You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Technology] Google Fuchsia - Android's Possible Replacement

in #technology6 years ago

After reading the wiki I think a good possibility for this OS is in VR/AR due to the "Flutter" software and Vulcan graphics mentioned in the wiki. There are a lot of hardware devices from various companies and small projects - having a unified OS would probably speed development and adoption. I'm a fan of innovation but Google already has too much ownership of the datascape I would prefer to see it in smaller hands but I realize too smaller groups probably do not have the funds to sustain a long term project. Welp at least it's on GitHub and they're trying to be not-evil for now.

Sort:  

I haven't rummaged through the wiki yet, that sounds interesting. Fragmentation is a real problem for Android, and it just doesn't really interact with ChromeOS well.
At least this project is Open-Source, so anyone else can pick it up and go with it. I wonder how they're gonna prevent fragmentation though.