Ten Random Things about @saunter

in #tenrandomthings6 years ago (edited)

OK, I had to do this! @route-m-d aka @suchy nominated me and I can't escape now! Here's my take on "ten random things challenge"! Thanks for nominating me, it was fun to write. And don't forget to check @route-m-d's post!


The bonus question they asked was:

If you could move back in time, who you'd like to meet with?

I think I would go back to either Buddha or Jesus times just to see how it really was back then and what's true about these figures. And I'd probably follow one or the other then (:

Now ten random facts about me! Here we go:


1. I can speak Esperanto

I have learned Esperanto in few months and I can communicate with it with ease, although it's still far from fluency (due to laziness in memorizing new words). Esperanto is the most widely spread artificial language and is much easier to learn that all natural languages. Esperantists has their own culture, movies, books, poetry, slang, websites, and all other things like any other cultures across the world!

2. I think about death almost every day

Evanescence and fragility of life comes to my mind very often and is a source of various reflections and thoughts. Sometimes it is accompanied with fear, sometimes with acceptance or curiosity. It's definitely one of the reasons of my fascination with philosophy and religion. These thoughts are not suicidal if someone is worried. :P I think that most of us avoid the subject of death which is not a good thing since it is a part of everyone's future.

3. I was an altar boy for a few years...

As a 7 or 8 year old boy I became an altar boy in a small catholic church in my hometown. I was pretty into it until I became more atheistic or agnostic in my teenage years and I left the church. The anger at Christianity at that time has long passed away, but I don't identify as Christian anymore.

4. ...and ended up in zen Buddhist retreat.

In high school I was really searching for some vent and framework for my spirituality needs, and ended up practicing Zen Buddhism up to this day (in a very irregular way though). Nowadays I'm more open to other-than-zen Buddhist traditions and also a secular Buddhist approach - always searching and experimenting!




5. I made a short movie once

I was attending a high school named after [Krzysztof Kieślowski], one of the biggest minds of not only polish, but world cinema. The high school with such a cinematic traditions organised an amateur film festival, for which I decided to make a short movie. It was highly appreciated and won audience award and editing award and was screened in a real cinema! You can watch it here:

6. I'm a yerba mate freak

I love this south american drink since about 7 or 8 years. It lifts my mood, gives me a lot of energy and supplements vitamins. It's amazing while studying anything or doing sports. And I just love the taste and the whole ritual surrounding making yerba mate. I infected a dozen or so people with this drink so I am truly a freak!

7. I buy more books than I can read

This is an addiction, undoubtedly. I just have to buy a book once in a while. I also use Kindle since few years, but I still love the old, classic paper way of reading. I wonder how my library will look in my old age!

8. I worked with schizophrenics for a month

I did a short internship in an outpatient department dedicated to people witch psychotic disorders (mostly various forms of schizophrenia). I mostly just spent time with them, talking on different topics, playing games and I also I conducted morning gymnastics activities, occasionally doing some light therapeutic work with them (well, more it was more of a psychoeducation than therapy). These people were absolutely charming, friendly people, some of them very, very fragile. Don't ever be afraid of schizophrenics!

9. I love experimenting with dream world

I was passionate lucid dreamer, now experiencing it from time to time. I tried polyphasic sleep for a few days, sleeping just 2 hours a day in total! I'm quite well informed on dream science and constantly fascinated with this world.

10. I am planning a several year long hitchhiking trip

I'm currently saving money on Iceland and preparing for the journey of my life to which I'm gonna embark on in 2019. It may take up to 3 years and there's high chance it will be around-the-world trip! Together with my travel mate we'll cover the whole thing as @steem-hikers!


And that'd be all folks! Hope I did not bore you to death!

Bonus questions for my nominees:

Who's your favourite writer and why?

And I am nominating... @veggie-sloth, @bowess and @glass.wolf!

Hope you guys will join! I'm really curious what will you tell us about yourselves! Fell free to choose in which language you will write your replies! :)



Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

If you are interested in Buddhism, your expedition to Asia will be even better! I was in several Buddhist temples but I had the best feelings in Wat Chalong in Phuket. I visited the place several times, usually in the evening, to avoid tourists. The whole place, in my opinion, has an incredible energy that calms down. During the day, I had the opportunity to join the monks who sang in one of the temples. After a few dozen minutes I simply felt great. I'm curious if you have a Phuket in your plans?

I also think about death almost every day. Only that in this positive way and without fear. If there was no death, we would be terribly bored with life. :)

I used to be interested in LD. I have even had some incredible experiences, but I had the impression that I was also opening up to other "things", so I stopped doing so.

We have Thailand on our list for sure, but the details and regions which we'll visit will turn out on the way I guess ;)

What where these other "things"? :D

I like this open minded attitude to travel. ;)
Don't ask me about it in public lol

Oh, it's such a difficult task, but it's a good opportunity to introduce myself to English readers :)

Love this short movie! I miss mate so much, last time had in Colombia. Your answer is very interesting. I'm curious to see how it was on the beginning. Assume that many things could surprise us.

When I was a teenager, I wrote "This is your life and it's ending... one minute at a time" (quoted from Palahniuk's Fight Club) on the wall of my room. I hoped seeing it everyday would push me into taking action more often, taking more control of my life. It didn't :p

BTW, how did your poliphasic sleep went?

I did it only for 4 days, and the first two were terrible (I did not do any transition phase), but the second 2 were really good and I felt great. I want to do this experiment again for at least two weeks someday!

< 3 Wonderful random things! Crucial, I would say :)

This is slightly delayed on my end but - I really liked that video you made!