Technology Surpassed Human Interaction! - Will Blockchain Technology Make It Worse?

in #technology6 years ago

image.png

"I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction.
The world will have a generation of idiots."
(Albert Einstein)


While no one could ever really prove that Einstein spoke those words out aloud, it´s pretty obvious that they carry an important message. Technology will make human interaction disappear more and more as it evolves over time and unfortunately we came pretty far already...

Walking through the city you see so many people starring on their smartphone screens. It doesn´t matter whether they are sitting together with their friends to enjoy some lunch or coffee in the afternoon. Even couples, sitting face to face rather look into their smartphones than into each others eyes.

Whenever you walk through life with open eyes you´ll recognize that the world went through a sad change. Today I´m happy that I´ve grew up in a time that didn´t know about smartphones yet and that I just got to know this technology at the age of 19. Though the rapid change over the last few years makes me question...

Will Blockchain Technology Reduce Human Interaction even more?


Automated Payments, Safe Contracts, Information stored permanently and available to everyone publicly. Whatever sounds so amazing at first could bear a huge downside after all as all those further improvements in technology can interfere human interaction.

Are we entering a time in which we don´t even have to speak with the waiter at the restaurant anymore as it´s all done through technology? Will we just download a draft for a safe contract and sign it on a blockchain instead of sitting next to each other talking about it?

With all the freedom that the blockchain technology could bring to us it could as well after all be kind of a Trojan horse, ultimately capturing us in our own world. A world which doesn´t require us to interact with others anymore as it´s all on the blockchain.

That all being said, I´m amazed of the changes this new technology will bring to us but at the same time I´m scared of the consequences we might face, which are not obvious to us at the very moment. Smartphones started small once as well but today everyone is addicted to them and allows technology to cut themselves out of real life. Let´s hope the Blockchain technology won´t make it worse!

Let me hear your opinion!
I´d love to get to know what you think about this!

header divider.PNG

Follow @Buildteam!
A Crypto Startup Revolutionizing Steem!
image.png

Join ADSactly,
A Worldwide Crypto Society!
Make Sure To Vote For Those
Awesome Steem Witnesses!
image.png
@TheCryptoDrive, @Ausbitbank
& @TheMarkyMark


Leave A Comment & Follow me @Steembusiness

Sort:  

I think people tend to over romanticize the past.

786C3766-024C-4838-8D4E-5973A5BE875E.jpeg

You need to also take into account all the new interactions technology allows, like being able to videocall people from another continent for example.

Perhaps the way we interact with each other is changing, but interactions as a whole are increasing. Steemit is an example.

And I believe technological innovations are necessary for our survival. If our technology doesn’t evolve, we will cease to exist.

I'll agree with you on the video call eventually that it can count as human interaction. But social networks are for me just an illusion of real human interaction. I still like them but what I'm saying is that many people rather communicate via their phone instead of a direct conversation...

I think technology and human interaction comes in waves.

When AIM (aol instant messenger) first came out, I was a young teenager. My parents wouldn't let me go out late at night without supervision so I didn't have a good way to talk to friends at night except for texting. AIM completely changed that. I would spend hours talking with my school friends about everything. It's pretty much the only reason I learned how to type quickly. Without that technology, I wouldn't have talked to my friends nearly as much.

Now with FB, Insta, Snap, & ..., the connections feel shallow and fake. I tend to avoid most of the modern day social media. New technologies like VR chat seem very promising and will probably enable new forms of communication that people appreciate until corporations finish monetizing them.

What a wonderful post about a subject that I think about all of the time. As we lean more and more on technology it does come to replace interaction between us. When we have less interaction we do not do as well as a society. Humans are pack animals and like Deer or Wildebeast, we depend on each other to know how we are doing, where resources are and if we are safe. Without this there is the possibility that we will lose our humanity and empathy for each other. We should really be worried about his because it can change everything and particularly many of the things we now cherish? What do you think?

I agree that many social aspects get lost through the use of technology. People prefer to text these days rather than to talk to each other. But only real words will bind us.

Yes we use text and email and facebook and twitter and the humanity gets taken out in the process. We need to be careful because we might find ourselves evolving into animals we do not like or recognize. Thanks again.

Everywhere you turn you see people glued to their phones. I don't know if blockchain technology will make things even worse but it definitely isn't a pretty sight to watch.

Interesting thought, I saw a documentary many years back when MMORPGs were starting to become hugely popular. The documentary gave a warning how people will become more involved in their virtual selfs and become disconnected with reality. With tehnologies like blockchain, VR, AI etc becoming mainstream such a day may not be too far away.

I'm not sure which movie it was but it shows a future in which humans interact through robots. An extreme that IMO symbolizes the way we interact today already.

I like to post you and that great teacher is my favorite genius and smart

very satisfactory👍

Informaive article

like ween we are having a live conference a conversation or a class...
and the fone rings interrupting the teacher!
true!!

not saying they are mentaly compleetly somewere else but not the place were they really are!

pleasing & wonderful!

terrific & elated!

breathtaking & terrific!

blockchain will make give the power to the people to do their own thing...check Ethlend, you can become your own bank as the platform is already working but still needs some work...

Sure but all this amazing tech just isolates us in some way...

Yes this is unfortunately happening. I see that everywhere when I visit my friends, at schools, in the trains etc. People became addicted to social Media and Games.
I think with the freedom that the blockchain technology brought us many things will change to be better, but all depends on how we use it! We will have more time for ourselves and do things that we want. If we want to use all that in a positive or negative way that depends on every individual.

Hi friends steemians i @sayutiyusuf newcomers greet all friends, seniors, master steemit and all that is in this comment may best friend steemians all successful and triumph always in the future. I am a newcomer to the world of steemit introducing myself to all steemians friends in order to be willing to follow, vote, share experiences and knowledge that steemians friends get all this time, not sharing that well 😀. steemians friends, this is all I can do as a newcomer. best friend steemians willing to help me in achieving success together. Thank you very much.

@steembusiness I don't worry about where the Blockchain may take us. I just like the Fact that Crypto could bring down Central Banking and destroy the FIAT enslavement.

I agree with you that people cannot live without their eyes being glued to the smartphone.

I am waiting for the green man at one junction of the traffic light. I saw a kid being glued to a smartphone. When the man turned green, he was oblivious that we can start walking across the road. The reaction time was unbelievably slow for a kid. Upvoted!

Blockchain is becoming more complex, diverse and risky. It will lead to reductiion of human ntact as moreo peole keep starign on their screens trying to ake money.

I hope blockchain will improve it. I would hypothesize that the reason people are glued to their technology all the time is because corporations make money from the tech addiction.

Basically every social media and game app makes money from you using it. So what do they do? They make it as addictive as possible without considering the consequences or social implications. There's literally a startup called Dopamine which promises to hack your users brain to make your app more engaging without having it create any more value.

I know by using Steemit over centralized services, no corporation makes money from my internet addiction. The only group (other than witnesses) that makes money is the people who create content of value for me. In Steemit, there's not incentive to create a shallow addicting service because there's no corporation to profit from it.

This is my hope for blockchain but I'm sure it won't be quite as rosy as I make it out to be.

Great post! You just got a 15.15% upvote from @edensgarden!
Thanks for tasting the eden!