Tips Tips Tips - My little suggestion for Hive platforms...

in #teamuklast year (edited)

Good Morning All

I wanted to go back one month, back to my first introduction post. My dear friend and Hive onboarding mentor @awah told me to write a post introducing myself whilst using the introduction hashtag, so far so good. Receiving the first upvotes was great, whilst also seeing some of the first encouraging comments.

But then I see a comment saying !PIZZA. With my developer background I of course read that as "No Pizza", and I was there wondering - "What is this?". Was @awah's account hacked? Was this some sort of cryptic / secret code? A quick what's app message and I got reminded about Hive Tips! Aha, now that makes sense.

Since then, I think I understand a little more about Hive tips and the various elements that I list below. I've also bought/staked the minimum amount of WINE and PIZZA tokens. If I'm not mistaken I believe you need 25 staked Wine or 20 Pizza tokens to be able to tip. As a newbie, I was not sure how to even buy them, until I was told about Hive-Engine

The best thing about the Pizza token is that you get the Pizza badge on your profile! Great, then I was happy 😁

So now that I've set myself up, I was able to tip people accordingly. I must admit that my first attempt at tipping had failed, as I did not have the required amount of staked tokens. #learning

But then upon using tips I started noticing all of "screen space" being used by the tipping tokens themselves. You can see the Pizza comment below; some of the other tips take a bigger amount of screen estate.

I did read on a separate thread that someone has muted these tipping agents. I don't know how that is done, but surely that's not the right solution??

I keep thinking if it's perhaps better for the platforms (@peakd , @ecency , #leofinance ?) if they can integrate such tips better in their UI. Perhaps one can suggest showing an aggregation of the tips at the bottom of the post itself. I do fully understand that the visual element is also "marketing" for the tipping token itself so it's marketing is important, but I am not convinced that taking estate from the comments section is the right way to do it. Not sure about you, but I find that "tip posts" break the flow of the conversation.

What do you guys think?

cc: @pizzabot @wine.bot @ecency @peakd

Sort:  

Hi @jgiordi,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Cool, love reading the stuff you find out.. better you than me.. 😄

I agree with you, some of the comments are pretty bulky and take up a lot of space.
Maybe they can just be reduced in size, maybe only show the banner and/or the top lines the rest is hidden until you click on it.
That might tidy things up and keeps all parties happy..

Yes, I think from a user experience it's better if they just show a single logo (once) - perhaps with a counter of how many tips. Regarding the mute button, I had only read about it somwehere else. I guess, as you say, the only option is to mute the token account itself, but surely that's cumbersome and slightly unfair on the token. I think with some focus on design the tips can be embedded nicely in the conversation.

Yes and I'm sure some people have already thought about this, but maybe they just have more pressing issues to sort.
There are a few things that could be better, but most are probably somewhere on a wishlist for now. 🤷

I forgot to say: I wonder if you mean this option re "muting":

image.png

They should appear on this list on your profile:

image.png

Congratulations @jgiordi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the April edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!