Thought of the Day: March 20, 2018 - Pick and Choose Your Battles

in #success6 years ago

20150722_124822.jpg

My former manager once asked me if I want to be happy or if I want to be right?

This question took me by surprise and I put some thought into this question.

I would like to be right and happy!

But as I thought about this question I realized I could not be both, at the same time.

How was it possible to make someone else feel less than what I thought of myself and still be happy? It was not.

In hindsight, my manager was telling me to not fight every battle that comes my way. Instead choose the battles I want to fight, strategically.

Over the years I have gone from the person who wants to fight about every detail to the person who does my best to let go and not fight, argue or focus on the small things.

I'm not perfect and there are times I get caught up in the conversation. My ego comes out and tries to prove others wrong.

Since I have the opportunity to watch myself fight these endless battles between being right or being happy, I have gained a lot of perspective.

When I fight to make a point, I notice I do not feel happy nor do I feel that I am right. I do not feel satisfied that I made my point heard.

Being right is for the foolish person. Being happy is for everyone.

What I do get out of the battles is the satisfaction that just maybe I was able to teach someone something I new. Today, I focus on compromise and not feeding my ego.

Sort:  

"Being happy is for everyone" I agree that everyone can be happy, but circumstances not always allow us to be...

@blogger44, is happiness not a choice regardless of circumstances?
Negative can't change your situation so why live there?