One Thousand and One Nights: The Story of the Porter and the Young Ladies: Seventeenth Night

in #storylast year (edited)

THE STORY OF THE PORTER WITH THE YOUNG LADIES


porter.jpg
Source


The third saâlouk climbs the Mountain of Magnet, has a dream, destroys the copper horseman, goes to another island, after ten days in a small boat and one night swimming, and, while being hidden, sees a bunch of people bring a young bow and a lot of supplies and leave him there underground.


ON THE SEVENTEENTH NIGHT

Sheherazade said:

The third saâlouk, addressing the young mistress of the house while the other companions were seated with their arms crossed, watched by the seven negroes who held naked swords in their hands, continued:

So I invoked the name of Allah, and I implored him and I went into the ecstasy of prayer; then I clung, as I could, to the rocks and the excavations, and I succeeded, the wind having finally calmed down by the order of Allah, to make the ascent of this mountain; and I rejoice greatly in my salvation bordering on joy! And it only remained for me to reach the dome; I finally reached it and was able to enter it. So I got down on my knees, and I made my prayer, and I thanked Allah for my deliverance.

At this moment, fatigue was so breaking me that I threw myself on the ground and fell asleep. And while I slept, I heard a voice saying to me: “O son of Kassib! when you wake up from your sleep, dig under your feet, and you will find a copper bow and three lead arrows with talismans engraved on them. You will take this bow and you will strike the rider who is on the dome, and you will thus restore tranquility to humans by ridding them of this terrible scourge! When you have struck the knight, this knight will fall into the sea, and the bow will fall from your hands on the ground: then you will take the bow and bury it underground at the very place where it fell! However, the sea will begin to bubble, then overflow until it reaches this peak where you are. And, then, you will see on the sea a boat and, in the boat, a person. But it is another person than the rider thrown into the sea. This person will come to you holding an oar in his hand. And you, without fear, get into the boat with them! But beware of naming the holy name of Allah, beware! You shall not and at no cost! Once in the boat, this person will lead you and sail you for ten days until they bring you to the Sea of Salvation. When you come to this sea, you will find someone there who will send you to your country. But, do not forget, that all this will only be done on the condition, for you, of never naming the name of Allah!"

At this moment, O my mistress, I awoke from my sleep, and, full of courage, I at once began to carry out the command of the voice. With the bow and arrows found, I struck the rider and knocked him down. He fell into the sea. And the bow fell from my hand; so, in the very place, I buried him: and immediately the sea stirred, and bubbled, and overflowed, reaching the top of the mountain where I was. And, after a few moments, I saw a boat appear in the middle of the sea, heading towards me. So I thanked Allah Most High. And when the boat came close, I found a copper man in it who had a lead plate on his chest, on which were engraved names and talismans. So I got into the boat, but without saying a single word. And the copper man began to lead me for one day, for two days, for three days, and so on until the end of the tenth day. And then I saw islands appear in the distance: it was salvation! So I rejoiced to the height of joy and, because of the fullness of my emotion and my gratitude to the Most High, I named the name of Allah and glorified him and said: “Allahu akbar! Allahu Akbar!"

But no sooner had I uttered these sacred words than the copper man seized me and threw me from the boat into the sea, then he sank far away and disappeared.

As I knew how to swim, I swam all day long until nightfall, so that my arms were exhausted, my shoulders tired, and I was devastated! So, seeing death approaching, I took my leap of faith and prepared to die. But, at that very moment, a wave, more enormous than all the waves of the sea, came running from afar like a gigantic citadel and picked me up and threw me so hard and so far that I suddenly found myself on the shore of one of the islands I had seen. So Allah had willed it.

So I went up to the shore and began to express the water of my clothes. I spread my clothes on the ground to dry them, and I fell asleep for the whole night. When I woke up, I dressed in my dry clothes and got up to see where to go. And I found before me a little fertile valley; I entered it and I traversed it in all directions, then I made the whole turn of the place where I was, and I saw that I was on a small island, surrounded as it was by the sea. I said to myself: “What a calamity! each time I am delivered from a misfortune, I fall back into another worse!" While I was thus sunk in sad thoughts, which made me desire death fervently, I saw on the sea a boat approaching with several people. So, lest some unfortunate accident happens to me, I got up and climbed a tree and waited and watched. I saw the boat land and pull out ten slaves, each holding a shovel; they walked until they were in the middle of the islet, and there they began to dig the earth, and ended by uncovering a lid which they removed, and opened a door which was below. This done, they returned to the boat, and took out a large number of objects which they loaded on their shoulders: bread, flour, honey, butter, sheep, sacks full, and many other things, and all the things that the inhabitant of a house could wish for; and the slaves continued to come and go from the door of the cellar to the boat and from the boat to the lid until they had completely emptied the boat of the large objects; then they took from it sumptuous clothes and magnificent robes which they put on their arms; and then I saw coming out of the boat, amid the slaves, a venerable old man, very old, worn down by the years and emaciated by the vicissitudes of time, and so much so that he had become only the appearance of a man. This old man held by the hand a young boy of maddening beauty, molded in truth in the mold of perfection, as delicate as a tender and bendable branch, as adorable as pure beauty, worthy to serve as the model and example of a perfect body, finally with such a bewitching charm that it bewitched my heart and made all the pulp of my flesh quiver! They walked until they came to the door, and descended, and disappeared from my sight; but, after a few moments, all came up again, except the young boy; They returned to the boat, got out, and sailed out to sea.

