Give money instead of lending money

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Lending money.png

Why is it a bad idea to lend money to people?

Because people who you would lend it to, often have no idea how to manage money. Let alone have any intention to paying you back. They rather seek opportunities and excuses to ruin the relationship you have with them, so they can go and seek another victim with a conscience. Especially nowadays with social media, it's quite easy to fall for it.

And I am not talking about the big things in life where people would often take a loan to own it. Take for example a car, a house or a trip. No, I am talking about the small things in life. Like you need money to visit your mother in the hospital and you, as a responsible adult person, obviously lack the money to cover these basic-expenses and you need to need ask social media friends for a handout.

Anything can happen, right. But try to ask yourself something.

How many times did you ask people to lend you money?

I guess the answer varies from person to person but it does say something. You decide what it means.

And how many times did you actually lend money to people?

And how is that working for you? Did you gain a friend or lost one?

The trick - Paying it forward

I am not saying you should not lend friends money. I am saying that it's wise to consider it a gift, you know paying it forward, despite agreeing on it being a loan.

If you do this, you will not feel bad, when you see foolish behavior and you'll be surprised when the fool returns your money.

Till next time

Peace out

Sort:  

This is about me. Yasien, I always had and have the intention to give it back to you. I bought a few altcoins and they lost a lot of value. I am sleeping in the street so I don't have to spend it. You say friend, why you never helped me when I was on the street? I told you that I cannot take care of myself and am fighting since bitshares for free money for victims of violence. Why do you think I don't have a normal job? I could make a lot of money but I don't do it. Psychological problems since school, where they beat me on the head every day and I almost made suicide. Here people call me friends but I don't like it. The same friends I had on facebook and after I got robbed nobody helped me. With money friendship stops is even a saying. Why cannot we make a group were my strength and yours and others are together so that poeole like me do not have to suffer? Everyone for himself?
I want to pay it back to you, always wanted. I got confused. Should I pay back in BTC or euro? Are you angry as everyone? When I asked you if you could help me you said that you can't after I told you that I cannot help myself. Well, in which case do you hlkp someone then? When he can help himself and don't need any help? Why I was so quiet: Because I feel guilty. I had and have existenial fears, my mother isn't in the hospitlal, she's in the place where people die. You said that I should give it back to you once I have it. I now try to make money with trading. I will send you the money in steem in 4 days. How much is it in euro you gave me? I like you and am sorry for what I did. It's like that with me. Please forgive me, Martin

I am sad to hear about the problems you have been confronted with in the past. I am not angry nor am I omnipotent. I got to know you during the first Steemfest and I wasn't aware you were sleeping on the streets. At the time you seemed like a funny and smart guy.

I still stand by the things I said. That I can't help you if you can't help yourself. I tried with the money but I can't be with you because I simply don't know where the problem lies. I want you to consider the money a gift and when you get filthy rich trading, and you want to give something back while finding me willing to accept, well why not? And if you are still living on the streets, I want you to use the money to find proper housing. I know winter can be very cold in Germany. Until then I want you to take care of yourself and be happy.

Have you ever read the book Freedom by @adamkokesh
https://steemit.com/freedom/@rvanstel/freedom-a-free-book-by-adam-kokesh

I highly recommend you do.

You are welcome, buddy.

Take care now.