One Thousand and One Nights: The Story of the Hunchback with the Tailor, the Jew, the Christian, and the Barber of Baghdad: Twenty-second Night

in #story11 months ago (edited)

THE STORY OF THE HUNCHBACK WITH THE TAILOR, THE JEW, THE CHRISTIAN, AND THE BARBER OF BAGHDAD


hunchback.jpg


There are two reasons why I did not post for 6 days: I was traveling in Europe (France, Italy, Slovenia, and Hungary), and I am still suffering from shingles that I caught more than three weeks ago. It is possible that I will be in pain for a long time; this is called postherpetic neuralgia.

I am now in Pecs, in Hungary, where my wife owns a house and a small vineyard. I will try to post every day from now on, but I can't guarantee that I will succeed.


The Taylor's Narrative, Part 8.

ON THE TWENTY-SECOND NIGHT

Sheherazade said:

The barber said: "To show you that I am neither a talker, nor an indiscreet, nor similar in any way to any of my six brothers, and to show you that I am a useful and well-advised, and above all very silent, I will tell you my story, and you will be the judge!”

With these words, we all, continued the tailor, listened in silence to the story of the barber:

"Know then, my masters, that I lived in Baghdad under the reign of the Emir of the Believers, El-Montasser Billah. We lived happily under his power, for he loved the poor and the little ones, and the society of scholars, sages, and poets.

Now, one day, the caliph had to complain about ten individuals who lived not far from the city, and he ordered the governor-lieutenant to fetch these ten individuals for him. And fate would have it that, just as they were being taken across the Tigris in a boat, I was on the bank of the river. And I saw these men in the boat and I said to myself: “Sure! these men have agreed to meet in this boat to spend the whole day having fun, eating, and drinking. So I absolutely have to be their guest and be part of the feast! »

I then approached the water and, without saying a word, I, the Silent One, jumped into the boat and mingled with all those. But suddenly I saw the wali's guards arrive, who grabbed them, put a yoke around their necks and chains on their hands, and ended up also grabbing me and also putting a yoke around my neck and chains. in my hands. All of this! and I did not breathe a word or utter a word: this is proof to you, my lords, of my firmness of character and my lack of talkativeness. I, therefore, let myself be done without protesting and saw myself led with the ten individuals into the hands of the emir of the Believers, the caliph Montasser Billah.

At our sight, the caliph called his sword-bearer and said to him: "Immediately cut off the heads of these ten scoundrels!" Then the sword-bearer ranged us all in the courtyard, in a row, under the eyes of the caliph, and, raising his sword, he struck the first head and blew it up, then the second and the third and up to the tenth. But when he came to me, the number of severed heads was ten and he had no order to cut off another head. So he stopped and told the caliph that his demand was carried out. Then the caliph turned, saw me still standing, and exclaimed: “O sword bearer, I ordered you to cut off the heads of the ten scoundrels! How come that tenth was spared by you?" The sword-bearer replied: “By the graces of Allah upon you and by yours upon us! I cut off ten heads!" He answered: “Look! count them in front of me!" They were counted and indeed the number ten was found. Then the caliph looked at me and said to me: “Who are you then? and what are you doing here amid these lovers of blood?" So I, my masters, and only then, faced with this question from the Emir of the Faithful, made up my mind to speak. I said to him: “O Emir of the Believers! I am the sheik nicknamed El-Samet because of my lack of talkativeness. Of wisdom there is much in me; but, as regards the uprightness of my judgment, the gravity of my words, the excellence of my reason, the finesse of my intelligence, my little verbiage, I will say nothing to you, for these qualities in me are infinite. My job is hairdressing. And I'm one of my father's seven sons, and my six brothers are all living. But here comes the adventure! This very morning I was walking along the Tigris; I saw those ten individuals jumping into a boat; and I mingled with them and went down with them and thought they were invited to a feast on the water. But, as soon as I reached the other bank, I realized that I was amid criminals; for I saw the guards assail us and put the yoke around our necks. And I, although a stranger to these people, did not want to speak or protest, and that was because of my habitual excess of firmness and my lack of talkativeness.

So I was led with all these into your hands, O Emir of the Believers. And you ordered that the heads of these ten criminals be cut off, and I remained alone in the hands of the sword bearer; and, despite everything, I do not say a word. I find, myself, that this is very considerable courage and firmness. And, besides, just this single act of spontaneously making myself the partner of ten strangers, alone is the greatest act of bravery that I know of. But do not be surprised at my action, O Emir of the Believers, because all my life I have always acted in this way by obliging strangers!"

When the caliph heard my words and thus learned that I was full of courage and virility, loving silence and gravity, detesting curiosity and indiscretion, whatever said that lame young man who was there a moment ago, this lame young man whom I saved from all kinds of calamities, he said to me: “O venerable sheik, spiritual and serious barber! tell me, are your six brothers the six like you? Do they have in them as much wisdom, science, and discretion?" I replied, “May Allah protect me from that! How different from me they are! O Emir of the Believers, in truth you have just afflicted me with great blame by comparing me to these six madmen who have nothing in common with me, neither near nor far. For, because of their senseless chatter and their indiscretion and their cowardice, they brought upon themselves many miseries, and every one of them physical deformity; unlike me, who am healthy and complete in body and mind. Indeed, the first of my brothers is lame; the second is blind; the third, missing many teeth; the fourth, blind; the fifth has his ears cut off and his nose cut off; and the sixth, split lips!

