Thought of the Day: March 28, 2018 - Talking Self Talk

in #success6 years ago

20151120_172723.jpg

Growing up, my parents told me it was not a good habit, if I talking to myself. Then in school I was told it was bad if I spend time talking to myself and then answering myself.

As I grow up, I learn there is nothing wrong with self talk or talking to yourself. I was not crazy if I was having a conversation with myself. I knew there was nothing physiologically wrong with me.

A part of me was just trying to make sense of the world around me.

You may have heard about the benefits of having a positive conversation with yourself. Did you know many people do it on a regular basis?

They give themselves a pep talk before a big meeting, before the sales presentation, before or during a workout. They talk to themselves before they do anything important. This gives them positive instructions, encouragement and motivation.

You can also use positive self talk to take action.

By repeating out loud positive statements you start to build confidence in your ability to accomplish those very things.

I'm know there is a scientific component to self talk. You begin to build new path ways in the brain. You begin to change old habits of mediocrity. I believe you begin changing who you are in a biochemical level.

If you hook yourself up to a machine, I am sure the doctor would see that your whole physiology starts to change.

The next time someone tells you that talking to yourself, asking yourself a question and/or answering it, is a bad thing, don't believe them, even if they have good intentions.

They may not know enough about the power of how self talk works and helps you become who you wan to become.