Such A Small Thing...

in #story6 years ago

Such A Small Thing.jpg
Divider (1).jpg

Sometimes things happen in our lives that makes us stop, think and give thanks for what we have.

One of these occasions came to mind the other day and even though it’s been a year I still remember it like yesterday.

It happened on a day when I was out photographing birds.

I stopped at a viewing station that overlooking a small lake and climbed to the top of the tower. This is an ideal spot for seeing waterfowl, songbirds and the occasional raptor.

As I was busily absorbed in my own little world a gentleman of about 85+ slowly made his way up the stairs to the top of the viewing stand.

Dressed neatly in pants, shirt and suspenders, he held onto the rail and climbed slowly.

man.jpg

I said "hello" and went back to my business of spotting birds, thinking that he had probably come up here to do the same or just for a quiet repast and I didn't want to bother him.

Pretty soon, he asked me what I was doing, and we got into a conversation about birds, cameras and family. It turns out he had lived in that area for 40 years and a lot had changed during that time.

We spoke about life and his children and I showed him my pictures on the digital camera.

He was amazed that... first I even spotted a bird and then was able to take a picture of it so far away. It was a real treat to watch an osprey catch a fish and then replay it for him via the camera viewer.

osprey.jpg

We spent a very companionable 3/4 of an hour together talking about life and what changes had happened over the years before I had to go and as I was leaving his words left a lump in my throat.

He thanked me for taking the time to talk with him and how much it meant to him. He then went on to explain that his wife had passed away a few years ago and he was all alone and had no one to talk with or visit with and today had been very special to him.

To me... it was such a small thing.

I have a lot of family and friends to chat and share things with that I tend to forget that not everyone has that kind of support. It made me stop and appreciate what I have and all that I love and hold dear.

I don’t even know his name and although I’ve never seen him again he too now holds a special place in my heart and I think of him often.

We never know just how much a small thing can mean so much to someone.!

Sort:  

This reminds me of the phrase, "random acts of kindness." Sometimes, it's the little, "random" things we that can have an impact on someone.

You are so right... and I didn't even realize that was the case

Yes, we often don't realize how little things that we do can have such a big impact on others. Reminds me of that book Little Acts of Kindness (not sure if that's the right title). Thanks for posting this - we all need to be reminded (sometimes over and over) about how our actions affect others.

Love the funny... made my day.