One Thousand and One Nights: The Story of the Porter and the Young Ladies: Twenty-first Night

in #storylast year (edited)

THE STORY OF THE PORTER WITH THE YOUNG LADIES


porter.jpg
Source


Of course, the third saâlouk cannot resist the temptation and opens the copper door. And this leads to the loss of his left eye.

Then the mistress of the house sends everybody away.


ON THE TWENTY-FIRST NIGHT

Sheherazade continued the story of the third saâlouk:

The next day I hurried out and opened the fourth door with the fourth key. And then, O my mistress, I saw things that even in a dream a human being could never see. In the middle of a large courtyard, I saw a cupola of marvelous construction: this cupola had porphyry stairways that ascended to forty doors of ebony wood inlaid with gold and silver; these doors, the leaves of which were open, each revealed a spacious room; each room contained a different treasure, and each treasure was worth more than my entire kingdom. I saw that the first room was filled with great aligned heaps of large pearls and small pearls, but the larger ones outnumbered the small ones, and each one was as big as a dove's egg and as bright as the moon in all its shine. But the second room surpassed the first in wealth: it was filled to the top with diamonds, red rubies, sapphires, and carbuncles. In the third, there were only emeralds; in the fourth, pieces of natural gold; in the fifth, gold dinars from all over the world; in the sixth, virgin silver; in the seventh, silver dinars from all over the world. But the other rooms were filled with all the gems from the bosom of the earth and the seas, topazes, turquoises, hyacinths, stones from Yemen, carnelians of all colors, vases of jade, necklaces, bracelets, belts, all the jewels used in the court of emirs and kings.

And I, O my mistress, lifted up my hands and my eyes and thanked Allah Most High for His blessings. And I continued thus, each day, to open one or two or three doors, until the fortieth day, and my wonder increased each day, and I only had left the last key, which was the key of the copper door. And I thought of the forty girls, and I was blissfully thinking of them, and the sweetness of their manners, and the coolness of their flesh, and the hardness of their thighs, and the tightness of their vulvas, and the roundness and volume of their behinds, and their cries when they said to me: “Youh! O my eye! Youh! O my flame!" And I exclaimed: “By Allah! our night is going to be a blessed night, a night of whiteness!"

But the Accursed made me feel the key of this copper door, and it tempted me enormously, and the temptation was stronger than me, and I opened the copper door. But my eyes saw nothing, and my nose alone smelled a very strong odor, very hostile to my senses, and I fainted at the same instant and at the very hour, and fell short of the door, which closed. When I awoke, I persisted in this Shaitan-inspired resolve and opened the door again, and waited for the smell to lessen.

So I entered and found a spacious hall, all strewn with saffron, lighted with candles scented with ambergris and incense, and with magnificent gold and silver lamps containing aromatic oils which made burning chard strong smell. And, between the golden torches and the golden lamps, I saw a marvelous black horse which had a white star on its forehead; and his left foot and his right hand were speckled with white at their extremities; its saddle was brocaded and its bridle was a gold chain; its trough was full of sesame seeds and well-screened barley; its drinking trough contained fresh water scented with rose water. And I, my mistress, as my great passion was beautiful horses and as I was the most illustrious horseman in my kingdom, I thought that this horse would suit me very well; and I took him by the bridle and led him into the garden, and rode on him, but he did not move. So I struck him on the neck with the golden chain. And immediately, O my mistress, the horse stretched out two great black wings which I had not seen up to that moment, cried out in a terrible way, struck the ground three times with its hoof, and flew away with me in the airs.

Then, O my mistress, the earth turned before my eyes; but I tightened my thighs and held myself like a good rider, and at last, the horse descended and stopped on the terrace of the copper-red palace where I had found the ten one-eyed young men. And then he reared up so terribly and shook himself so fast that he knocked me down, and he came up to me and lowered his wing towards my face, and thrust the tip of his wing into my left eye, and irreparably damaged it. Then it flew into the air and disappeared.

