Twin Dad - part 1 - "There is something else in there."

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

Hey everyone,

I have planned to narrow down my posting to a few key interests. I do get caught up in the odd political correctness debate, but I'm going to predominately try and stick to; my DIY dad Renovations, Twin dad related posts & my camping/Hunting expeditions.

I've wanted to post for a while about the day I learned i was going to be a twin dad for some time.

I cant say I was ready for one baby, but I honestly don't think you're ever ready to become a parent. Nothing can prepare you for what you'll give up, the new challenges that you'll face and the sleep deprivation that you'll experience. All of that goes out the window though when you can play peek-a-boo, see your child crawl for the first time, or walk, or say Dada.

So lets go back to a day (not sure when) back in September 2013 - We knew we were expecting to bring a new life into the world. We had booked into see an obstetrician that my wife had chosen. She was a pretty cool lady, relatively young considering the years of study that she would have gone through. Just googled it.. around 7 years... we do a bit of chitter chatter about the basics, time to get up for a scan.

My wife gets up on the bed and the doctor applies the gel and starts sticky beaking around.

PHEW! a healthy heart beat, we've got a baby with a heart beat. Thank your mother for the rabbits! I'm as happy as Larry until the doctor says "oh hang on, there is something else in there." Not what you want to hear from a doctor when you're getting a scan for a baby.

I'm silent.

I need to be strong for my wife right now.

In my head I'm thinking, fuck, shes got cancer or a tumor or something. Is the baby going to be ok? Is my wife going to be ok? Fuck. Fuck. Fuck.

Doctor continues moving around my wifes stomach with her magic scanning wand then breaks her silence after a while. Whilst laughing she says "I think its another baby, let me keep looking".

She repeats, "yeah you're having twins, that's hilarious".

my reaction and i said it out aloud, "no its not really hilarious, I'm going to need a new car, a new house a new job."

We sat back down at the doctors desk and continued our conversation, obviously the situation has changed, we're having twins. I asked her, and I quote *"I know you're a doctor, and that you've studied for a long time, but how sure are you its twins?" *

Her response, "Im sure".

I ask again, "If you had to put your house on it being twins, would you?" She said "no, but Im almost certain."

I don't remember much of the conversation after that. We went to my father in law's house after the appointment, which was around breakfast time. My parents in law knew we were having a baby, and that we had a scan. We must have still had a shocked look on our faces because they could sense something was off.

My father in law said, "do you want a drink?"
I said "yes please".
He replies, "a beer?"
I said "no a scotch".
He replies, "whats the matter are you having twins?"

IMG_38901 - Copy.jpg

These are my twins, when they're only a few minutes old.



Although the next 18 months were the most stressful months of my life, I pulled through it. And i know I wouldn't change a thing if i did it again.

Until next time XAG.

Sort:  

I remember the exact moment I found out I was going to be a dad. I'm still not ready. My sister was joking about how hilarious it would be if it was twins. It must be a nurse thing.

It wouldn't be hilarious since we're still trying to work out how we're going to afford the 1 baby as it is! We are however, certain we're only having 1.

Your 2 look like they're awesome and will keep you busy for the next oh, 18 years of your life! (if not more!)

Four years in (almost) and they continue to run me off my feet daily. I dont know where they get the energy from & i dont know where they put all that food they eat!

And I bet you wonder where that time has gone too. I'm so happy with the test results we've had so far. Happy and Healthy. Super nervous about passing on my genetics, but hoping she gets my good ones and not all the dodgy ones, especially not the crohn's stuff

Fingers crossed 🤞🏻 that she gets all the good ones! Life feels like it’s slow until you have kids and you then have a time stamp that you get reminded about all the time so you realise how fast time goes. I’m slowly learning to sit back and appreciate it.

It's great to be able to sit back and appreciate it. I'm currently caught in the middle of time flying past still and time seeming to be almost stationary. Study and travel is keeping my time checks moving forward though

Great story mate, I can't imagine the shock of discovering you were about to be the father of 2 rather than a father of one.

Looking forward to the next instalment.

Yeah it was a huge shock and didn’t sink in until they arrived. Everyone says double trouble but it’s double the awesomeness.

Congratulations, how wonderful. Now you've got twice the joy!

Absolutely! Twice the work but certainly twice the reward. Do you have any of your own?

Just the one daughter, although we might have another one some time! Hopefully

I’m only 8 months into my my apprenticeship in raising a daughter. She’s been pretty good so far! Hopefully she stays like this!

Truly one of the greatest wonders of life @lowf1ux. Looking forward to when I get to experience that chapter of life.

Its absolutely the hardest thing you'll do in your life & You'll never be 'ready', but an amazing journey.


Congratulations! You were nominated for a TROPHY TOKEN award HERE by @mazzle. Please reply your Bitshares address to receive your reward! You can also contact us on Discord @Trophy-Token. Thank you for being a great Steemian!
trophy4.png
Congrats btw :)