Sort:  

Thank you, and welcome to Steemit!

By first timer I meant people unfamiliar with Linux/Raspberry Pi, asin it's probably best to familiarise yourself with the command line interface first. I'm also hesitant to recommend things like this to people just because I've had so many friends and family calling me to fix something they've broken!

I hit an issue with my router not allowing me to enter the pi as my only dns entry, which is bloody irritating considering it's a "top end" router. Probably just going to have to manually configure each device. At least installing the software is easy.

I had the same exact issue with my router. It's the ISP router so cannot complain. I have my own but it's EU plug and now I'm in US... too lazy to invest ;)

Normally I stick with the ISP issued ones, but decided to treat myself earlier this year... it's great, but sadly I can't pop custom firmware on it like its RT cousins because of the built in DSL modem. Ah well, live and learn!