I fell from my wheelchair

It's been some time since I last wrote, so it's good to be back. However, I've got some bad news to share. A little over 2 weeks ago (I know, it took some time before I decided to write about it), I fell down from my wheelchair and injured myself.

It happened while I was travelling from the Taman Bahagia LRT station to my sister’s house to have dinner with my mum and sisters. It rained heavily a little earlier and by the time I was heading over, it was just drizzling. There was a puddle of water that stretched the length of the whole entrance so I really couldn’t avoid it. What I didn’t realise was that there was a deep hole and because my grip was a little slippery from the rain, I couldn’t really do a wheelie as I usually would to go over it and my front wheels got caught in the hole. I fell and landed on my knees and I felt a snap.

I was in a lot of pain and was really convinced that I broke my leg. It swelled up immediately. I checked for any major displacement of the bone and was glad that it didn’t look like my leg went off the usual shape. A couple of “strangers” came immediately to my help and called for an ambulance. Then I heard the guy on the phone with the hospital mentioning my name. Apparently the two guys were from TAR UC where I used to study as well and we’ve met in a couple of occasions.

The ambulance arrived shortly after to bring me to the hospital. Cutting the long story short, the doctors did an X-ray for my leg and to my surprise there wasn’t a fracture. They suspected that it was a ligament injury that is causing the pain and swelling. I’m still not sure how a ligament injury could have happened instead of a fracture as I fell directly on my knees without any sort of twisting, but I’m really grateful that there wasn’t any broken bones. Things could have gone much worse.

Slightly over 2 weeks now since the fall and I’m still recovering. I still can’t bend my knees fully so training in my racing chair is out of the question. I’ll be getting back to the gym very soon to start my training again but will need to make some adjustments since it still hurts. However disappointing it felt that I lost some progress in my training because of the injury, I’m determined to get back up stronger than before.

I was worried I’d disappoint everyone who have supported me but so many people have been nothing short of amazing with the love you’ve shown me. I will do my best to recover and train again for the Paralympic dream. Thank you all for supporting me still in my journey!

Sort:  

I hope you heal quicky and let us know how you're going!

Thank you! Will keep you all updated here on Steemit :)

Hope you will be ok bro! Wishing you a speedy recovery. I believe you didn't disappoint anybody, you inspire us all with your spirit! Stay strong.

Thank you! Will continue to do my best. Really appreciate the support!

Wishing you a speedy recovery @pushtoinspire

thank you!! Really appreciate it :)

I am so sorry hear about your fall. Praying that you heal and get back to training asap! Upvoted and resteemed! Take care!

Congratulations @pushtoinspire! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @pushtoinspire! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!