Diaries of an iceskater mom.....#5.. Not of ice but of wind and rain.

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

Alright, at this juncture, I have to confess that my life isn't only about ice skating. Amongst the few ( yes, I am boring) other passions that I have, 2 in particular stand .....errr..a better word would be jump out....My school and my step classes... in no particular order.
So this time, I shall talk about my school ( my beloved Alma mater , St Mary's) or rather what happened there yesterday. I spent all my Primary and Secondary school days there so naturally I have very fond memories of the school. Being the good Alumnus that I am ( ahem!), naturally I heeded the call to serve a few years ago when help was needed. Aptly enough, our motto was ' I Server' , so with my nest almost empty at that time, ( actually I was more kaypoh la), I signed up.

And .... to cut a long story short, I was involved in a project which has a few of us Alumni going back to the school once a week to conduct English sessions with the girls, in the hopes of raising their level of English.

So..... yesterday, when I reached the school, immediately I noticed some girls busy decorating kolams in the foyer. Since it was just when school has ended, there were a lot of girls and traffic was heavy. I made a mental note to come down and take photos after our English session.

The session was uneventful and everyone was having fun. Then the storm started....no big deal, until the ceiling panels started shifting ! And rain was sloshing into the class despite the closed doors. Looked outside the window and saw tents in a field across the main highway all blown off and collapsed. Then water started to leak from the ceiling ! In sheer desperation,, we put the waste paper basket under the leak! We panicked a bit at this point, then decided to continue bcos there was nothing we could do about it.

We wrapped up as soon as the storm died out, hoping to get the girls home as soon as possible. As we were locking up the room, the HM came and requested us to go and judge the kolam making competition. Apparently the storm had done some minor damage to the kolams and the girls were desperately trying to shelter their masterpieces with their bodies ! So nstead of leaving the judging to the next day, which was the original plan, she wanted it to be done now to avoid any further damage.

The kolams were amaaaaazing ! All done by Third Formers . I had such a hard time giving marks to each. The theme was 60th celebration of Independence and the slogan was NegaraKu Sehati Sejiwa. All possible Malaysian icons were represented, including Rimau... the SEA Games mascot !

Which would you choose?

I am so proud of the fact that these girls took so much pride in their work that they will defend it to death !! In my eyes, they are all winners.

Proud to be a St Marian.
I Serve
(Some photos and video credit to Puan Chee and Eunice Yeo.)
Footnote - The storm wrecked havoc on the school and trees fell. They are now in the midst of organising a gotong royong to clean up the damage.

Sort:  

i will never skip onther post from you

nice a lot of activities

Walao eh.... the kolams so nice...

@iceskatermom not only are you a dedicated mom but also a dedicated alumna. It is an honor serving with you. I Serve!

Congratulations @iceskatermom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I agree with you.. it's super hard to choose which is the winning kolam... all are winners!