At this point in her narration, Sheherazade saw the morning appear and quietly fell silent.


First Night - Second Night - Third Night - Fourth Night - Fifth Night - Sixth Night - Seventh Night
Eighth Night - Ninth Night - Tenth Night - Eleventh Night - Twelfth Night - Thirteenth Night
Fourteenth Night - Fifteen Night - Sixteenth Night

Eighteenth Night

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1649118247768162310 twitter metadata:NDc4MDI0NzQ4Mnx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS80NzgwMjQ3NDgyL3N0YXR1cy8xNjQ5MTE4MjQ3NzY4MTYyMzEwfA== ~~~
~~~ embed:1649135014582562816 twitter metadata:MTM1MDAwMzMzMTU0OTI5MDQ5N3x8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xMzUwMDAzMzMxNTQ5MjkwNDk3L3N0YXR1cy8xNjQ5MTM1MDE0NTgyNTYyODE2fA== ~~~

~~~ embed:1649150154543357952 twitter metadata:MTE2MTY5NDc5MjYwNDE2NDA5N3x8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xMTYxNjk0NzkyNjA0MTY0MDk3L3N0YXR1cy8xNjQ5MTUwMTU0NTQzMzU3OTUyfA== ~~~

The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @bo022, @edgar-alive, @idksamad78699, @lanzjoseg, @yeckingo1, @scaredwolf ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

because of the fullness of my emotion and my gratitude to the Most High, I named the name of Allah

🤦🏽‍♀️ Oh no! He's forgotten the instructions he received in the dream. The third saâlouk had quite an adventure from the Mountain of Magnet to the roaring sea and finally, he ends up on a deserted island. I can understand his depressing comment about being delivered from a misfortune and falling back into something worse. Sometimes a situation may look worse but some good may come from it.

New characters are introduced into the third saâlouk's story and I'm curious, who is the handsome young boy of maddening beauty and "mold of perfection". His looks must have been so enchanting to bewitch this saâlouk's heart and "make all the pulp of his flesh quiver!" That's so strange. Could it mean this saâlouk lusts after the young boy or it's a young lady disguised as a boy??

Another curiosity is the underground apartment where food and provisions are delivered to. There must be someone living down there whom this young boy (or lady) has come to visit. Just like the other saâlouks, I'm sure the third one would investigate further after the slaves and old man have sailed away and most likely get into an enormous problem that would lead to the loss of his eye! Let's hope this one doesn't involve a vengeful efreet! 😅

This is suspenseful and interesting. Thanks for sharing.

So I got down on my knees, and I made my prayer, and I thanked Allah for my deliverance

If I don't take home anything from this series which is not possible hehe....
**I will always remember to give thanks to Allah (God) at all situations especially when I'm saved from difficult situations.... All the Saâlouks have never failed in this aspect and it's really something applaudable.

of never naming the name of Allah!"

Ha! Like they heard me praising him and the last two Saâlouks and decided to place this condition.... Lol.

Will this be possible for someone who has been trained and grew up with always giving thanks to Allah?

Or will he keep to the conditions
because of his current predicament?

Meanwhile, it is funny how people get to take actions from their dreams, I've paid little or no attention to my dreams 😅.... It's well nevertheless.

Ouch.... I knew it would be a difficult task for him,
Old Habits they say never die

Who will this Old man be.... I'm left thinking and what effect would he have in this Story,*
I guess I'll find out in the next episode if there really is something worthwhile or just me being nosy.

Yet another great work... Thanks for posting

He was given just one instruction: don't thank or give praises to Allah when he's picked up the boat. I guess he was so excited to the extent that he forgot, leading to this unfortunate scenario which he found himself.

I saw the boat land and pull out ten slaves, each holding a shovel; they walked until they were in the middle of the islet, and there they began to dig the earth, and ended by uncovering a lid which they removed, and opened a door which was below.

I do wonder what mystery lays behind this door and the slaves who loaded it with all sorts of valuables.

Also the connection or story between the old man and the young boy is something I would really love to see. Well, no one could really guess why the young boy was left behind. So many mysteries left to unravel!

I really anticipate the next episode. This was a suspensesful and interesting episode. Thanks for sharing ♥️💯

The third saâlouk continues with his hectic story, the solution is given to him by a dream that shows him the path to his salvation. All he has to do is follow the instructions to the letter and not utter a single word.
Of course our saâlouk does not meet such a simple requirement, let's remember that all these stories and the danger that lies in wait for our protagonist derive from this attitude. Let's remember the words of the hostesses "do not ask for what does not concern you and do not listen to things you do not want to hear"
We will see how this exciting story continues.

I finally reached it and was able to enter it.

After all with hardships come ease but hopefully it's gonna last more ahead in his life.

I wonder if that voice was of some angel. The island is quite full of mystery... Salvation wasn't easy at all but he made it quite nicely... I wonder where the young boy went cuz he ain't cameback. Looking forward to see what holds more in this tale.

I'm suspicious about the younger boy. Waiting for the next part anxiously :)

While I was waiting for this new delivery, I thought about what would happen, now you confirm it.

The third saâlouk climbs the Mountain of Magnet, has a dream, destroys the copper horseman.


I think that the excitement of seeing the island, made him play a bad trick, the joy made him forget the words of the dream.

What happened to the man reminded me of the times when I dictate instructions to my students, but then they don't follow the instructions, at which point the students don't follow the instructions and do very poorly on the assignments.