SXSW 2018 Crypto Friends Monster Post

in #sxsw6 years ago (edited)

DYnB78IUMAAIseJ.jpg

This is the TLDR version.

Steemians mentioned in this post: @fulltimegeek, @kennethbosak, @itsmee.bosslady, @stevenalexander and others from Crypto Land.

This video will give you a taste of a lot that happened in Crypto SXSW:

(in this video you’ll hear the story of how @fulltimegeek and @itsmee.bosslady supported Kenneth Bosak after he got hacked by BitConnect thugs)

My trip to SXSW in Austin, Texas started with Sommer telling me, “You should go to the Decentralized Art Show in SXSW. We have a condo there and you could stay there for free.”

My answer, “hmmmm…for free? Uh, i guess I don’t have any reason to say no.”

Sommer, also known as @itsmee.bosslady is a super connector in the crypto world. She seems to know everyone, and there’s no way I would have gone to SXSW if Sommer was not somehow involved.

The crypto people mostly did the “unofficial” SXSW, meaning, we didn’t pay the outrageous $1K fees to gain entrance to the events. None of us had the SXSW badges, LOL, but we didn’t need them to gain entry to the Crypto Summit or afterparty. Our first night arriving in Austin fits into the category of “purely insane”, as I headed to the Santa Cruz Theater where I hung the art I had brought with me.

insidebar.jpeg

At the Santa Cruz theater, there were a number of crypto art pieces that were associated with the Decentralized Art Show. I will do a separate post about the Decentralized Art Show because there’s too much content. I had gone straight to the Santa Cruz theater from the airport, so I still hadn’t been to our hotel room. After the art party was done, Steven and I headed to Wyndam, where we were to stay for the week. Thanks to Sommer and Lauren, the founders of Decentralized Art Shows, who had arranged this for us in advance. These guys made a lot of things happen at the art show, including shock from his blue Decred jacket:

daniel.jpeg

Ryan, owner of Santa Cruz Theater shown in middle:

DYnGbW9XcAAzoF4.jpg

Here’s where things get crazy.

When we used our room keys on the door to our hotel room, the light flashed green, but the door was still locked. We both tried our keys many times, and it was very confusing because we heard a loud click each time, but the door still would not open. After we were about to give up, the door opened, and a blonde woman was standing right there, told us that we had the wrong room number. We apologized, and were about to head back to the front desk, then the woman said, “Well, you’ve got the wrong place…….well that is, unless you know Lauren……”

DYnKYacVoAAsbvi.jpg

@stevenalexander and I looked at each other and were confused…….we didn’t realize we’d be sharing a room with a stranger! Hmmmm….I looked around and counted the number of beds…….and after talking with the blonde woman for a few more minutes and comparing social circles, we figured out that we already knew each other on Crypto Twitter……she was none other than Adryennn Ashley [@adryenn], Film and TV Producer and founder of https://loly.io/ which is a new dating app.

DYnHNQIW4AAVCPQ.jpg

Photo of Adryenn Ashley

Adryenn is one of those type A personality people, super driven and on top of a thousand moving parts in the blockchain tech, film/tv and business worlds. I had sort of wanted to get one of my articles into Venture Beat, and I guess she would be the one who could get it there since she’s already a contributing writer….ahhh…….my drive for standard fare success is not as strong as my drive for love……as my life has changed dramatically since finding this Naval Ravikant tweet some months ago:

“A fit body, a calm mind, a house full of love. These things cannot be bought — they must be earned.”

“The house full of love” part was a particularly disturbing smack against the hard floor of reality. This one tweet changed my life and forced me to re-evaluate my Vulcan-based non-relationship system. But I am side-tracked, back to the trip.

DYnHw1UXUAERxag.jpg

The next night was the Crypto Summit where I learned I had missed a bunch of speakers…..I was too wiped out from the night before to make it in time. However, after the Crypto Summit speakers, there was the first crypto party where I met Jane Lippincott, co-founder of Zencash, Kenneth Bosak, Susan, founder of MKR.AI, Harrison Stahl and a lot of other crypto people who are Crypto OGs (original gangsters). The party had the usual fare of loud dance music, jiggling butts of strangers (sandwich dancing with asses shaking YU) and lots of power problems throughout the set. My favorite part happened when all the power went out, the music got cut, and some random guy started beat rapping without any backup sounds.

