Surfers On Steemit: Where Are You? Building A Worldwide Surf Community On The BlockchainšŸ„

in #surfing ā€¢ 7 years ago (edited)
Associate with like-minded people, there is power in positive synergy. - Nike Adeyemi

Absolutely, Nike.

Communities were set as one of the goals for Q3/2017 in Steemit Inc's Roadmap 2017.

We wish to enable many users to build communities in parallel around curating specific types of content valuable to their audiences.

What I'd love to do in preparation for Q3 is bringing all the surfers together in order to set up a SteemSurf Community.

So who wants to be part of the 'SteemSurf World Map'? šŸŒŽšŸŒŽšŸŒŽ

Building a worldwide surf community šŸ‘Š

In one of my last vlogs I mentioned that my favorite group of interest on steemit is #surfing.

However, I stopped using the tag #surfing for a while since there wasn't much engagement.

Yesterday Sharon @fitinfun left this comment in my YouTube channel:

I just looked at the #surfing tag and it looks like a lot of people are posting there. Maybe that is your community :) Subbed and liked.ļ»æ

I immediately jumped over to the surfing section and noticed that Sharon was completely right!

It seems that a lot of surfers have joined the platform lately and started to post under this tag. That's great news!

I started to read, upvote and comment some new entries, began to follow them and suddenly an idea came on my mind.

Why not designing a Steem World Surf Map showing all the surf spots where steemit's surfers are located?

So if you ever wanted to go on a surf trip, you might choose a destination from this map and meet a fellow steemian for a nice community surf šŸ˜Š

I've seen a lot of like-minded wave seekers on steemit so far.

They've been posting from California ( @creatr ), Australia's Gold Coast ( @beachbuminvestor ), Hawaii ( @hichamwallace ) or even reporting from several spots where the WSL (World Surf League) competions took place ( @sandrino ).

Did you know that India's youngest professional surfergirl @oceanchild joined steemit lately?

Imagine that we could 'make some noise' and bring even more PRO's on the platform?!

Doors are open!

Then of course there have been several steemians blogging about their surfing holidays. One of my favorite posts was definitely Luke's ( @lukestokes) Surfing Costa Rica which was one of the very first blog posts I read on steemit after joining the platform one year ago.

Not forgetting to mention @chrisadventures who posted this fantastic surf tutorial How To Start Surfing a couple of months ago.

There is so much knowledge, like-mindedness and cool surfing vibes. Let's bundle it in a surf community!

Let's bring all these surfer souls together and build something nice! So every surfer who wants to be on the world map, just drop a message down here in the comment section, providing some info on your local spot - and then you'll be in!

I will put all the information together and design a nice SteemSurf World Map. Wham! šŸ„

Then we're going to have a nice point from where to start when the community feature is set up by Steemit Inc.

Looking forward!

Have a great one,

Marly -

Don't forget to subscribe to my YouTube Channel (fresh surf videos all the time šŸ˜ƒ).

This banner was designed by the talented @rvanstel. Contact him for more info.


Original content. Quote found on asideas.com and Surf Map illustration found on yatzer.com: Illustration by Andrew Groves, from Surf Odyssey Ā© Gestalten 2016.

Sort: Ā 
There are 2 pages
Pages

Hey! I actually did my thesis about travelling and took more than often the example of surfing spots. Fun to see people with similar ideas!

@firepower and me are still aiming to create a platform to support the conclusion which came out of my thesis :)

Surfing spots are just perfect to create a travel map. They are perfect holiday destinations for everybody. I mean just think about spots like Hawaii or Bali. A lot of people travel there to live the ambient and breath some surf vibes, even though they don't seek waves by themselves ;)

Well then looking forward to your project with @firepower!

Yes! But not only travel spots are in demand! For example, Chiang Mai does not have one but is super popular too :)

Now I see... Great idea!!

