[Technology] Make Your Own Network-Wide AdBlocker

in #technology6 years ago (edited)


I'm sure like many of you, I absolutely fucking hate ads. I really do, and I block them in any way I can. I've always recommended UBlock and UBlock Origin to people when they ask about ad blockers, but I've come across a really interesting project which seeks to address the problem of advertisements completely. Introducing Pi-Hole, the Raspberry Pi powered network-wide ad blocker.

Your traditional ad blocker only usually works in a browser, but Pi-hole can also block ads on any device connected to your network including your mobile devices, or Smart TVs/dongles. It was designed to work with a Raspberry Pi, a small credit-card sized all-in-one computer, but will also work on many other Linux distributions and machines as well. It's lightweight enough to run great on a Raspberry Pi Zero W or even on one of the older models.

image.png

Installing it is easy if you're already familiar with Linux, it's just a case of running the following command in a terminal:

curl -sSL https://install.pi-hole.net | bash

...and you're good to go! There is also a lovely looking web interface, based upon AdminLTE. Plug the Pi (or your device of choice) into your router, and then there's a bit of tinkering with DNS servers to be done, but you can find the instructions for that over on GitHub.

This probably isn't a project for a first timer, but if anyone is interested, I'd love to do a makers series using Raspberry Pis and other small computing modules. There is just so much you can do with these little machines. I've already built a motion-activated security camera for the front of the house, media server, media renderer and now with network-wide ad blocking capabilities I feel like there's no stopping these pocket-sized computers.

You can also pair your new Pi-Hole with a VPN, and get ad blocking capabilities on the go for your mobile device. I'm yet to set mine up yet, but I've dug out an old Model B and plan to get it all hooked up this evening. Coupled with my Asus DSL-AC88U router, I'm quite happy with my little home setup now.


I hope you found this useful and/or interesting, and if you did don't forget to give this an upvote as your support is what drives this content. As always, make sure to tap that Follow button if you haven't already to stay up-to-date on all the latest Technology, Internet and Pop Cultures updates. If you need any help setting up Pi-Hole, get at me in the comments or come and join me over on Discord. Until next time guys, take it easy!


P.S. If you're new here, you might want to check out my Ultimate Beginner's Guide To Steemit, which covers everything you need to know to get started making money and meeting new people on Steemit.

If this post is older than 7 days, please support me by upvoting my latest post upvoteLatest post


Sources:

Block ads at home using Pi-Hole and a Raspberry Pi (https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/pi-hole-raspberry-pi/)

All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

Interesting post I just discovered it also and spoke about on my last post about the pi zero W.

But I do not agree with you it can be a project for a first timer. That is definitely straightforward.

Thank you, and welcome to Steemit!

By first timer I meant people unfamiliar with Linux/Raspberry Pi, asin it's probably best to familiarise yourself with the command line interface first. I'm also hesitant to recommend things like this to people just because I've had so many friends and family calling me to fix something they've broken!

I hit an issue with my router not allowing me to enter the pi as my only dns entry, which is bloody irritating considering it's a "top end" router. Probably just going to have to manually configure each device. At least installing the software is easy.

I had the same exact issue with my router. It's the ISP router so cannot complain. I have my own but it's EU plug and now I'm in US... too lazy to invest ;)

Normally I stick with the ISP issued ones, but decided to treat myself earlier this year... it's great, but sadly I can't pop custom firmware on it like its RT cousins because of the built in DSL modem. Ah well, live and learn!

You just planted 0.16 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 3941.65 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19212.69
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

PRICES HAVE CHANGED TO 0.150 and 0.151!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.150 or 0.151 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.30) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.37) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.45) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50 SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!