Tell your story contest - My story by @ladaural

in #tellyourstory7 years ago (edited)

Hi steemians, I'm going to tell you my story! I hope you are encouraged to enter the contest and tell me yours!

IMG_20150820_112551.JPG

My name is Laura and i'm 25 years old :)

Your life before steemit?

Well even if you do not believe it, there is a before and after marked precisely by this social network. Before steemit, I was studying medicine, I am in the ninth semester and my career has 12 semesters, so it takes little time to finish. As my followers know, I live in Venezuela.

This year has been characterized by a tense political situation that has been sharpened by the wonderful idea (sarcastically speaking) of making a huge change in the country's constitution, in order to perpetuate in power the ruling political party that is currently communist. That is why my university has decided to suspend activities and join in the constant protests that take place on all the streets of Venezuela.

17522714_1406816409392450_4189250979841457940_n.jpg

Since the announcement by the government and the whole situation that it has generated, the truth is that I got very depressed. My career has been characterized by constant pauses because there are always problems in the country that force us to stop our activities and go to protest and sometimes I feel that time is running fast and I do not finish my studies an be able to concreting what I will do with my life.

I decided to focus more on attending the gym every day, spending quality time with my family and my boyfriend, helping the guys who protest because I don't feel particularly prepared to attend such things because there are weapons and bullets in between and that scares me, I don't want to die like that. I joined a group that is responsible for providing food and water to those who attend the protests and write messages of encouragement to continue their struggle.

How did you introduce yourself to steemit?

Just two days after my birthday, in may, my boyfriend @danielxls told me that his best friend had told him about a very innovative social network. He told me that his friend wanted to talk to me and tell me, because he knew that although I study medicine, I also work as a web editor for several years and that I love writing, which is why steemit is the perfect place for someone like me.

Who introduced you here (mention if possible)?

@hzavarce told me all about the community, also introduced me to the world of cryptocurrency and thanks to him I have been soaking more of the subject. At first I must confess that it takes me several days to open my account, because although I love writing, I do not usually do it on social networks because from my point of view, people there do not value much quality content, they publish many things that aren't interesting so I prefer to use facebook or instagram to communicate with my friends and family or find out some news.

What is the theme of your channel?

I do not have a particular subject. If I had to define it, the theme would be me. I like to post about my life, my two countries of birth and I say so because although I am Colombian by birth, I have lived in Venezuela since I was 6 years old, so both countries mean a lot to me. I have post from recipes to personal writings, photographs and more. In my channel you will find a lot of different content.

Your hobbies and interests?

Mainly write. I love reading, I will soon post recommending some books. I'm in love with cats. I like to watch movies, cook, exercise, research the latest advances in medicine, listen to music. Sometimes I go into photography and I achieve things that I like. I also like to dance and travel!

cats.jpg

Your best and worst experiences here?

Thank God I haven't had bad experiences. I think the only one is something common and that, from my point of view, is something that I do not consider it to be a bad thing, it is part of the process that involves steemit: inspire writing a post, put the best of you, spend 3 or 4 hours writing and editing photos and you get just 1 dollar, 7 or 8 views and no one comment your post :( that's really frustrating hahaha

The best experience has been when I posted my photo for the black and white photography contest about animals. Although I did not win any of the prizes, my photo was quite accepting and gave me lots of upvote, that feeling of knowing that people like what you post is very nice. You can check my post here

Life after steemit?

As I said above, my life has changed after steemit. Now I spend every time reviewing the publications of people I follow, I interact with people from various parts of the world thanks to steem.chat and my perspective on life has changed. Before, I was very closed to that I had to dedicate myself exclusively to medicine, but thanks to this social network, I have dusted my writing skills and resumed my desire to study journalism.

As everyone knows, the situation in Venezuela is very bad and this is why I am finding a way to study in another country and if my blog in steemit became very successful, I could with those rewards, be able able to pay for myself my studies. This has marked a considerable change in my life! Steemit has inspired me to see that I have the potential to venture into other things and be successful.

