The PLOUF Saga [Part 4 of 17]: State of shock!

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy): La Saga PLOUF [Episode 4] : Etat de choc!

Remember that the person who speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy), a French guy.


Note: "Plouf", in French, is a onomatopoeia that phonetically imitates the sound of an object that falls in the water. The equivalent in English would be "Plop" or "Splash". That is a strange name for a boat!


The PLOUF Saga [Part 4 of 17]: State of shock!

The children have come down from Paris to spend the weekend with me. I'm excited to show them our new baby. The kids are also looking forward to seeing Daddy's yacht. They are not very worried because like everything that interests me, they know that I am going to get down to it. They have realized that when I started to do photography. As they arrived at night, we will have to wait until Saturday morning to go see Plouf.

From the outset, I asked them if we should change her name. The answer was unanimous: "Oh no, it's too good, too funny, too cute! ". Objectively, it suits me because if changing the name administratively is a simple formality, for sailors, it is necessary to make a ceremony at sea to rename the boat, otherwise it brings bad luck. I am neither superstitious nor religious, but clearly, there is already enough work to do.



The next day, we go to the pontoon. And there ... How could I say it? Forget the movie: Mon père, ce héros! The children do not say a word. It is true that she is in a state a little desperate. I try to reassure them. It's nothing, two hours with a high-pressure cleaner and she will be like new. I am usually a good salesman, a sweet talker ... but my speech does not work. They do not really believe me but most of all they think that I have become completely crazy. But as we do not argue dad, silence is the rule.

My little Parisians do not know that in the meantime, I have already worked on the schedule. We put the boat on the hold for the February break and we start to clean her. Painting and everything. I even went to see Ronan who runs the big marine hardware store. It's right next door and he came with me to assess the needs. Very modestly, he confides to me that there is a little work ... But that's OK, we will do it, he will prepare all the products that I will need! Seriously, I am downright unconscious but so motivated that ...

... that we only have to wait for the February break and that's good, it's coming ... My excitement is mixed with anguish: I must admit that in terms of boat renovation, I know nothing. The disappointment of the children does not affect me too much. I intend to share my new passion. This boat is not just for me. It's for them too. Since I left Paris, I do not see them much. I'm counting on Plouf to share moments on the water with them. Well, at least it was my idea initially.



-- Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy)

Continue to Part 5

Part 1 - Part 2 - Part 3

All photos are property of @vincentleroy and under copyright


Sort:  

The name Plouf! It really sounds like the name you could give to a big boat that rocks hard on water.i love write ups like this one which indicates family bond between a father and his kids.This kind of adventure would help the kids understand their fathers,what business he does and installs in them a managerial skills from a little age.they can actually handle this boat in the absence of dad in the future with proper tutorage and exposure like their dad is goving them here.

Hi boys nic plas romantic much

Very nice name sir @vcelier "unanimous" nice sir i like the name

I like to read every post you...Upvote and follow you!

An interesting story for a ship's name.
Allow me a resteem for a memory.

Very interesting story and beautiful post.

nice story...

nice my man

quite interesting content :)

teach me to get votes like you more than 123, umpteen @vcelier

seems to be a great trip :)

That's a unique post.Usually people don't post something like this.I like your thinking.It's very different from other's.I will be waiting for your next post.Photos are beautiful.@resteemed