Can You Help Me Choose a Great, Big, Computer Monitor For Pro Use?

in #technology6 years ago

I use computers A LOT. I generally have 100+ tabs open in my browser and between 2 and 10 other apps open at the same time. For years I have had 2 * 24" monitors side by side - but they are a bit dated now, so I've been looking to replace them.. But things have gotten difficult!

Computer monitor technology has come a long way in the last 10-15 years. I can remember using CRT monitors that were HUGE and heavy. When flat screens came along it was a great day indeed.. But my screens haven't moved on much from those early days. I have a Samsung monitors that is over 10 years old and a Benq monitor that's about 3 years old. Neither of them are particularly good compared to even the average ones that most people have in their homes.. And I actually need better than average to do good photo, video and audio work.

So I've been researching the options for replacing them and it's quite complicated. I have several decisions to make regarding the technology options, screen size and other factors that all effect the pricing significantly. To make matters worse, there isn't a single shop in the city near me that actually has large monitors on display - so I will have to order one/two and test it/them and then maybe send them back if they aren't great.

Things to consider


My monitors are 1080p resolution, which is the same as standard TVs. It's good enough for casual use, but for a 'power user', more resolution is needed. More resolution means more screen space and more ability to look at more things at once.

4K is currently the option that gives the most space on screen.. a 4K screen has 4 times the number of pixels of a 1080p screen, so it can either be huge or maybe a smaller size but with enhanced image quality due to having a massive number of pixels crammed into a small space. But 4K screens are quite pricey and worse than that, they really need a top-end graphics card in the computer to be able to run 3D software and games on them. I don't play games a huge amount, but I do sometimes and I wouldn't want to lose the ability to play games just because I upgraded the screen. I think it will be possible to play games in a window on a larger screen, so maybe this isn't such a problem. Graphics cards are currently pretty hard to find and the two biggest computer shops near me have ZERO in stock, because crypto miners are buying them all up in vast numbers!

The other option is to buy a non 4K screen, that's bigger than 1080p.

Then there's the issue of the type of panel in the screen. IPS is the form that is meant to give the best colour representation, which is important when working with images and video. I am not a professional digital artist, but I do make images and videos - and sometimes for clients, so it would be good to have an IPS screen. Unfortunately, that also boosts the price.

Then there's the refresh rate (the speed at which the screen image is refreshed) - with lower numbers (in milliseconds) being better. If the refresh rate is too high (as with flatscreen TVs) then photo editing and gaming is hard to do because there can be a lag between moving the mouse and seeing the change on the screen. There can also be a 'ghosting' effect created (residual images).

Additionally, there's also the size/shape of the screen to consider. Some screens are HUGE - at over 50".. While the standard is 27" currently. So I could maybe get two 27" screens side by side, or one big one. There are also now the super wide screens that are one single panel that is as wide as two standard screens side by side! These are great for gaming, but they don't come in IPS as far as I am aware.

Unfortunately, these screens tend to be curved - which is no good for me as I need a flat screen for photo editing etc.

Screens I have considered


I am trying to keep the price as low as possible - so I have started with the best 'bang for buck' options.

The Acer et430 is a 43" 4K IPS panel that is VERY cheap in one store in Britain currently:

I nearly ordered one, except then I watched some youtube videos where people were complaining that it suffers from ghosting really badly.

So then I looked at LG's equivalent model, which is quite a lot more expensive.. And then found people also complaining about ghosting.

Then I looked at Philip's similar model and found the same thing!

All of these screens have some people complaining about them and some saying they are great. Since I can't demo them, I am kind of stuck.

There's also the option of running two Acer Predator's side by side. The Predator is said by many to the be the best gaming monitor currently available and since it comes in two versions - one with IPS and one without - it would be possible to have all the benefits of the different configurations at the same time. But they are PRICEY..

What do you think?

Do you have any tips? I'm mostly all ears! ;)

Wishing you well,

Ura Soul

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!
Don't forget, there are more than the 50 witnesses you see on the witness voting page in steemit.com)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

You know if you did need to have a high end video card you could use it to mine while not using the computer, it could help with the cost of the card and monitor combo! I currently have 3 x ati radeon rx 580's mining away on monero. I just did a post on the bios mods, I actually only added the third today so I have a bit of tweaking to do.

Just one more hash, just one, lol.

True, yes - but the cost of a 1080ti is over £1000 and I think it would take over a year to recoup it's cost.. But the main issue is that it would have to be running all the time and my bed is in the same room as my PC.. So that would be annoying!

