#SUBLIMESUNDAY - In The Year That Was Not

in #sublimesunday2 years ago

IMG_20211017_111439318_HDR.jpg

It was the Year That Was Not, the Year of Our Lord 2020, a year that started like any other year but soon would turn. I suppose it was just like any other year, there was work to be done and the holidays had come to end. Another year, like all the others that had gone before.

The calm waters of time seemed to gently roll along like a small mountain river. As calm and routine as the waters of time began flowing downstream that year, the falls soon came and the current quickened.

IMG_20211017_105636657.jpg

Everything came crashing down upon the rocks below full of sound and fury. A virus, perhaps natural, or perhaps a virus that had escaped a lab in Wuhan, China burst upon the World.

Whatever is to come, I know not. But what I am certain of is there is no going back. The waters never flow up stream. And fallen waters never return to a mountain spring, least ways not in our lifetimes. We are forever changed.

Today I was reminded once again of how much the world has changed and yet I wonder in what lands do I live? And who are these folk who before, I gladly and happily acknowledged as my countrymen. What have they become or more importantly what is it that drives them to a madness wherein they forget who they are?

The Year That Was Not, put me in full "prepper mode" not really much more to do as I had lived in a "Hurricane Alley" for more than a decade, I long ago adopted a prepper mentality.

Having survived several direct hits I learned some very valuable lessons about our Government and bureaucrats.

First lesson, the Government LIES! I remember hearing my County's Emergency manager on the radio after Hurricane Floyd rolled through Eastern North Carolina state: "The rumors that the County will lose power and water are JUST RUMORS!"

The next day began two weeks of darkness and a warning on the Emergency Broadcasting Network NOT to drink the water.

Second lesson, you are on your own and the only people you can truly rely upon are your neighbors. I remember as the flood waters rose entire towns were swept away. The elementary school behind my neighborhood became an instant shelter, good folks who two days prior had a happy home to call their own lost everything. It was not the Red Cross nor the Federal Government who came to the aid of these folks. It was the local School System that provided the shelter and the food.

Something to think about when you consider who is running your local school system and how important local schools are to your community.

Third lesson, do not buy a noisy gas powered generator! Have a different plan because the noise of those things carries for miles around. It might be fine for a few days, but after a week or so, it just makes you a target for those without. Enough said about that but I will note that during that time there were shots fired by some desperate people taking advantage of a harsh situation. You see the flood waters had turned my town into an island and there was no way off and no way for supplies to come in for two weeks.

So how bad was it? Lets just say that within the year, I quit my job, started my own business and moved over 200 miles from the coast. It is not something I ever wanted my family to experience again.

IMG_20211010_091510221_HDR.jpg

No hurricanes these days and yet another storm found me today. All during the Year That Was Not, I seemingly had forgotten the First lesson of so many years ago, the Government Lies. I obeyed, I did all those things that the Government asked of me. Most visibly I wore a mask in public.

And yet for over a year now, I have not worn a mask in public. In fact I simply refuse, with the one exception of when I go to the Coin Shop as the owner is rather ill tempered about it. I respect that although I think it is silly. There is no way that a piece of paper can stop a virus. Just stop it!

So what set me off today? Apparently, the television news, something I do not watch, has been filling everyone with Government lies about the Omicron Variant of COVID-19. Once again I saw something that I had thought I would not see again. All about me were people wearing masks OUTSIDE and while driving their cars ALONE!

Utter madness and foolishness. Please just stop! I live in a County with a population in excess 350,000 and thus far two years into the Great Pandemic officially 585 have died with COVID.

The single destiny of all men is DEATH. No one can avoid it, as we are all marked for it. The only question is while we live shall we live? And if we live shall we live FREE?

I can not believe that so many people, most of whom I had in prior times believed were relatively intelligent have yet to learn the First Lesson.

Mind you, everywhere I went today I was comforted by the sight of a few who refused to live in FEAR and refused to where the mask.

