You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Wild World of EV Ownership

in #teslalast year

As somebody who has never owned or ever even driven an EV, I gotta say you described this whole charging thing very well. I know me, I’d be trying to supercharge my Tesla while I was at the gym for an hour or two. My city’s superchargers just happen to be right next to the gym I go to. It would work perfectly. If it were a traditional charger I would come out and barely have mileage gained. Maybe 50-60 miles+ with the numbers you’re showing.

So is leaving your car outside charging overnight something that’s possible for you? Or do you have to sit with it and babysit it while it charges?

Sort:  

There's a bit of a learning curve to discovering how these cars will fit into your life. I'm seeing a lot more Level 2 (slow) chargers in mall parking lots and on city streets. I think it'll become customary for people to just plug in while they park to shop or go to the gym. After a while it'll just become like second-nature. I probably wouldn't be comfortable leaving my car on the street overnight in our area. There's just too much crime here. I would leave it on the street for a few hours during the day (with Sentry Mode on) so I'd be alerted if anyone messed with it.

I’m lucky where I live is very laid back and there isn’t a ton of crime. Plus our only chargers are in a very public place with lots of cameras and people always around.

Too bad Sentry Mode doesn't actually come with a turret.

You’re very lucky! Our neighborhood didn’t get terribly bad until a few years ago.

😂 We joke that we hope Elon rolls out “force field mode” with the next software update. I’m not holding my breath though.

Force field gotta happen!