Thing-a-Day: Campaign Update

in #tabletop2 years ago

Ok so, continuing with this week's thing-a-day, I present to you this thing.

The Campaign Update

I started running my Genesys Urban Arcana game sometime in mid to late February. I meant to do weekly write ups on it but they never materialized. Why is that? Well honestly, most of the World Building for the game is done during the sessions so not a lot has been happening. But I'll do my best to summarize the campaign to date.

So we been this game is classic fashion, the party is at a Tavern™. Now the Tavern™ is chain of novelty themed restaurants in the Puget Sound Region of Washington state, which is where the game takes place. The staff dresses up as various fantasy races, there is a bard playing music, and the food is good but basic diner fare.

So party is there unwinding after a roleplaying session with pancakes and milkshakes, when it is attack by hooded humanoids. They kill the staff and set the place on fire. The party manages to escape unscathed. Since one of the players is a cop for Metro One he stays behind and coordinates with the emergency responders. He fills out reports and follows up a week later on the arson investigation only to find it closed.

Report says "Kitchen fire, no bodies found on site." Now the party witnessed several of the staff get killed, so Mike knows something is up. Checks with City Records and finds everything scrub, no record of the building is in the archive. No permits, no tax records, nothing. So now I've got this mystery going with the records and what not.

So after some Dream-Walking and Divine Intervention from the new gods, the party gets some sweet magical swag. They track down the LLC running the The Taverns™ and question the operations manger who happens to be a Siren and learns more about the various inhuman races living in the Greater Seattle area. There also might be some Ratmen in the sewer committing the crimes and trying to rise a dark god while a federal agency is trying to stop them...

Currently they are talking to heads of two shadow-folk organizations, one that provides food and shelter, the other provides jobs. That's about all that is going on right now. The game is currently on hiatus due to some of the players having other commitments and myself having the burnout. I'm taking a break and trying to play a bit in a 5e game. Its been nice.

Well that's it for today, I'll see you tomorrow when I talk about something else. I'm not sure what yet, but I'm sure to come up with something. Until next time!

Victory by Dice!

Sort:  

Yeh I'm well behind on all my game writeups as well x_x

Okay that game sounds like a lot of fun XD

I hear you on the burnout, though at least I haven't really hit major GM burnout yet XD closest I've come was just stopping one of my games because it was kind of split in two, I was running the same players as two different teams (was making sure the teams were affecting each other but would ideally never meet), so we were alternating them. As per the usual problems with games that aren't weekly, if we had to skip a session for any reason, we could end up with a month between sessions. My players are annoying and refuse to take notes (with weekly games they will generally remember what they did last session, anything longer and weirdly they forget things) so they kept forgetting information and things that they had and I got annoyed having to remember what they had as well as what I was doing, and the consequences of just letting them forget was that we wouldn't be able to move the story as they wouldn't remember where they had to go or who they had to talk to or fight or whatever, and one thing I found out really quickly is that I think they like the idea of living world but don't actually know what to do with it XD

Wish I could play as a player sometimes XD might get the opportunity as eldest says he wants to run a game, so we've turned in sheets to him and now just waiting for him to start. They're also waiting for a weekly game I promised them to start but I said I have no idea when that will start as I want to finish reading a sourcebook I need to read first (because one of the players is playing it, after that I can technically peruse the other books at my leisure). Hoping eldest will be ready to run his first so that I have more time with less pressure (which is mostly self-inflicted, the kids are great and ask very infrequently) during his game to build mine XD

Congratulations @sapadetzero! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar
Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!