The Future of Technology - A Look Into a World With Artificial Intelligence

in #technology6 years ago

https_%2F%2Fblueprint-api-production.s3.amazonaws.com%2Fuploads%2Fcard%2Fimage%2F566989%2Fd5a97a95-c4ab-40e2-840f-2c9bf1d0048a.jpg

If you ever have seen the movie iRobot with Will Smith, there must be a little part of you that's skeptical about the future of Artifical Intelligence (A.I.). It's no coincidence that when Stephen Hawking passed away he warned mankind that A.I. has the potential to destroy civilization.

There's no doubt the power behind A.I. is next age but as humans, we have the tendency to live in the present. We might not have a good visual understanding of what the world will be like in the year 2050 or 2100.

My job as a writer is to make sense of information and convey it to you in a way that paints a picture in your head. So let's cut to the chase and I hope you gain a vision, as I have, of our future world.

Steemit Thumbnail (8).png

Background Information

So before we can begin and get into the visuals, I first would like for you to have a firm understanding of A.I. and how it works. If you're already an expert then feel free to skip ahead but for those who are new, here is what A.I. is.

To put it very simply A.I. is a computer with learning capabilities. It can learn through experiences just like us humans do. In its computer code, it has the ability to try a new task and learn from it, repeat it again if successful or never repeat it again if it failed. This is the case with an A.I. programmed chess player. It makes a move based on its opponent move, if it fails, the algorithms in its code "train" the computer code to not make the same mistake twice or try new strategies.

The direct correlation between A.I and humans is data. Humans provide A.I. with data so A.I. can interpret it to find patterns, flaws, and optimize the process. The data we provide them with varies and different A.I. is required for different data processing.

A.I. Now and the Future

In our world today A.I. is being researched and developed like crazy!

Today just recently Tesla announced they will have a "KITT-like A.I. car." Not only does this go beyond the driverless cars but it means a great pathway for hand's free commuting and safer roads. In the future, this could mean A.I. has the ability to communicate with other A.I. allowing every car on the road to be in constant communication with each other. They will know how to best prevent accidents, know the quickest destination of anywhere in the world at any time, and also be able to transport people just by a passenger saying "Take me to _____."

The future of transportation is going to unreal. You could send your daughter to soccer practice in a car with no driver and have a drone with protective weaponry watch over as she commutes there. You could fly in a jet plane with no captain that will adjust to changing weather conditions and arrive on time.

If you see A.I. for what it is and then picture it on constant communication with other A.I. everywhere in our world then you begin to see the future.

You need to write a report or speech? Just speak freely and A.I. will sense your tone, emotion, words, and message to formulate a tailored base speech and report just for you.

This isn't just cool, however...

There can be drawbacks...

Labor jobs will be non-existent depending on the rate A.I. advances but definitely before 2100. Labor jobs will all be outsourced to A.I. and new jobs will be created in this new age centered around the next age after. Notice how we are beginning to create A.I. jobs. What's after that, space travel? I think so. Here's why...

What happens when our world is filled with A.I. Robots? We will have A.I. in submarines in oceans discovering new species and exploring new depths every day. We will have A.I. excavating ruins finding new pieces of history constantly. And most importantly we can have A.I. dig deeper into our earth than no human can, discovering new minerals and maybe even new elements.

We can send A.I. in space and learn data processes that aren't available to us now. We can send them to Mars to establish a human compatible colony for us without a human ever being on Mars. They can build us a habitable place to live and no human will need to have set foot on Mars to even begin with.

It's endless possibilities for this technology after it continues to be improved and advanced. This is the technology that will surpass the human intelligence in more areas than not (Yes I know humans will have emotions, etc.). Stephen Hawking's vision of potential destruction is indeed something to consider heavily knowing we are on the verge of creating machines more powerful than humans.

A.I. is great in its potential positive effects but it is no matter of playful technology. It's serious business and should be researched and developed as so.

Wrap Up

That's all I have on the topic today, I'd like to hear what you guys have to say on the topic. What is something you envision for the future? Let me know below, I'd love to read it!

Thanks for reading,

Isaac

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Haejin from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.