Greetings, Marly! Thank you for your invitation, I am excited to join First Steemit Surfing community! Best spot in my area is usually Nai Harn beach, Phuket, Thailand :) We have surfing's season at Phuket now. But from December- to May there are no waves at all! I am not a super active surfer this season, due to trauma that I got last year. Thank you for this wonderful idea! May be you could do an app or website soon:) Have a wonderful day!

Ā 7 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

Hey Luke! Nice that you jumped over directly :-)
Phuket, wow! I've never been to Thailand so far but it's one of the 100 destination I'd like to see soon, haha (why can't a day have 48 hours)!

Well then we've got another surfer for the next update on the steemit map. Awesome! Here's your spot: https://map.what3words.com/sunburnt.entangled.adventurous

Details here: https://steemit.com/surfing/@surfermarly/spotting-steemit-s-surfers-and-designing-the-first-community-map-here-s-my-local-wave

I won't lie: having an application would be epic! :-) I'll be working on it...

Have a great day, too!

Ā 7 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

In Austria we don't have an ocean or waves to surf on, but it was always my favorite sport that I never learned.

It's never too late to try :)

I love the idea of building communities on Steemit. Especially lifestyle ones like surfing, diving , fishing, sailing and all things natural and aquatic.

I couldn't agree more! It's the perfect way to find like-minded people and share ideas, experiences and knowledge about a certain field of interest.
Thanks for stopping by Stephen!

This is wonderful Marley! I'm so glad you took a look at #surfing and got so inspired. I've been making a point to visit people's YouTube channels from here and joining those I like. Yours made me so happy today. It's just great to see you having such a blast doing what you love.

I am a swimmer - not a surfer, but I love watching all extreme sports and you never know :) I'm pretty much a chicken, but I am a good cheerleader.

So glad to connect today. I resteemed in case I have surfer followers who want to join in. I also tweeted. Sometimes the main steemit account picks up my tweets, so maybe you will get exposure that way.

I am a swimmer - not a surfer, but I love watching all extreme sports and you never know :) I'm pretty much a chicken, but I am a good cheerleader.

Haha, I loved that one!
Imagine, I still haven't been watching any live competition. That is something I really wanna do next year. I'm planning on doing a trip to Hawaii, being there during one of the big challenges. That would be kind of a lifetime dream!

I'm happy you enjoy my channel in such way! And again, thanks for the encouragement and great support (even via Twitter - brilliant!) :)

Have a great day, Sharon!

You too! You made my day with this one. I was in California for years and have a lot of experience watching surfing from the beach and avoiding them when swimming. I'm in Bangkok now with not a drop of nature so I will be really happy to watch your progress.

Bangkok, wow! What a change.
Sure, we're going to update you on everything :-)

Loading...

I wish, never surfed in my life and live in the desert of Las Vegas šŸ˜‚šŸ™ˆšŸŒµšŸŒ“šŸŒž

That's a bad excuse, Charles! You've got the Flowrider at Planet Hollywood!!! šŸ¤˜šŸ˜ŽšŸ˜„

Nice post. That is definitely on my bucket list. Surfing in Australia.

Ā 7 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

Thank you!
I'd love to travel to Hawaii next year :)

Hello, I just wrote about how much I love surfing, and I know some good spots in the UK. And I also wanted to meet surfers from Steem! I am in!
https://steemit.com/surf/@coinkingz/surf-and-steem-finding-my-passion-through-blogging-and-surfing

That's awesome! Welcome to steemit :)
I've just upvoted your article and follow you now. So you might represent steemit's surfers in the UK though? :)

Hmmm. That would be a bit hard to say :) I am just one of the amateurs, but improving. So put me in the bucket for UK, I try to go down to surf every weekend now, so maybe somebody wants to join! Thanks for following!

I'm not a PRO either :) This is not supposed to be a network of professionals, just a group of like-minded people. Great, I count you in though!

That is a great idea. I hope you bring the surfers in.

That would be great! Thanks :)

I would love to learn surfing!

