Witness Update - Hive Blockchain UK Northern Meet up June 18th 2022

in #teamuk2 years ago

DA1967D3-AE48-47EE-B04E-AD29EDB324E4.jpeg

September 2020 Hive UK Northern Meet up including above right to left @stevenwood me @c0ff33a @slobberchops and @shanibeer

While it was by no means the best time to organise a meet up with the Covid Pandemic starting it's long term grasp on the world, in September 2020 we did manage to get a small group of Hive users together to discuss the Blockchain and how we could help to progress it's development. During the summer of 2020 UK restrictions lifted a little which made it possible, but thanks to new Variants and increased infection rates just a few weeks before the event the UK limited meeting of people to 6 (The Rule of 6) and this ended up with many people who would have attended cancelling. And so we had an event with just the right number, and it worked out as a very fun and educational day.

244B43B9-7956-40A1-B0BC-4733D7533764.jpeg

Pictured above @nathanmars next to me who got the train from London just for the day - what a legend!

In addition to the above @shmoogleosukami also attended and it turned out to be a really enjoyable event - meeting people in person that you converse with regularly online makes this platform much more real - and everyone had their own thoughts and opinions on the progress of Hive.

image0 (1).jpeg

I had a live stream running as well, and that proved to be very entertaining for anyone not able to attend - the memes were flying out in the Brits UK discord channel.

I had planned to repeat the event in 2021, but with Covid continuing to make meet up awkward and an ever increasing workload the idea remained firmly at the back of my mind and nobody got in touch to enquire so it ended up just passing by.

unknown (1).jpeg

Fast forward to the present, and last week the office asked if I would take a call from someone representing Hive. I have to admit, the penny did not initially drop we get a ludicrous number of spam calls per day - people trying to sell stuff, the usual utilities or rates rebates rubbish - fortunately we can mark numbers in our phone system so we filter a lot - but some are canny and use mobile numbers or with held numbers. I even had an old con resurface a few weeks back, where someone calls claiming to be from "The Police" (that is law enforcement not the now very aged music group) and of course they get through to the decision maker based on that claim. Then runs a very clever worded introduction where they thank the business owner for supporting "The Police" with a charity donation and would I agree to them sending a certificate to prove it. Here comes the con, if you agree what they actually send you is an invoice for the donation - could be £250 or more - and because you verbally agreed to receiving "something" they can press to make you pay it. Ultimately if you pay they will donate a tiny percentage of that to "The Police" and cream off the rest themselves. Anyway I was well wise to that con and told him no thank you I needed nothing sending and put the phone down - marking yet another number as "Nuisance" to add to the thousands.

Anyway I digress, taking the call expecting it to be something work related - it turned out to be @shanibeer wishing to ask if I would be open to idea of hosting another Hive UK Northern Meet Up event. It turns out while I have been busy roasting and shipping coffee across the country, many Hive UK members have been showing an interest in a meet up this year - this lead to looking at venues but the options are quite limited.

IMG_6873.jpeg

And so I popped up as the best option because I do have quite a large open space for people to meet in, plus a meet up is always going to get more attendees if it is free - and I am more then happy to provide the space for the event totally free.

Thanks to the continued support of my @c0ff33a Witness - the earnings from which go towards the cost of my multiple back up Witness Servers, @whiterosecoffee Witness and also the full API node I run - I am able to include in what will be a free to join day the following for anyone who wishes to come on Saturday 18th June.

Free to attend
Paid parking all around near by, but I will try and organise some free parking too.
Hot and cold drinks on demand, coffee of course, tea, hot chocolate, range of soft drinks and something for the non drivers if needed.
Cold buffet sourced from a local business to include sandwiches, savoury nibbles, fruit etc.
There will be computers on guest accounts for use, or bring your own devices and use my WiFi or ethernet if you wish a router will be available to plug into.

Free to enter, free refreshments all provided by the Hive Blockchain - you can't really find a reason not to attend if you can get to HX1 5AY on the 18th June (That's Halifax a small town just off the M62 between Leeds and Manchester)

A796D453-E41B-4B17-97F4-0B50E953AC20.jpeg

Just a few examples of the food provided at the last meet up, expect similar. All I have asked is that @shanibeer works out a way to book who is going to attend - ideally I just need numbers of people so I can get the correct proportion of food and drink arranged - it's not an absolute commitment we had quite a few drop outs at the last event but the left over food did not go to waste - what we did not use for my family got handed out to elderly neighbours and people we know local to us can always use an extra bit to feed hungry mouths.

brazil.jpeg

I found a picture with @shmoogleosukami in - live stream will run again on twitch, I am planning on having multiple computers running including some gaming rigs if anyone fancies taking a break.