Thanks for reading me, I hope that I have not bored you haha

@varunsangwan thanks for creating this kind of contest!

Steem on!

Please

Thanks for the support <3

Sort:  

Epic story - thanks for sharing <3

Thanks to you for reading my post, means a lot!

This is interesting story of you at steemit. Just followed you to get more of your updates in my feeds.

thank you! and again, congrats on your achievement!

This comment has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 8.93 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @cryptokraze. Vote for Aggroed!

stolen pics and photoshop?

What? all the photos are mine. I do not understand your comment.

Maybe it's because of the last picture, which is strongly edited (the one you're holding a sign on) :)

It was just a creative way of taking a picture, but it's me. People should make such comments on solid grounds, not by bittering others' lives

20170617_180223.jpg

This is a really nice picture and I'd like to see if anyone doubts a picture like this :)

@apsu Thanks for your support, You helped me a lot in discord chat :D

You're welcome :)

Lovely pictures,upvoted.Followed u wish u do the same.

thank you! :D yes I will :)

Thank you for sharing your story! I had a roommate from Columbia once and I remember the stories she'd tell about the politics and upset. I wish you and your country peace!

Is the situation in Venezuela getting worse? I hear that folks are using bitcoin to buy basic goods now since the government has driven its currency to the ground.

Yes, things are getting worse and I do not think they will get better in a long time. Bitcoin help us to buy basic products because the minimum wage is a misery and everything is extremely expensive. Buying anything is a luxury.

Start a local Steemit group, like each other's posts and grow your group, earn income and get more folks to see the way free of corrupt government interference. I hope all goes better for you and your family. Peace.

Thanks for sharing your story, Hopefully the situation gets better there. Followed!

your comment made my day, nice gif hahahaha
thanks, I hope so too!

Such times...these days. I feel for you @ladaural...good to see you're managing to be productive inside all the chaos. Writing is an excellent outlet.

Nice to have met you and I wish you the best of luck here.

~may all hatred cease...let there be peace~

Yes, it is necessary to deal with the bad spins in a good way
Nice to meet you too!! thanks for your support <3

~smiles fer miles~

Congratulations @ladaural! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post.
All the best to you. :)

Thanks :) I'm glad that you read it

Your beauty and intelligence go hand in hand.

thanks you so much! :)

Before joining Steemit, I used to scroll up and down facbook in my leisure time :P :D. Now that I embark on the platform of steemit, I hardly open anything else on FB except our own group, 'Steemit group for support'. Besides FB, I was busy in learning circuits, microcontrollers inshort Electrical Engineering

good, steem on! :D This social network will soon surpass facebook

Great story. Sorry to see so many idiots trying to spoil the mood here. I'm going to follow along with your journey.

Yes, actually it seems like a joke. In the post I wrote that I never had a bad experience inside the community and those two people comment THIS post with words full of hate hahahaha

Best of luck getting on with your medical studies. I feel terrible for the people of Venezuela struggling with the current situation.

Thanks for your wishes. Yes, it is difficult but we have hope that soon it will end.

nice story

thanks <3

Really nice your post and your story! Don't worry about the rewards, it's so common when you're starting. Have nice days and Steemit On! (;

Yes, I really have focused more on seeing Steemit as a place to be creative and maybe it can give me some money but I'm not looking at it from the monetary point so I do not obsess about it lol Thanks for your advice! Steem On too!

Awesome. up-voted and followed.

wow thank you so much <3

Very nice story. Hope yoi achieve your dream of studying abroad :)

Thanks. Im very hopeful about that

Well you are already doing great in life by struggle, you'll eventually achieve all your objectives by consistency. I hope situation becomes feasible soon in Venezuela

hello doc followed and upvoted

i enjoyed your story @laduaral welcome to #steemit beautiful girl :)

I was at band camp and this girl sodomized herself with a flute, need I say more?

Totally inappropriate

thanks for your support!

I don't understand your comment... Please learn to respect, I think with these kind of unnecessary comments you are damaging the harmony of the community. It's not funny.

bad comment

really bad! thanks for your support

Okay I will keep my stories to myself :/