And I put my hand on my lost eye, and I walked up and down the terrace, lamenting and shaking my hand in pain! And suddenly, I saw the ten young men appear who, seeing me, said to me: “You didn’t want to listen to us! And here is the fruit of your fatal resolution. And we cannot receive you among us, because we are already ten. But, by following such and such a road, you will arrive in the city of Baghdad at the home of the Emir of the Believers, Harun Al-Rachid, whose fame has reached us, and your destiny will be in his hands!"

And I left, and I traveled day and night, after having shaved my beard and put on these saâlouk clothes, so as not to have to support other misfortunes, and I did not stop walking until I had arrived in this abode of peace, Baghdad, and I found these two one-eyed men here, and I greeted them and said to them: "I am a foreigner." And they answered me: "We too are foreigners." And so it was that the three of us came to this blessed house, O my mistress!

And such is the cause of my lost eye and my shaven beard!"

At this extraordinary story, the young mistress of the house said to the third saâlouk: “Come on! caress your head a little and go away. I forgive you!"

But the third saâlouk answered: “I will not go away, by Allah! until I hear everyone else's stories."

Then the young girl turned to the caliph, to Ja'far, and to Massrour and said to them: “Tell me your story!"

Then Ja'far approached and told her the story he had already told, to the young portress, on entering the house. Also, after hearing Ja'far's words, the girl said to them all:

“I forgive you all, one and all. But go as soon as possible!"

And all of them went out and came to the street...

At this point in her narration, Sheherazade saw the morning appear and quietly fell silent.


First Night - Second Night - Third Night - Fourth Night - Fifth Night - Sixth Night - Seventh Night
Eighth Night - Ninth Night - Tenth Night - Eleventh Night - Twelfth Night - Thirteenth Night
Fourteenth Night - Fifteen Night - Sixteenth Night - Seventeenth Night - Eighteenth Night
Nineteenth Night - Twentieth Night

Twenty-second Night

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1650596202306478081 twitter metadata:MTE4ODg2NTg5fHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tLzExODg4NjU4OS9zdGF0dXMvMTY1MDU5NjIwMjMwNjQ3ODA4MXw= ~~~

~~~ embed:1650656391986593794 twitter metadata:MTQxNjY4Nzc0NTA3NDgxOTA3M3x8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNDE2Njg3NzQ1MDc0ODE5MDczL3N0YXR1cy8xNjUwNjU2MzkxOTg2NTkzNzk0fA== ~~~

~~~ embed:1650802588047081473 twitter metadata:MTE2MTY5NDc5MjYwNDE2NDA5N3x8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xMTYxNjk0NzkyNjA0MTY0MDk3L3N0YXR1cy8xNjUwODAyNTg4MDQ3MDgxNDczfA== ~~~

The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @sacra97, @edgar-alive, @bo022, @zeshan120, @yeckingo1, @technologix ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

But the Accursed made me feel the key of this copper door,

I laughed when I got to this part of the story. After daydreaming about the alluring bodily features and qualities of the beautiful 40 ladies, so "the Accursed" takes the blame for his curiosity and wandering mind? 😅 I wonder how he's able to differentiate one lady from the other though. 🤔🤭

The third saâlouk is impossible! When he fainted after opening the last door, I would expect him to wake up and lock the door. Instead he opened it again and explored the room!

I thought that this horse would suit me very well;

I think the 40th room is magical and sort of brings to life the uttermost desire of anyone who opens the door. That's the reason the saâlouk saw the horse. This explains how he and the other 10 one-eyed men lost their eyes —their curiousity and desires. Too bad he fell into the same sad fate as the other 10 men. I can't tell which of the three saâlouks' story is more interesting but it's good to know that three women let them all go, including the caliph! I'd hoped Jafar would come up with some story on their behalf.

I very much enjoyed the three saâlouks'stories. I wonder what happens next. Thanks for sharing these tales.

I'm impressed everytime with the little details I see in every story that makes it more interesting to read.

