2016 MacBook Pro with Touchbar Review: After a year of use

in #technology7 years ago

Hi everyone, I'm Jason. I am currently a student, finishing up my last year of Computer Science and Business. After a year of use, I decided to do a review on my 2016 MacBook Pro 15in with touchbar. I was mainly a PC user before this macbook. The main function I currently use it for are programming Android, Java-based desktop apps, and currently learning Alexa voice. So with that out the way let's get started (All the pictures are mine).

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 11.47.13 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 11.48.15 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 11.47.55 AM.png

Here are the specs:
Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 11.49.17 AM.png

PROS:
-Aesthetically pleasing, this is definitely one of the best-looking laptops in the market.

-The build is quality, just by the feel and the weight of the laptop you can tell it is one of the best build hardware out today.

-Performace, everything works smoothly. Usually, when compiling Android Studio most of my friends with other laptops have to download Genymotion(Android emulator) because their Android Studio is so slow. Not the problem for me.

-Retina screen, even when you take it outside on a sunny day you still can see clearly. Although the resolution is the same as the previous model, the brightness and contrast way out performs.

-Synchronization, how everything is connected to another. Coming from PC, I never knew how everything was linked. I can text through my MacBook, I can move photos with ease through the Photos App.

-TouchID, just makes life easier. For purchases and logins, it makes the process faster. Makes it super easy to secure your files.

-Trackpad is very spacious, it allows the user to move around their screen without lifting their hand when moving corner to corner.

-Fewer OS updates, freezes, errors compared with my PC.

CONS:
-TouchBars function is limited. Instead of having the option to put what you think is useful you can only select from a pre-set list. I don't use the TouchBar much, except for the ESC and to adjust the brightness levels.

-Learning curve, coming from PC I had some old habits of keyboard shortcuts and learning to navigate.

-Only USB-C ports. Not much of a problem for me, I bought a Kingston MicroDuo 32GB, it has a USB-C on one side and a USB-A on the other. This is the only thing I carry around, when on the move. Kingston Digital 32GB Data Traveler Micro Duo USB 3C Flash Drive (DTDUO3C/32GB)

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 11.47.44 AM.png

Overall I really like the new Macbook Pro. It really surprised me coming from PC, since all the PC users who never had one bash on it. If you have an iPhone the laptop really works in unison. The Battery life is not bad it provides me around 6/7 hours when casually browsing, and around 3/4 hours when programming. The only thing I carry around is a Kingston USB(linked above) when commuting to school and I don't have any other extensions; some people really blew it out of proportion lol. Should you buy one? I think that question is up to you. You can of course, buy another laptop to get the job done, but you are paying the luxury price, for a luxury brand. If you have been looking into one for a while and if you can justify the price, I say go for it.

P.S. There are student discounts Apple offers, I believe it was around $200 for mine.

Sort:  

This post received a 3.8% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @imjason! For more information, click here!