Then you should try it :)

yes.. I will!

maybe @sandrino you should see this i always saw you making surfing videos :D @surfermarly every day i check he use to add surfing video :D so i thought tagging him here would be great :)

Ā 7 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

Yeah he reports from the WSL. I mentioned and tagged him in my article, too :)

yeah :) :)

thanks @whatsup :)

omg thanks @pharesim i always love your upvote :)

I would love to meet other surfers who are part of the SteemIt network. I'm surfer based primarily out of Maui and Big Island of Hawaii, but do travel to other surf locations from time to time. I've been so busy with digital work lately that I've been neglecting riding waves haha. Story of my life.

Feel free to drop my location in as Hawaii :)

Feel free to drop my location in as Hawaii :)

Amazing!
Would you mind to specify your local spot a bit clearer?
@creatr did an amazing job on explaining how that works here: https://steemit.com/surfing/@creatr/putting-the-steemit-surf-community-on-the-map-give-what-3-words-a-try

With the tool he mentions you can easily let us know the exact spot to put on the map :)

Thanks for being part of it, this is going to be GREAT!!!

Marly -

Yes, the spot is Lahaina Breakwall in Maui. Also Ho'okipa near Paia, Maui works as well :)

This will definitely provide a better platform to the users,and they will learn and share with each other their expereinces, a good initiative started here.

Thank you! I'm happy you like it :)
The community feature will help much to bring people of common interest together. Until then we just use the taggings to demonstrate that we're "part of one group" :-)
Have a nice day!

I hope I can learn how to surf someday! Soon Steemit will be the best way to meet people from any community all over the world!

what a great idea @surfmarly. IĀ“m a big boardsports lover and I always wanted to surf, but as we live in a place where the next surf spot is hundreds of kilometers away I had no chance to learn it. Since 2013 weĀ“re traveling a lot and so I started to learn it. Most of it I learned by myself without teachers. So I spent the whole Australian Winter at the Sunshine Coast and went surfing every day. Finally my dream came true and I can ride green waves now and do turns. WeĀ“re going back to Bali in September and I can't wait to get back into the line up. Really looking forward to your map. Upvote and Resteem

Excellent story, @betterhanhome! I almost learned it by myself, too. Still I'm not doing turns, but this is my goal for this year :-) Step by step. I haven't been a "water person" my whole life and started to be one at an age of 30, so in the beginning it was quite tough. The earlier you start the merrier. If I ever had kids, I would teach them to surf right after starting to walk :-))
Have a great time in Bali then, hoping to see some shots here on steemit!

Welcome back to steemit! ā˜ŗļø

Hehe, thanks :-) Feeling goooood!

45 years ago my wife to be told me she was a surfer. That summer we went to the ocean and I discovered she couldn't even swim. She still can't surf, but she has learned to tread water.

Oh, so she told you she was a surfer but didn't even swim? Well actually, if you are reeeeeeaaaally good you don't need to swim. You paddle out and surf. If you didn't ever fall down you wouldn't need to swim. But I guess nobody ever made that :-))
Water is a strong element. If you don't like it you'd rather keep away. Waves and currents can be very dangerous, especially for people who are not familiar with their behavior. It even happens to me that a wave surprises me from time to time. When I paddle too much on the insight and it breaks directly over my head, this can be really annoying, haha! I think I won't ever have a water-drinking-problem in my life, and the salt level in my body is very stable, too šŸ˜„

Have a great day - with or without swim!

WHEN CAN WE ORGANISE THE FIRST SURF TRIP??

Hopefully soon! :)

count on me 0/

Good! Are you a surfer, too?

wow, this is a great initiative and as aspiring surfer (after you might have grilled me) I will actually do very well , upped. Thanks for sharing

LOL - go get your surfing skills readaaayyy! :)

Great my dear one..waiting for my instructor (you)..hiyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

LOL, I'm not a professional at all :-D

Do not underestimate your capabilities my dearest @surfermarly
I mentioned you in my latest post(pls check it out)
Lets book a date for surfing training, this evening?

