker to return with the money, I saw myself surrounded and seized by the guards, who dragged me by force to the wali. And the wali questioned me about the necklace, and I told him the same story as the broker. Then the wali began to laugh and said to me: “I will tell you the exact price of this necklace! He signaled to his guards, who apprehended me, stripped me of my clothes, and felled me with rods and whips until my whole body was bleeding. So in pain, I cried out: “I will tell you the truth. This necklace, yes, I stole it from the chief broker!" And I thought in my soul that it was even better for me to say this than to confess the terrible truth of the murder of the young woman in my house. Because surely I would have been condemned to death and killed in the same way, in redemption for his murder.

But no sooner had I accused myself of this theft than they seized my arm, and they cut off my right hand, as a punishment for this theft; and they cooked my arm in boiling oil to heal the wound. And immediately I fell fainting from pain. And they gave me something to drink that made me recover my senses. So I picked up my severed hand and returned to my house.

When I arrived at my house, the landlord who had learned of this said to me: "Because you have been convicted of larceny and illicit things, I can no longer keep you in my house. So you're going to take back your belongings and go find a place to stay somewhere else!" I answered him: “My lord, please allow me only two or three days of delay so that I have time to find another lodging! And he said to me: “I am willing to give you this time." Then he left me and left.

As for me, I threw myself on the ground and began to cry and say to myself: 'How could I now return to Mosul, my country, and have the courage to see my parents again with my severed hand? And my parents won't believe me when I tell them I'm innocent! So now I have only to let myself go to the will of Allah, who alone can send me a means of salvation!"

The grief and sorrows that I continued to have made me sick, and I could not go to seek another home. Also, as I was in bed, on the third day, I suddenly saw my house invaded by the people of the governor-general of Damascus, and I saw the proprietor of the house and the chief broker approaching me. And the owner said to me: “I must tell you that the wali informed the governor-general of the theft of this necklace. And now it emerges from all this that this necklace actually belonged, not to this chief broker, but to the governor-general himself, or rather to one of his daughters, who also disappeared almost three years ago! And they come to seize you!"

At these words, all my joints began to tremble and all my limbs too, and I thought: “Now, without recourse from now on, they will surely put me to death. It is better that I tell the whole truth to the governor-general. And he alone will be the judge of my death or my life." But already I was seized, bound, and brought, the chain around my neck, before the governor in whose hands I was left, me and the chief broker. And the governor said to his people, looking at me: "This young man whom you are bringing to me is no thief, and his hand has been cut off unjustly, I am sure of it! As for this chief broker, he is a liar and a false accuser! Grab him then and throw him in the dungeon!" Then the governor said to this chief broker: “You will immediately compensate this young man for his severed hand, otherwise I will hang you and confiscate all your property and all your wealth, O broker of curse!" And he cried out, addressing the guards: “Take him away from before my face, and get out, all of you!” And then there remained in the room only the governor and myself. But I no longer had the yoke around my neck or my arms tied.

When we were thus alone, the governor looked at me with great pity and said to me: “My child, you are now going to speak to me frankly and tell me the whole truth without concealing anything from me. So tell me how this necklace got into your hands. I answered him: “O my master and suzerain, I will tell you the truth! And then I told him all that had happened to me with the first teenager, how she had procured for me and had brought the second teenager to my house, and how afterward, seized with jealousy, she had sacrificed her companion. And I told him the thing in all its details.

Hearing my words, the governor, with pain and affliction, bowed his head on his chest, covered his face with his handkerchief, and began to weep for a long time. Then he approached me and said:

Know then, O my child, that the first adolescent is my eldest daughter. From her childhood, she was full of perversity, and was, for this reason, held by me with great severity. But hardly had she reached puberty than I hastened to marry her, and for this purpose I sent her to Cairo to her uncle, my brother, to unite her to one of my nephews, her own cousin. So she married; but, shortly afterward, her husband died, and she returned to me and returned to my house. But she had not failed to take advantage of her stay in Egypt to learn from the Egyptian women all the vices, all the corruptions, and all kinds of licentiousness. And you know, since you have been in Egypt, how expert in debauchery are the women of this country. Men are not enough for them, and they love each other and mingle with each other, and get drunk. Also, barely back here, she met you and gave herself to you, and went to find you four times in a row. But that was not enough for her. As she had already had time to pervert my second daughter, her sister, and to make herself passionately loved by her, she had no difficulty in persuading her to come to your house, after having told her everything she did with you. My second daughter, therefore, asked permission to accompany her sister to the souk, and I allowed her. And it happened what happened! So when my eldest daughter came home without her sister, I asked her where her sister was. She answered me only with tears, and ended up saying to me, all in tears: “I completely lost her in the souk, and I have no idea what has become of her!" That's what she tells me. But soon she opened up to her mother and ended up telling her, in secret, the whole story and the death of her sister, killed by her own hands, in your house. And since then she has been in tears and keeps repeating day and night: “I must cry until I die! “As for your words, oh my child, they only confirmed what I already knew and showed me that they spoke the truth. So you see, my son, how unhappy I am! So I have a wish to make and a prayer to address to you, and you will not refuse. I ardently desire to make you a member of my family and to give you in marriage my third daughter, who is a wise, ingenuous, and virginal young girl, and who has none of the vices of her sisters. And I will not ask you for any dowry, for this marriage; on the contrary, I will reward you generously

At this point in her narration, Sheherazade saw the morning appear and quietly fell silent.