But, O Emir of the Believers, do not believe that I exaggerate the faults of my brothers and my qualities. Because if I told you their story, you would see how different I am from all of them. And as their story is infinitely suggestive, I will, without further ado, tell it to you.

At this point in her narration, Sheherazade saw the morning appear and quietly fell silent.

First Night - Second Night - Third Night - Fourth Night - Fifth Night - Sixth Night - Seventh Night
Eighth Night - Ninth Night - Tenth Night - Eleventh Night - Twelfth Night - Thirteenth Night
Fourteenth Night - Fifteenth Night - Sixteenth Night - Seventeenth Night - Eighteenth Night
Nineteenth Night - Twentieth Night - Twenty-first Night

Twenrt-third Night

Sort:  

Sad to know about your health, We can understand, travelling to 4 countries can makes you so tired. You need to take some rest. GEt well soon.

The talktness of barber created problem for the young boy. But he wants to prove that he is innocent and doesn't talk so much, he started to narrate his story.

In his story, he said that, when he jumped on the boat, thinking that, he will have some fun with these boys, he will eat the best food of his life, but there the case was different, those men were taking to the Amir for the crime they committed.

I think he haven't said anything because, if he said, anything, the guards may have killed him there as they are ordered to take 10 men not 11 meant.

now he is in front of Emir and now he told him the truth, how he jumped on the boat and reached to the amir at the end. I think he is very talkative, that's what he was doing when he was in the house of the young man, and now in the presence of Amir, he was talk a lot and still he say he is not much talk tive.

I think the amir will impressed by him, or may be he is telling a false story to get his honor back.

Sorry about the pain that you are going through. I'm sure that you will be fine and also have it in mind that it is not a must for you to write everyday. Since the body needs rest, make sure that you have rnough rest before you think of writing or coming back to write.

Also, I believe that out of all the children that someone gave birth to, there will be one of them that will be different just like the guy in this story. At the same time, I can see that he is so bold for him not to even talk or say anything when he was arrested. If it was someone like me, I would have shouted but I think I was able to learn something good from that. It is another training on its own...

I'm sure that he will be fortunate because the Emir will think of what to do with him...

I'm sorry about your pain sir. I hope you get better soon and keep writing too.

Now, this is an unbelievable turn of events. Seeing that this talkative barber had once been a quiet one who respected himself and doesn't blurt out anyhow unless questioned.

I wonder what made him change that caused the young to be crippled because he was trying to run off from the mob in his lover's house.

Maybe, it had something to do with working in the palace of the Caliph. And to think that all his brothers paid dearly for not being tight-lip. I guess his own punishment for beginning to talk too much was inflicted on others instead of directly on him as it happens to his brothers.

Well, let's wait and see what changed him to talkative.

I have been waiting for your post as it becomes routine to read human stories daily. Your condition has not recovered well yet, we pray that it recovers soon.

You must rest, you will feel better. After reading today's story I would like to say that the way we see the barber is trying to make sure he doesn't talk too much but you all know how he many problems have come in the life of this young boy.

How we see that this barber is telling his story and he used to be rich a long time ago and the way we see that the king there called him to him so he told all his brothers and sons. takes and works there and has sex with the girls as we are watching and then there are some people who watch it all who don't like it at all.

So they do a lot of wrong with the brothers of this cutting person. He gets mad seeing all the things because his brothers are treated like this. That's why if anyone comes to him, he starts telling his story to him. His story has a very painful beginning, only time will tell what happened.

I hope you recover as soon as possible and put the shingles behind you.
The barber also wants to tell his story in order to defend his honor.
His story does not start well since his impatience and not knowing how to be make him get into trouble and end up arrested. But that does not end here because the one who claims to be very quiet and discreet begins to tell us about the hardships of his six brothers.

I'm really impressed by your story! It's amazing how the barber were able to stay silent even when he were surrounded by criminals. That takes a lot of courage and strength.

I'm also intrigued by his six brothers and their misfortunes. It sounds like they've all had some very difficult experiences as a result of their talkativeness and indiscretion. I'm sure their stories will be very interesting to hear.

How are you? I was waiting for the new episodes, your new posts but you don't. How is your pain now?
Hope so You will be fine there and spend time with your wife and get relaxed.
About post I have to say, a new turn starts , new story begins. The point where he cutoff the head of those ten men is very Terrible point.
I don't like such acts in stories like killing, murder etc.
But he is different from his brothers. His brothers don't have any attractive personality.

I have been wondering it has really been a while I saw your post. Glad to see it been back. Quite an interesting episode on this. The sword bearer must really have a lot of guts to beheld that head. Oh gosh I can't

https://leofinance.io/threads/tokutaro22/re-leothreads-2m3dmkqft
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( tokutaro22 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

~~~ embed:1671509807046508545?t=5DWqpA3SfvP7K4MFq_H8fQ&s=19 twitter metadata:YXRvbXo4NzQ1ODgyNXx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9hdG9tejg3NDU4ODI1L3N0YXR1cy8xNjcxNTA5ODA3MDQ2NTA4NTQ1fA== ~~~

Hope you get well soon sir. and I hope you don't do activities that make you tired easily. I'm glad you are back.