HOME GROWN

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

Tonight as I look at the sky, I wonder how things will be tomorrow night.

I am a thousand miles away from my motherland, yet surprisingly I felt closer than ever before. This past month, I have thought and talked about my dearest country more than I have ever done in the past years. If I am physically there, tomorrow will mark the first time I exercise my right to vote and be a part of the decision of the future path of my country.

Browsing through the social media, I can't help but notice all the ugly fights, and immature remarks by those who are fighting to be elected to rule the country nor loyal supporters. I guess these attitudes have always given a bad impression to politics in general. Well, since I am unfamiliar with the working system, I am holding myself from discussing it. What I feel like writing about tonight is about the man who had played a huge part in the political system in the country.

I have never met him in person yet somehow he felt like a family. I still can vividly recollect the night I heard the news of his demise. We were in our routine gathering circle reciting prayers and enjoying the 'sharing moment'. As we finished, messages flooded in my inbox. I read the news of his passing with a denial. I remember searching through various websites for confirmation, but as I looked up, I saw the brimming tears in the eyes of my friends, and at that instant, I knew there was no faux in the news. There was a complete silence for a brief time as all of us sit quietly processing the message. A lot of us never knew him personally yet our heart was heavy and silent sobs were echoing along the corridor.
The pain and sadness each of us felt can't be forced. Being loved and sincerely respected is by itself a great blessing from God.

I came across a number of beautiful piece of writing about him after his passing, but one that I can't forget till now is the article by Ustaz Hasrizal, in which he quoted him as saying"....Maka beristighfarlah atas istighfar yang cacat itu." translated as ask forgiveness from God for your imperfect act of asking for forgiveness.

This piece of advice that is useful for all time may come especially needed at this crucial time. All the best for those of you voting tomorrow to save our beloved Malaysia. Live in present but vote for future. What you decide today, can come as a celebration or haunt you in future. Decide wisely and be proud to exercise your voting rights.

Towards a better Malaysia.

56970103-149d-458c-83c4-73926da1c02c.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @amirah! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @amirah! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!