How to be a Super-dad #1 (Introduction)

in #superdad6 years ago

Hello, Steemians. I would like to introduce my new blog “How to be a Super-dad” It will be about my journey being a stay-at-home father with my beautiful son Kurt and, of course, my wife Liene. In this Series, I will show my experience, happiness and the hard parts of raising my kid. It should be funny and educational for new parents as they might see some similar situations in their parenting time.

IMG_9177.JPG

I can’t express enough my respect for wives who are staying at home with a kid. Really, I think it is not the easiest job in the world. Until the moment when I started to be a stay-at-home father, I really didn’t realize it is such a hard job to do. Of course, the reward is big also, but, if your partner has to stay at home with a kid, respect that. I must say, I see work as a very pleasant place where you can relax :D

To begin this journey, I have to introduce myself and my story. My name is Rihard. I live in a beautiful country called Latvia, and I am 27 years old. I was the manager of a division in “Havi Logistic”. I loved my work. I love working very much as I am workaholic. 290 hours per month? No problem for me. I had money, as I was earning a lot. We just took out a mortgage on a new flat, because the old one was too small. It was too small, because, we were lucky enough to have a child, a beautiful boy named Kurt.

VID_20170907_WA0003_jpg_mp4.gif

After we bought the flat, it had to be repaired. It was in a bad shape, but we got a good deal so it was worth it. I planned to finish the reconstruction in 3 months. So my family went to live with my wife's parents. They live in another city 85 km away from the place we had a new flat. I had to stay in this apartment and had to do the rebuilding. You may ask why we didn’t go to live in the apartment where we were living before? Easy, we rented it out so we should not worry about the mortgage payments.

Everything was going very well for us. And then one day I was helping my workers in the warehouse and one guy drove a forklift into my leg. My leg was crushed. They drove me to a hospital and doctors were debating whether to try to repair my leg or just cut part off. And BAM, after six operations, one month in the hospital and six more months lying in a bed in one position, I had a new leg.

It was painful, all the reconstructions and mortgage were causing a lot of stress. It was an interesting experience:) I didn’t get much money from my insurance as in our country, they call this a mild trauma- in the same category as a broken bone. I did get 1200 Euro for this :D. We have funny laws in our country. Well, this story is not about the money. This is just an interesting fact about my country. Rely only on yourself :)

IMG-20161213-WA0011 (1).jpg Not willing to show you the photo of my leg without the bandage, as it may move my post to NSFW :)

So we had a very difficult decision to make now. How we will have money to survive :) My beloved wife always loved working, too. She was not willing to sit at home all this time. She had her own dreams of a career. I respect that. So she started back to work after about 6 months at home with our kid.

We decided that I would stay at home and be with our child. Plus, I was able to start walking a bit and each day it got easier for me. For me it was scary. So now I have to do all the stuff my wife did, and there's this little person who relies on me. I was very scared at the beginning.

So that was the moment when our journey began. It was July 2016 and I had to take care of a kid. I am scared of this situation, but I am also curious to learn what it will be like. It was a new experience for me. So I was excited.

To be continued…...

If you like the post and are willing to see something similar in future: Follow, Upvote, Comment!

If you are interested in more related content just use #superdad

DQmQVVALU9XiUdwX3D72P5w94DQBbFYg95bMpxM741wBpht.gif

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steemit!