Please do not misconstrue what I am saying. COVID is real. People do get very sick from it and some do die from it BUT there are ways to harden your immune system against it and all illness. It does not come from a drug BUT rather your own Natural Immunity and the Food you choose to eat.

That is the First Lesson I learned for the Year That Was Not, take personal responsibility for your own health and well being.

That is enough for a #sublimesunday.

Peace out and God Bless.

Sort:  

Well said. I’ve been through several myself. Lost my entire shop and got 37” of water in my house from hurricane Sandy. Never had water in 26 years until then. It looked like a tidal wave coming down the street. Scary shit man. Insurance denied all my claims on my shop. Lost over 150K it was horrible. They did cover the structure of my house, no contents. Stay well brother

"Magical hoo th' small trickles stream aff tae th' left, fallin' like sparklin' diamands! (How dae yoo knows aboot th' falls mate?)" 🤨 -Keptin

IMG_20211017_095523575.jpg

"Beatious place. Ahh have an auld mate who lives in Chapel Hill. He sends me mony pictures of th' nicest places! Swatches loch a guid place tae bide." 😉 -Keptin

I really enjoyed your writing style, I find it very interesting keep up the good work

"Awrite mucker! Question fur ye...hav ye ever cashed-oot Hife?" -Keptin

Hife? I have not cashed out any HIVE at this point. I am strictly stacking HIVE.

"Ahh'm tryin' tae figure oot hoo!" 😵 -Keptin

I guess if I was going to do it I would go to simpleswap https://simpleswap.io/ and swap HIVE for something like Litecoin and then sell the Lite coin on Coinbase. https://www.coinbase.com/ For US Dollars.

Screenshot 2021-12-11 at 20-44-06 SimpleSwap Cryptocurrency Exchange Easy way to swap BTC to ETH, XRP, LTC, EOS, XLM.png

Do you have a Wallet for other Cryptos? For altcoins I use Exodus. https://www.exodus.com/ If you do not have an account with an exchange you will need to set one up.

In the US things are more complicated than in the UK. There are several exchanges that you could set up an account with in the UK to simply transfer your HIVE and sell it on the exchange.

Binance is the exchange I believe many people in the UK use. https://www.binance.com/en

Set up an account and transfer the HIVE to that account and sell it.

I fumble through this stuff every day.

Actually I do not think that Blocktrades can help after briefly looking at it.

"Mebbe Ahh'l jist giv it awa'!" 🤔 -Keptin

"Mah sporen is leaither mucker." -Keptin

"It micht vanish intae thin air afair ye dae mucker! It's nae shiny ye ken?" 🤨 -Keptin

Well, Keptin'. as far as I reckon, the shiny is our past which needs to be reconciled. The funny paper stuff poising as the shiny is our present. The cryptos are our future.

Besides, I see all over the world "quarantine camps" being built for the "unvaxxed". In Australia, these camps are fully operational with detained folks.

I charted my own course almost a full year ago. You can read it here: https://hive.blog/silvergoldstackers/@handofzara/i-am-a-good-old-rebel-rant-1

My course has been set, no point in coming about now simply to return to an old familiar port. By my reckoning, we have less than 5 months before all this implodes or explodes as the case may be.

The wild gyrations on your charts should be telling ye that the time draws nigh.

I know what course others will take, but I have set mine. I shall stay the course come what may.

God speed Keptin'.

"Aye, Ahh sense a storm brewin' an aw. But nae cryptae will be a warld currency. Tay unstable. An' whit happens in uir next big solar flaur when internets goes doon? It will be gauld as th' backin' fur onie new currency ur cryptae. Has tae be real. Ahh watched bitcoin drap 30% in a month. That's nae bunsens." -Keptin

b-1.jpg

"Cryptos is naethin' mair than cuddie racin'. Gamblin' really. When th' next faster number comes alang, there's nothin left but torn tickets an' tears oan th' ground."