You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's time to resume my Postcard Experiment on Hive

in #teamuklast year

What a great idea! Several years ago I took part in an interesting chain. A journal was being sent around the world. We'd receive it, write a bit about our country/city (adopted one in my case) and then send it out. I think it was a school project for a young girl in the States but I don't remember exactly. A cool idea anyway.

I am a fountain pen user and exchanging letters is a common thing in the fountain pen community (I think the idea is just to have an excuse to use their expensive pens and inks) so I've gotten letters from all over the world before. Kind of cool.

I don't know if Japan's postal service is still messed up or not. During the worst of covid mail from outside the country wasn't being delivered reliably, and even after it was still a mess for a while. Let me check on that.

You write till March till you leave Taiwan. So you are only in Taiwan temporarily?

Sort:  

The journal idea is really cool, though if it's around the world it's a really slow project!! Actually it's a bit like the Hive Torch we had previously, did that come around to you?

We don't get many opportunities to write anything nowadays, let alone using a fountain pen! My Christmas card list is dwindling every year ☹️ Which is why I figured this would be a nice experiment to do a few years ago when I was still in Taiwan. Then I had to leave and only returned recently, and now I want to give the experiment a proper closure before I leave again next month. (Yes, temporary stay only to wrap things up)

I think the mail has go better now, at least in UK, I even manage to send two parcels to Ukraine last year, but for some reason, the post to Ukraine is still not available from Taiwan yet. Hopefully it's only due to the war, and other countries aren't affected.