First Night - Second Night - Third Night - Fourth Night - Fifth Night - Sixth Night - Seventh Night
Eighth Night - Ninth Night - Tenth Night - Eleventh Night - Twelfth Night - Thirteenth Night

Fifteenth Night

Sort:  

Hmm
This is lovely
I guess there are some kinds of pressure you will go through and it will make you say a lot of things under duress. That is what happened to the young man. He lied against himself because they have been beating and questioning him too much. This happens to a lot of people.

But some sisters can be so cruel. Why would someone do that to her blood sister? I have noticed that some families have these kinds of people and it is not fair. Why did she even take her sister along with her when she knew that she's a jealous being. I guess she just wanted to kill the sister becaue of hatred.

Also, it is now painful that the guy's hand has been cut off and they later realized that he is not a thief. It is unfair. This should have happened earlier before they make the judgment of cutting down his hand and that is why it is good to make proper investigation of anything before the judgment. I am really waiting to see if the young man will accept to marry the man's third daughter...

Nice story!

What a turnaround in the story, I knew the story of that first girl will come back in the story, and I still think that the elder daughter of the governor will make trouble for a young boy, but that's only my prediction, we never know what is going to happen.

There was a sad event in today's episode that, the young man's hand got cut due to an event which was not his fault, though he was at fault when he got agreed to sleep with the other young girl, He should have refused it.

because the first girl was his first love, and he felt affection towards her, but this is the world and we have seen so many cases like this. this is how a relationship breaks and the life of two people turns apart.

As he now lost his arm and paid for what he has done, he now can live a happy life in the government house, and get married to her third daughter.

Governor would never want anyone to know about her daughters like this, so he now decided to reward the young man, so that his respect in his people remain undamaged.

Now the question is how he fell ill? which we knew that the doctor came to treat him to whom he is telling his story.

The young man, faced with a series of misfortunes, undergoes a transformation as he reflects on his past actions and their consequences. He demonstrates remorse and regret for his behavior, realizing the gravity of his mistakes. His willingness to tell the truth and accept responsibility catalyzes his redemption. This element of the story underscores the potential for personal growth and moral development even in dire circumstances.

Great episode. I have great anger on her sister that kills her. How a sister can kill her. By justice she will not accused of her crime, murder.
Very sad to read about the young man who was innocent and got cut off his hand. How he will faced his family now and his father trusted him and send him to egypt but he do this. Very shameful act. Its a responsibility of his uncle who took him with himself.
So sad of him. But if he spoke truth that may be his hand will be survived.
He was cried as he was innocent. He just trusted a girl who is very sharp. Waiting for the next episode.

The young man finds a valuable necklace under a cushion, attempts to sell it, but realizes it's fake. Misunderstandings lead to his hand being cut off and being accused of theft. In the end the truth is revealed, and the governor offers marriage to the protagonist as recompense for the ordeal. But in my opinion is just a little too late as the harm was already done. Sometimes we need not to rush into decisions that are life changing and have great impact.

The young man's story is really curious. He succumbs to the temptation to sell the gold and pearl necklace in the souk given his poor economic situation. But you should never sell something that is not yours, otherwise you will suffer the consequences. This is how our protagonist ended up losing his hand for confessing something that he did not do.
Finally the story takes a turn and his confession of the truth, he had not done anything wrong, ends up leaving him in a better situation than he had. But that if without his right hand.

How come thwy seize him well i believe he didn't know anything about the necklace that was stolen. Probably it is coincidence for him in that situation. I am imagine what he must have been feeling at that particular time

This is really a great episode again to read of 😁. I enjoy every bit of it

https://leofinance.io/threads/tokutaro22/re-leothreads-yalcma2
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( tokutaro22 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

~~~ embed:1666732132771692544?t=xLnzl-kH-9Vhqe4TebLMkA&s=19 twitter metadata:YXRvbXo4NzQ1ODgyNXx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9hdG9tejg3NDU4ODI1L3N0YXR1cy8xNjY2NzMyMTMyNzcxNjkyNTQ0fA== ~~~

I knew it! I knew there was something sneaky about the first woman. That's why she could even have the gut to tag along with another woman to the house of a man she was having sexual affairs with. Cos how on earth would she want to share her man with another woman if she wasn't so despicable?

Now I wish he had told the truth from the beginning and did not try to run off and hide with his uncle. Just maybe, his hands would be still been whole. In full pieces and he probably would have gotten married to the good third child of the king.

Or maybe, if he did show up earlier and confessed, things wouldn't have worked out in his favor. Well, the universe knows how to run her things, and Allah understands why things happen. So I'll leave it at that. ..

I am glad though that the necklace even though cost him his hands set him free from all the guilt he has been suffering from for three years and now he can live peacefully with his new wife and raise a family together.

Now, let's see if the sultan will find this story worthy enough to set the people who confessed to the death of the hunchback free

Today I have been very busy all day due to a emergency work due to which I could not read the post today nor did I comment so now that I am finished I thought I would comment now.

After reading today's story I am reminded of the previous story where we saw that the boy was not so guilty and had his thumb cut off because he did not wash his hands. I have seen it happen more in my life that when a new girl comes in the relationship, the love between the husband and wife ends and they start fighting a lot. In this story we also see that these two people are very happy as soon as the new girl has come into their lives.

The young boy's fault is only that he has forbidden the girl and because of which his hand has been cut off and the way today the new story has come within the story and we have seen that the boy himself is very much he was worried and then he thought that between these two girls.

He would suffer a lot so then he married the governor's daughter and he went to another place and lived a very prosperous life. But you don't understand how his health has deteriorated and now he is telling his whole story to the doctor.

All these things you find out in yesterday's story, the story is going very interesting