At some point, I got inspired by this couple and started following them around until I got my nerve up to ask for their photo. I felt like I was entering the Age of Aquarius:

Enlight156.JPG

I discovered that the woman with the massive afro is a violinist from Los Angeles, but I didn’t get the name of her group. After meeting a bunch of people who all had been set free by crypto, I did feel that perhaps we are in the first phase of the Dawn of the Age of Aquarius, or something paradigm-shifty like that, but set to bad pop music. It kind of felt like we picked up where the end of the sixties left off….being around a lot of free people is some feeling that is hard to explain. It’s almost like all our blocks have been removed and we can freely decide how to interact with each other, and to what extent. And we can choose our trusted friends to do business with. This is the real beauty of living the crypto life: getting to spend a lot of time with friends instead of lame co-workers not of our choosing.

There is a lot more that happened. A lot of confusion caused by me drinking too much, and not reading enough, and a lot of me thinking about the importance of investing in people. More than anything else, crypto life is making me aware of who authentically values me as a human and who has my back.

Crypto makes it possible to really value friendship in a way that is not possible in a 9-5 corporate lifestyle.

Special thanks to @itsmee.bosslady who basically made all this possible through her super connecting.

Stay tuned for my SXSW Decentralized Art Show post, coming very soon!

Taking a week off writing and reading……wow, I can become confused so easily!

Cheers,
Stellabelle

Sort:  

Thanks for the SHOUT OUT 🏆✊ it was awesome meeting you 🚀🌚

don't forget to ask your guests for their steemit handle brah ... lol

Thanks for the kind words amigo and you're very welcome :)

wow, I am always hearing about the cool things you are doing.......thanks for being awesome.

You're a good person bro bro ✊ thanks for the support 🍻

thanks for being awesome! I really enjoyed getting to know you.....Love how you tell stories!

I found the video via twitter last night and listened to the epic tale of @kennethbosak and heard about @fulltimegeek's support - No fun times there for sure, but this looked the opposite.

Own-bike women haha, 'are you filming me...' camera goes down :D ace

yay! It sounds like an incredible experience... looking forward to seeing your upcoming posts :D

Welcome Back, Stella!!!

That seemed like a whole lot of fun!

Welcome back Mama @stellabelle.You deserve this holiday and thanks for responding immediately to my problem. @steem4depoor was hacked and everything stolen and there is absolutely no hope of recovery but life goes on and now I am @steemgh which is a rebirth of @steem4depoor. I will strive on and steem on without any limitations. I am optimistic that I will bounce back with your continuos support. Welcome back lovely mother.

amazing togetherness, the ideal harmonious, this great post of Friends

Crypto makes it possible to really value friendship in a way that is not possible in a 9-5 corporate lifestyle.

This is just so true, this has been my story throughout my journey to starting up the @steemit-uyo community with @samstickkz in October 2017, i have made more friends in the crypto space than i have within my entire stay within the university i attended.

This is really the first time i am actually taking time out to read your blog post on here @stellabelle, i have heard so much about you from @tojukaka but i have found it lazy coming around, with what i have seen on here today, with this post of yours, i am certainly coming back for some more.

Thanks....I was on a Steem holiday, traveling, and now i'm going to be writing a lot more. Sounds good to know that I am not alone in this thinking. Thank you for stopping by.

this is a very remarkable story. togetherness, touched

Holy crap those are some fine peoples!

the one who blew me away, was meeting Jane, the co-founder of Zencash, and also @kennethbosak was an amazing personality...

Damn if i knew you were having an art show here I would have loved to go!

You have really good taste in Art solar!

Indio.jpg

Thanks, doing my best to support good artists on the platform. Already following you cause i like your work.

thinking about the importance of investing in people.

I am also learning this on steemit.

Awesome I didn't know there was a decentralized art show lol! Ah you look so lovely in the picture @stellabelle!

Adventure! Am glad you made it there, and looking forward to catching you another time @stellabelle!

The freedom that comes with crypto can never be beaten by any other thing. Reading through this article I got transported to the SXSW, I could feel every moment. Who could say no to such an adventure?

Its really touching to hear we mud actually look out for each other...dis hackers are really sh*t

Heck ya! This looks like it was a ton of fun!
I wish I could have came out and met you!
Wow! @kennethbosak story sounds like a nightmare experience! Thank goodness for all the support and love. I am he got some good people to help him out!!

A bird told me I can find free booze and women here! Is that true? 😅😍😎🤗

wuhuu looks like a lot of fun ur having down there stella!

Looks like you guys had a blast on the trip :)

Stella it was my pleasure, I've been wanting to connect with you in real life for awhile now! Thank you so much for this amazing post, and thank you again for coming! :) #cryptofam

This article is awesome, makes me feel like I was there too! I’m gonna hurry over to see the decentralized art post. I’m an artist myself and would love to contribute to decentralization...

36DE1150-62BF-4AF3-ACCB-C37B13DB5133.jpeg

Woohoooo!Found you on Steemit today! Gimme a shout when heading to Austin next!