Finding your voice

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

Do you have the fear of speaking in front of a crowd? Imagine your boss call out your name and ask you to share about the recent training you just attended. Would you freeze or deliver what you have learned confidently?

I remembered my first time facing the crowd, my sweaty and cold palms gave me the chills, words or rather sound that came out from my mouth didn't make any sense. The time tick away sloooowly. I was a nervous wreck.

I have been involve in toastmaster club since 1997 but it was an on and off relationship due to work commitment . About two years ago, I rejoin with a clear goal in mind. At first, after years of avoiding stage time, I was really rusty when I was invited to give a two minute impromptu speech about a random selected topic. I was horrible and knew I needed to do a lot of cutting and polishing. Cutting my repetitive words, long pauses and filler sounds. And polishing my thought process so I can quickly organise my thoughts before speaking it out. In the club meeting, we have the impromptu speaking session call table topic which will give you the opportunity to speak off the cuff. In the club, its a place where you can deliver your speeches without any fear of being ridicule. We are there to support, encourage through positive and constructive evaluation.

27073236_10156040790337505_3383162867469147186_n.jpg

If you want to know more about how this club can assist you to find your voice and how it can polish your communication skills , check it out here at Toastmasters. You can also follow on the Labuan toastmaster activities at their facebook

27072451_10156040838222505_3844992463059383140_n.jpg

I remembered a quote by Jim Rohn who said this following words:-

quote-you-can-t-hire-someone-else-to-do-your-push-ups-for-you-jim-rohn-55-63-12.jpg

Personally it means to me is that , to overcome your speaking fear you cannot just get someone to teach you but you have to do it. Standing up front and breakthrough your fear. Only then you can improve.

Photo_1516251525645.png

Sort:  

I remembered back then when I join public speaking course at Uitm... It was a random call but now I'm thankful I made the choice, it's benefit me a lot! great content @diamondray

Hope you are still inspiring people with your skills.

Had always in mind to join the Toastmasters. To know that needed to speak up in the topic table, nerves win me over.

Hey mate, i've just joined toastmaster club too. Just submitted the bank in slip to them today. hahaha

congrats for taking the step to new adventure.

Thanks for sharing. I've always had fear of public speaking my whole life!

Make 2018 your breakthrough year.

i used to think toast master was selling toast.... like breadtalk .

Thanks the intro anyway

We give toast with our water. :)