TECHNOLOGY: Introducing the amazing Compact Disc. (1982)..!!

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

COMPACT DISC (1982)



Regular readers of my Blog will know that I have a passion for appreciating the achievements that have been made in the advances in Technology, especially those over the last 30-40 years.

Earlier I was digging deep into some old material and came across this video talking about the launch of the Compact Disc.

This is a great short video that first brings you up to date from the cylinders of the late 1800's through to record and tape players of the 1960's & 1970's.

But the best bit has to be towards the end when the Presenter suggests that in the future someone would eventually put Beethoven's 9th Symphony on a silicon chip and then quickly tells the viewers not to laugh.

Just think, it was only 35 years ago that Compact Discs were just about to replace the tape..!!


Thanks again for reading/watching.

Stephen

Sort:  

I love your historical perspective on technology, as it shows how far we have come from humble roots. It is hard to imagine that the compact disc was once the storage device of choice for most people. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you. You are very welcome. Stephen

So tell me where can I get one of these Magic Music Discs

I wonder if anyone at the time predicted that in 30 years time kids would revert back to vinyl.