You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sunrise Surprise is ASAP Fast Toast - Breakfast with enternamehere

Ha haa, love the Googly Eye breakfast. You should put that in the Googly Eye challenge by @fraenk. It's a lot of fun. My only concern is not choking on the eyes. Risky breakfast ( :
And as for AB & J in the morning, I hate to admit, but it's a regular. (the A is almond butter...) I like your carrot addition, a real mix with the toast. Good idea. Have a nice Sunday.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing the googly eyes contest, it does look like fun. Why do you hate to admit to ab&j for breakfast? It's delicious energy.

Sunday here was great. We got breakfast with my dear old dad, ran a few errands and threw some discs for practice.

What about yours?

You're welcome. I keep meaning to do more Googlies. I even carry some in my bike bag, but never remember to stick them to anything to photograph. Thanks for the reminder. More of those 'somedays'. It is a fun contest. And writing little stories about what I create would be fun. So many post ideas, so little time.

Weekend seemed king of busy. Saturday I went to a local protest rally and then a free garden plant thingy, then spent a lot of Sunday doing chores. Have a pump-house with an electric pump I'm trying to get going so the large garden can be watered for a cheap price. Paying for city water destroys the wallet quickly. That and still messing with the goofy weedeater. There's another post or two there too. At least I'm not bored.

I guess I say that about the AB&Honey toast because it is a lot of bread. I sometimes think I eat too much bread. Think we talked about this before, but I got used to it doing long, hard outdoor work for carb energy, and I think I eat too many carbs now. But it tastes so good. Used to have bees for honey making, THAT was great. But they all died of hive collapse. But still have some left. LOVE that stuff with the almond butter.

That's a busy weekend for sure. Your garden pump house project sounds intriguing. In addition to the wallet drain issue, plants seem to enjoy water from non-city sources more, that's the case around here anyway. You all may have better quality water than here. Yeah, no boredom in sight for miles! You always have something in the works.

Bread, it's so tasty, isn't it!? If we had this bread talk in the past, it's not coming to me now. Carbs are perfect energy for hard work, IMO. They're short-lived energy unless they have fat or protein accompanying (or all 3 together is good too!). Of course, I am biased here because I am a fellow toast with nut butter and honey fan. Fresh honey is on the list of foods to taste. Giving up carbs altogether doesn't appear to be anywhere on my near horizon either...Hive collapse? Sounds disastrous, how does that happen?

Do peanuts grow well in your region? What growing zone are you in?

A fun weekend indeed. And the pump project is growing by the minute, which I guess is normal. Now we have to replace it all. But it WILL be cheaper, and as you say, probably better than the city water. No chlorine, etc. Though I DID learn recenlty, we have less than other parts of the city. The longer the pipes run underground, the more you get, because they have to chlorinate it much heavier for bacteria, etc. I guess from the pipes. Then again, when you really think about it, getting water at the turn of a spiggot, 24-7, HAS to come from somewhere, and bacteria, etc is all around. So there is no magic bullet, as they say. We take so much of our life of convenience for granted. Or granite, if you'r in the rocks, nuarrch, nuarrch.
We do have good water here. And tastes good too.
As for peanuts, they don't grow them here. May not be hot enough, I'm not sure. But seems more of a southern crop, which suggests: HOT.

I am a bread nut, it's just that I have friends that are now No Wheat and No gluten. WOnder sometimes if there is something to it. But I just fill up best on good old bread. Yesterday I had french toast with almond butter and real maple syrup and plum/apple compote and fake sausage for breakfast. I'm not giving up my grand, holiday breakfast, friends. ( :

As for hive collapse, they think it is due to neonicotinoids, which often come on plants from box stores. They spray them, I think, for bugs? Not sure exactly. I'm sure Wikipedia would know more than me. But it is a simple fix, and only in Europe, that I've heard, are they banning them. But the bees are dying in droves, and it is a HUGE problem. Not only honey, but obviously, for pollination. I miss our bees. Only have a gallon and a half of honey left. Sigh. We need to get some more.
Toast, almond butter and honey on, I say. Cheerio(s)