We are addicted to technology

in #technology5 years ago
Source

It's 6 a.m. as I'm writing this, and I've probably slept for 3 hours tonight. Not only have I gone to bed late at night, but I also slept poorly. Why? Because I've been watching Youtube videos. Would there be no such thing as Youtube, internet or personal computer, I probably would not have had this issue.

But I'm not blaming technology for my problems of self-discipline, which I have been struggling with for as long as I can remember. Quite on the contrary, technology has made our lives much easier. Instead of hand washing clothes, we have washing machines, dishwashers take care of our dishes, television, computer and smartphone entertain us and the internet provides us with useful information. It gives us a chance to earn money, connect with people like never before and pay our bills without lifting a finger.

Source

So what is the problem then?

We have become addicted to all the technology around us. We like to convince ourselves that we are not addicted, that we always have something important to do on our computers and smartphones, but imagine if you had to get rid of all of the technology. There would be chaos. And you would probably be bored to death too.

The problem isn't only in using all this technology that we have available and relying on it completely, but also in the creationg of new ideas and technologies that will make our lives even easier. When will it be enough? Will it ever be enough? What would it take for people to say that we went too far and technology is no longer beneficial to us?

Source: Pixar Animation Studios

Who is at fault?

I think we, human beings, are at fault of this, for rather than spending quality time with our friends and family, reading, exercising and developing useful hobbies, we spend our time online watching cat videos, which are a complete waste of time.

I can already hear you say »but cat videos make me happy and they relax me after a long, hard day«. While taking a break is definitely a good thing, instant gratification is another problem we have. Rather than giving up temporary happiness which doesn't last and work on something that will benefit us long term, we give ourselves over to easy tasks that make us happy temporarily. We don't think about what consequesnces that might have.

This reminds me of the animation film called Wall-E, I believe we might really turn out like the people in the film. In fact, we might be raising that generation at this moment.

Source

Don't believe me?

If technology is so amazing, innocent and without any drawbacks, then why do some of the most influental people avoid it, especially when it comes to their kids?

Prince William and Kate Middleton are known to have banned iPads in their home and prefer to raise their kids the »old-fashioned« way. Letting them play outside, read, exercise and develop their imagination. Which I adrmire greatly.

Of course it is easy to just give your child an iPad and let them watch cartoons or play games and be left to do your work in peace, but I think it would be important for every parent to consider, whether technology is a good or bad thing in their opinion and whether or not they are going to allow their kids such devices. Think about back in the days when we didn't have all this technology, how were we raised? Did we have a bad childhood only because we didn't have smartphones? I shall leave you with this thought.

Sort:  

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

I don't think we are to blame for our addiction to technology entirely. Social media platforms are addictive by design.

I feel that there is snippets of information on the web. Everyone is getting a small piece of the picture, but not necessarily getting holistic view of things. Like when you read a book on a particular topic you spend time with it. You spend countless hours going down the rabbit hole trying to fully grasp with your intellect what the book is all about. This is a very rewarding process. There is an education method that has been replaced with outcome based education. It is called Trivium method.

All knowledge starts with identifying the definitions. We gather information by gathering all the WHAT about a topic. We look at all the components of knowledge. Say you are mechanic. You would gather all the tools responsible for the repairing of car. You would understand what each tool does. This step is very important. Yet people skip this step of figuring out WHAT a thing is. They jump straight to the next step.

PROCESSING is the next step. Information needs to be processed and made sense logically. How does the tools used work with each other. What are the steps needed to perform a certain action. This step of Trivium is known as the WHY of how things work.

The third and final step is Output. This is communicating and or actually doing what you have learned from processing.
Without understanding Trivium people are just robots. They will do what their instincts tell them to do. Perhaps they are thinking what actions they are doing is creating some form of benefit. Yet what they post is a collection of what they are thinking. Their thoughts are being processed by the social media platform. How ironic my thoughts are being processed by steemit as we speak...
If people knew how to think with Trivium then they would be able to be more responsible with their time and energy.

Certainly not entirely, and I agree that social media is designed in such a way that it is very addictive, but it is important that each individual realizes the time s/he spends on social media and other platforms and how much time s/he dedicates to other types of technology and think about whether or not that is a healthy amount for them and if they think they're addicted and it affects them in a negative way, that they know to change it and limit their exposure to it.

Congratulations @dame! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I have the exact same issue. I sleep with youtube on at nights and at times, I find myself handicapped having something playing on my phone the whole time.

I have however included a couple on positive habits into my life which I hope they become a lifestyle. I am looking forward to the days where I sleep 10pm at night and wake up at 5am. that would change everything.

That's very admiring, I'm slowly working on waking up earlier every day too. Positive habits definitely stick once you do them consistently, the problem is sticking with them for the first two months.