I can imagine that greed when he saw that unbelievable wealth In those 4 rooms and it was never easy after that to control temptation and seeing what's in the fifth.. should've left with whatever he have got in other one's... Didn't see that coming next!

I forgive you all, one and all. But go as soon as possible!"

And all of them went out and came to the street...

This is nice to hear and seems like it just got to become more interesting from this point.

After he opened the fourth door, his urge increased as he saw more and more enticing rooms made and designed with the finest of gold. He then thought of the girls, their pretty Voices and beautiful bodies.

All these made him ignore the warning of the ladies before their departure. In life, we should learn to put ourselves and safety first before pleasures, for they are only for a moment and they never last.

Also it's paramount we keep to instructions especially when it comes to something we have little or no knowledge about.

I guess he met his doom, just because of his failure to adhere to instructions and inability to control his lustful desires.

This episode was embedded with so many lessons! Thanks for this piece💯✨

and their cries when they said to me: “Youh! O my eye! Youh! O my flame!" And I exclaimed: “By Allah! our night is going to be a blessed night, a night of whiteness

This is really hilarious 😂😂😂😂, how could he reminiscence over these periods like it happened yesterday this well.
Well, I guess anyone would have remembered that much because forty nights is not an fast one to forget that easy... A night of whiteness indeed

Ouch... So that was it!
A horse was responsible for making now 11 men lose their sight in left eye...I would be lying if I said I had any clue how this would have came about.
I roamed my head about many options but a horse damaging the eye was never one of them I must say.

What a coincidental meeting it was for the Saâlouks... Was well scriptured for them to meet one another.

Indeed, the third Saâlouk has the best story just like he said why beginning the storytelling

Now what's the way forward?
Where will they go from the streets now that they have been forgiven and freed from the young girl

Hoping they don't put themselves in another trouble 😅

Wow!!
This is a very beautiful story. To be fore warned is to be fore harmed. In life, it is very important to listen to people. You should not just listen to elderly people but listen to people with enough experience. I guess those men also went through the same process and that was why they warned him but he did not listen. I know how it feels to be in a vety beautiful place. You will want to enter everywhere but you should also heed to instructions.

I am sure that the Saalouk was thinking that he will be able to pick the ten left eyes when the horse rode him there but he ended up losing his eyes too. It is so amazing how he met the remaining Saalouks who are left eyed like him. Also, I don't ever think he will be able to get his left eyes back. I hope this teaches us a lesson that we should learn to listen to people who have had some experiences earlier.

It's fourth door left me impressed, reporting and describing riches that no man can have, jewels, gold, pearls, rubies, I think those I have not mentioned are already there, any of us who live in Latin America can dream of all these jewels.

Temptation and curiosity are double-edged weapons, he was told not to open that door, and he opened it, he lost everything he had gained, but like any story, it must continue.

Humans can resist almost anything except for temptation and it seems that the third saâlouk fate followed this idiom as well. I think in life we are all getting advises and wise words but we simply do not learn from them until we live on our own skin the adventure and fallacy of what we should avoid. Maybe we are weak, maybe we are curious, but for sure humans simply cannot abstain from temptation.

The third saâlouk, of course, went back on his word and opened the Copper door. And so we discover how our protagonist lost his eye at the hands of a winged horse.
And expelled from that wonderful place is how he met his two traveling companions and ended up in this place.
This story embellished with fabulous details shows us that the saâlouk for many warnings and punishments that he received continues to succumb to his curiosity again and again.
Now everyone has been forgiven and they leave the house. I wonder what will be the next story to discover.

I appreciate you sharing. It is incredible how you was able to create such minute descriptions of the rooms, jewels, and temptation that resulted in the third saâlouk losing his left eye.

It is evidence of the author's rich imagination and storytelling skills.

Once again, I appreciate you sharing this fantastic tale.

Stories with follow-up and following that sometimes trap us to keep reading and waiting for the next one. Much success @vcelier hug

Historias con seguimiento y siguiente que a veces nos atrapan a seguir leyendo y esperando la siguiente.