Look out for more information on how to register your interest in attending, and free up Saturday 18th June to attend Hive UK Northern Meet Up 2022!

Active HIVE Witness alongside @derangedvisions, if you appreciate the effort and work we put into the HIVE blockchain please consider giving us a Witness vote.

We run five Hive servers, two Witness Servers, Hivemind Instance, Full Account History Node, FAT Node
https://api.c0ff33a.uk our full API server to use with your dapps and front end
https://hiveblog.c0ff33a.uk Our own condenser front end, exclusively using our own API server to access the Hive Blockchain. For the best experience use on Brave Browser with Hive Keychain plugin.

Proud sponsor with @derangedcontests of @lucksacks.com , free to play and cash out HIVE rewards, head to Lucksacks Website now and start playing.

Visit #brits Discord Channel Join #teamuk and make your posts easily found, post with the tag or create a post in teamuk community so your fellow Brits can easily find and support your work. Let's work together to make #hiveuk an active community on the Hive Blockchain. #teamuk tag and Brits discord is exclusively for use by United Kingdom Hive accounts or ex pats living abroad

#teamuk tag is followed and actively upvoted by @teamuksupport

I distribute coffee roasting machines and also espresso coffee machines and roast my own Speciality Coffee Range. being one of the premium coffee suppliers Yorkshire including a wide range of filter coffee sachets. Finally I have a dedicated website to my Artisan small batch roasted coffee featuring roast and post packs and super easy coffee subscriptions.

Become a White Rose Coffee Roasters affiliate and earn a percentage of the sales you bring in for sharing your affiliate page links Become A White Rose Coffee Roasters Affiliate now payout available via Pay Pal or HIVE based on the current exchange rate.

Catch me live and unleashed every week on @threespeak with my c0ff33 vlogs

created by @derangedvisions

Sort:  

Thank you so much for hosting @c0ff33a.
People can book their place here. We already have a number of bookings 😊.

Hi Shani, I've booked my ticket gonna take the ride. If anyone is worried about putting your name or phone number in the invite page don't panic. I just put molo in first name place and meter in second name place. I got the idea from
@slobberchops and in phone number field just stick two numbers and it will work. I put 00 lol

Hi @molometer, great to know you are on your way.

The phone number is so I can let you know if there is a change on the day - building struck by lightning or similar ...

Whoops lol sorry Shani. After reading about @c0ff33a experiences with pest phone calls.

It reminded me why I don't give out my phone number to anyone. Nothing personal I just keep it private.

That's cool. All information is kept confidentially and only used for managing the event.

Be good to see you 😍

It'll be great to see you too. We have a lot to chat about.👨‍💻👍

I'd love to be there, but I'll have to see if it's viable as it's a pretty long drive. Maybe some of us southerners could get together to come up. Anyway, I hope a few can make it. You may have seen that the #Britlist keeps expanding, so there are more Hivers about. I will mention the meetup in my next list post.

Car-sharing or a minibus would be a great idea!
If you could include the booking link, too, in the next Britlist post, that would be lovely 😍.

Dam meet ups are awesome. Wish you weren’t across the pond, or I’d be there for sure.
Our Vegas meet up was fantastic, would love to meet more community people.
Keep us updated.

Maybe a future trip? 😍

thank you sir @stevenwood , @c0ff33a , @slobberchops , @shanibeer who has developed this Blockchain perfectly, it is very useful for many people. Today I saw Mr @c0ff33a very handsome wearing that uniform. It was incredible.

Hi @c0ff33a,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I think there might be more than last time, but as ever.. UK get together's are hardly busy. Should be good.

So nice to see you guys meet up, I know you and slobberchops by face but nathanmars finally I got a face to his name.

sounds like a great offer
if only I was anywhere near :p
you guys are looking good. and doing great 👏

On my list of places to get to. Already committed to attending Bonnaroo this year but next summer? Gonna take a mini tour of Europe and say hi to peoples.

While I couldn't be there (well, to be honest, I'm not in the same hemisphere as you, so let's be blunt, it was never going to happen) - I'm glad to see the extra shennanigans that occur around the blockchain. The sense of community here is really wonderful. Tim

Oh I am totally jealous! Well if I hit the lottery AND this Covid thing ever goes away, I will make it a point on my bucket list to come meet some of my favorite Brits! I am looking forward to watching some of the stream!