Oh you do not want a rig running where you sleep for sure. But if you were going to be buying it anwyaw it can help with its cost. Would you need a 1080? I'm pretty sure a £400 rx580 could drive a 4k screen no problem.

I don't have good memories of AMD technology, so I always stick with Nvidia and Intel now - but I will take a look though, thanks.

Mad , I am the opposite, I don't have a good history with nvidia's! I have a very similar set up to your current 2 x 28" 1080p led monitors with a radeon rx490 4gb ram GPU. Both completely full of different applications and browsers. Typically I have 3 support sessions running at the same time, multiple db's, out own companies SaaS platform and so many other things too, also usually gimp and notepad ++ with about 20 tabs lol. Who says men cant multi task...

I would opt for the 4k screen because of the number of pixels it has, though it has a number of disadvantages just like you've highlighted but I think I would prefer it since I'm not a game freak. If my siblings wanna play games then it would be nice to get a separate screen that will support the 3D software and other features needed.

I guess I could keep the better of my two 24" screens for gaming and just get a 4K screen, yes. I need to find one that doesn't have problems with ghosting though.. and I have no idea how to do that other than just to order one and send it back if it is a problem.

Okay, as long as the product is under warranty plan. I feel the perceived issue of ghosting is just one that has been hastily generalized. One can still get the product and enjoy it without encountering such

I'm surprised they have not solved the ghosting problem by now. Have you considered the iMac? the 5K or even the regular one. Pros tend to use a Mac to get work done more as opposed to gaming. You have a computer and monitor in one package, with no Windows viruses to worry about.


source

I really don't need to replace my actual computer - I need to use linux and windows really. I am not much of a fan of apple.. I know their screens are nice, but I think other manufacturers can equal them. Having said that, I haven't really researched them in detail.

I wish you the best in your search, and I know you will find something that suits your taste. If you ever want to give Apple a look down the line, you can run Windows on a Mac.. Best wishes and let us know what you got! :)

You are way more tech than me, but I do image editing and have been very pleased with my monitor - it has awesome height adjustment, and for what it looks like I thought it was a darn good deal - no complaints at all - I think it's excellent

Philips BDM3275UP 32" 4K UHD IPS LED Monitor

Thanks, ok. I just checked that one on ebay and for some reason it is more expensive than Philips' 43" IPS 4K screen that has a lower response time. I'm not sure why. Maybe your one is higher quality in other ways and so doesn't suffer from image retention?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/381858621490

This demos image retention, in case you arn't sure what I mean:

It is a nice quality monitor with an awesome base, but refresh and retention are not things I looked into.

This photo is before we upgraded everything after selling all our Bitcoins in December - all the old stuff:

0MG 100 tabs, you are a havy user.
ya big monitor is best for you sir. i think thats may amazing.

hehe - i study a lot of subjects at once ;)

I agree with moon-girl, it's really amazing that you can have all those tabs and not get lost. I wish I had such a big screen, lol, but I can barely afford the one I have right now (1440x800 or something like that).

Good luck finding the proper monitor. I would help you but as you may have guessed I haven't had the chance to try many.

I used to use a plugin for firefox that lets you group tabs together and view them all on a kind of map screen.. That worked really well, but then firefox removed it about 6 months ago.. So now I am a bit lost I have to admit. I might go and look for a replacement for the 'tab groups' plugin now actually.

You can get a 1080p 24" monitor used on ebay for almost no money at all... They are hard to give away sometimes!

big screen always rocks,its feel premium. samsung my choice bc its produced more colour production.

you are boss @ura-soul
hope so you will be the no.1 witness

very nice work

Wow..really excellent monitor sir i like it

I use Hp 22es. Did you try it?IMG_20180429_020631.jpg

That screen is 21.5" across - so it is too small for my needs here. I have 2 * 24" screens and I need something that's bigger than them.

Ok sir. Thanks for the reply.

Awsome post sir. .I am your big fan

Awesome script love to see this that so nice keep sharing

I guess you are always occupied with a lot of researches maybe thats why u leave 100 tabs active

yes, exactly ;)

I love the Samsung monitor but you said it’s no good for you so I’d suggest the predator , no matter the price for a quality job, it’s worth it my friend

Wait and get an OLED Monitor. They are better for your health from what I've been hearing... Read Here I have sensitive eyes myself, one of these is on my wish list.