How to quit smoking (using only your mind)!!!

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

woman smoking 2.jpg

Hi Steemians, I'm new here and was introduced to this awesome platform by my good buddy Maverick Foo (who’s an awesome writer by the way, checkout his posts) and thought that my very first post here would kinda be a public service one about quitting smoking.

I was a smoker for about 30 years until I quit about 3 years ago. Started cos I was really nerdy then (still am, ask my kids) and I wanted to change my image so that I would look cool and be a badass.

Oh, how life’s one big irony cos in my later years as a smoker I would feel sheepish and kinda foolish and definitely not cool or badass when smoking at designated smoking areas cos the folks that walk by would give me that pitiful look, that I can’t help myself, that I’m doomed to a life of tobacco addiction. (Nod, if you’ve ever felt a bit of that)

cigar.jpg

That was reason enough for me decide to quit smoking, that and other reasons like smoker’s breath, crappy health, family concerns, feeling anxious every time there’s a long journey ahead and knowing that you can’t smoke on that journey and the list goes on.

As a result, I attempted to quit a total of 5 times! (I know some of you folks out there can relate as well), with the 5th time finally succeeding in quitting for good.

• Why did the 5th time work?
• Why did the previous attempts fail?
• What changed?

Well, in a nutshell, Mindset.
I was in a spiritual seminar, which had nothing to do with quitting smokes (I’d say I'm spiritual but not particularly religious although I’m a Catholic. Ironically that sounded almost like a confession in itself, LOL). This seminar saw me embark on a journey within. A journey of self-discovery.

I found out in that journey, what love truly means when I discovered the true meaning of self-love. I was in denial all along, outwardly projecting an image of a confident person but inwardly constantly questioning my own self-worth.

Loving oneself means acknowledging that one is truly worth it and that it’s OK to be flawed. How others perceive us has got nothing to do with our own perception of self. What others think of us is not our reality.
What we think is our own reality. Therefore, our own love for ourselves is the most precious of all. No matter how much anyone loves us, we can only love them back as much as we love ourselves.

And by fully embracing this philosophy, I became aware that I didn’t need to smoke to feel good.

That feeling good is a conscious state of mind. Our perception of our own life is what matters the most. If we consciously perceive our life to be good, it will be good, and when bad things do happen, we will still be able to find good in them as well, as long as we perceive life to be good.

achieve.jpg

What about the previous 4 failed attempts to quit smoking?
On those attempts, I had expected to experience withdrawal symptoms and irritability. True enough, I did experience all of that and more.

It was because I expected it, perceived it and embraced it as reality, even though they were successful attempts at denial, they didn’t last because I would still crave a smoke occasionally and would find it difficult to be around smokers, especially in a bar.

This was a ‘Denial Mindset’. I was denying myself something that I craved for, to pursue a greater good.
Carl Jung was spot on when he said, “What you resist not only persists, but will grow in size.”

brain.jpg

Now we can rise above that by changing our mindset to one of love, to consciously truly love ourselves and accept that we’re worth it, that we’re really good enough.

That we don’t need to smoke because we’re already feeling good!

That we’re NOT denying ourselves, instead we’re making a conscious choice to understand that we’re already infinitely blessed.

Sort:  

Hello

Welcome to Steem @colemanchin I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks so much and I have followed you

Hey @colemanchin ,
awesome post! You should be proud of yourself for what you achieved! Quitting smoking isn't always easy, but as you said with the right mindset you can achieve everything!
Leaving you with a follow and resteem! Have a great day!

Hey @pokedude,
Thanks for the awesome affirmation. Leaving you with a follow too mate.

Hahahahaha... hi to you too mate

Welcome to Steemit! I'm glad to see you getting involved here and joining in. I hope your experience here is pleasant!

Hi there, thanks for the warm welcome. Yes, I'm sure it'll be very pleasant indeed.

You made the right choice. The community including myself welcome you. Im not a smoker so this might not be applicable to me but rather i will share this to my friends whos aiming to quit smoking. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Hi there, thanks for the kind words and sharing. Will sign out with a follow. Cheers

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @colemanchin to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

welcome to steemit I follow you & Upvote
follow me for Luxury Quotes

sipkkctvu269.jpg

Hi there, thanks for the warm welcome. Signing out with a follow.

Behold the power of the mind!

Mav, you know it brother.

Welcome to Steemit, @colemanchin. Well written and informative post, good to know that by just loving yourself you gave up smoking. That is a strong determination.

Thank you @firepower. Awesome to be here and will sign out with a follow.

You are welcome, dear. :)

hello .. welcome to the community ... follow me, vote for my post and I will do the same with you.

Hi there, happy to be here. Following you now mate

Congratulations @colemanchin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit
Friends around mostly had quit smoking after smoking for 20 years. Myself still a smoker, but I am planning to kick this habit very soon.

Hi @larryphang,
I'm glad you're planning to kick the habit and very soon at that. The universe will be on your side once you're committed. All the best mate

Hello @colemanchin, I hope you are enjoying Steemit!

This is a great place with a great community -- glad to have you around!
follow @gauravgpt60 for future steemit instructions to get much better results.

Hi there. Thanks for the warm welcome. Yes, totally enjoying the platform mate.