Never underestimate your capabilities...@surfermarly
On my way to ....LA?

great idea! I'm just a beginner, went surfing twice... I'll be surfing in Spain this year, maybe we get some surfers from there ;)

Nice!!! Where are you traveling to? A spot I wanna know in Spain is Tarifa, I still haven't been there, but it must be great. Sure, bring the whole Spanish surfer community to steemit :-)

Hello are you still doing this project?

Sure! Do you wanna join? :-)

yes sure, I am a surfer currently based in Lobitos, Peru. What about you?

There are so many rich, diverse and fun communities here on steemit.
If a huge surf community was built and formed it would probably be pretty amazing if there was some even held and a bunch of steemians have a fun day surfing at the beach.
Surfing is something unviersal and I hope a large surfing community grows @surfermarly

Surfing is something unviersal and I hope a large surfing community grows

Absolutely. Surfing is able to connect people from all over the world.
Thanks for your encouragment! Once the new community feature is implemented here on steemit, things will become even more easier.

Have a good day!

Ā 7 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

really i will watch ur videos on ur youtube chanel of surface i really like surface very much..and its great that steemit surface and u make a map on it ur work is good @surfermarly

Nice post @sufermarly great information, i really enjoy watching surfing so much fun.

awosome post...

Great initiative. All the best.

Thanks!

awesome ur youtube chanel is fill of surface videos good work on ur blog

Ā 7 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

@surfermarly actually its astounding , I wish i could take a part and try it but unfortunately am from Egypt. it's too far and would costs me a lot I couldn't afford it right now.
i'd love to invite you @surfermarly into my new embarrassing challenge. I'd be happy if you participate in it here is the link https://steemit.com/theembarrassingchallenge/@mostafa1/the-embarrassing-challenge-let-s-have-fun-sharing-embarrassing-hilarious-situations

i saw ur chanel and i subscribe it already ur videos of see and surface are fantastic

surfer are always my best but i dont try it still hope i will try it in and enjoy it bcz i think its really good job to play with waves and u r a good surfer i see ur chanel

Thank you very much :-)

that's great

so cool that you found your #surfing community on #steemit . follow me and i will follow back > i will upvote you for now:)

This is such an excellent initiative! Love the idea where people could tag themselves in their surf locations. I'm a swimmer hihi not a surfer šŸ„ but if one day I have the guts it takes to try it out, I'll let you know! Best of luck with this awesome project! šŸ’™šŸ‘ŒšŸ»

Good post i really like it. Have a nice wave for me.

There is also another project being build by @dragosroua, called steem.city, where communities are the focus ;)

Can't access the page (when clicking on "join the group" it says that the link is not longer available). But I will try to find related articles on steemit. Thanks for the hint! :)

It is in development, alpha test will start soon. It is not stable to join at the moment, but when it is ready you will be one of the first to know :)

Ah yes? How will I come to know?

I will let you know :D

Upvoted and also resteemed!

Hola, I;m Ariba, I never thing about surf because i dont know how to swim, but its a dream to be great swimmer,but for me now this is scary. You just AMAZE :)

great content! you deserve my follow and up vote!

I think you will need a bigger map soon!

I hope so! :)

que buen post, me pareciĆ³ super interesante, siempre he querido aprender a surfear. te sigo!

Nunca es tarde :-) Tienes una playa cerca?
Te sigo tambiƩn.

That's really great idea that you picked up this topic. Building the community that sticks to a topic is also good. Thanks for the great post @surfermarly!

Good job Surfer Marly! You really bring surfers to Steemit :D Keep up!

Nice post @surfermarly! I hope one day I can learn to surf with you :D I never do it before.

Awesome @surfermarly. I believe you could build the big community of surfers around the world using Steemit. Thanks you for your hard work!

Great to see your post again! @surfermarly
I will subscribe to your Youtube Channel to see more awesome videos of you doing cool surfing activities :d

You have a great idea @surfermarly to bring world wide surfers to the blockchain. This will surely make Steemit grow very fast!

Sounds great!
I can see that the surfer community will be big on this blockchain :D
Your effort will pay off. Thanks you for your idea @surfermarly!

There are 2 pages
Pages