Thoughts on Thailand when I visited in 2007

in #thailand7 years ago

It has been 10 years now, and I still can forget my trip to this Southeast Asian country called Thailand.

As I went into the trip, I did not know what to expect. The only thing I knew about the country was that the food was flavorful and delicious, but it can be damn spicy if you eat a Thai pepper which will leave you chugging ice water for awhile. The other two thing I knew about Thailand was Thai kickboxing and Thai massages.

With me being so naive about the country, I was going to a country with an open mind. My first experience touching down Bangkok was this place is HOT and humid. The people of Thailand is very proud of their King Bhumibol Adulyadej. There was pictures of him everywhere on the side of condo buildings to shack like food vendor stalls. It made me quickly realize there has been a long history of Kings in Thailand.

1578911662.jpg

My second thought was the people here they work hard. There are tons of people just hustling and bustling. as I had a tour guide take me around Bangkok. Tourism is one of the biggest industries in the country. Tour buses shuttles big to small groups all around the country. The tourguide profession is a hardwork. They travel 3-7 days out of the week leaving their families at home. They constantly plan, entertain the guests, and fulfill what the guests want to do.

Here is a beautiful sunset in Bangkok:

In this picture, I captured it on a boat streaming down a river in Bangkok. It was a boat ride with dinner while enjoying the sunset. It is one of my favorite pictures I took of the country.
17807517465_c0a2c7c319_b.jpg

The tourguide took me to Pattaya which is a beach town in Southern Thailand. It was one of the strangest places I ever went to. The city is the It is a vacation location for many Europeans and Americans looking for anything goes. Money is KING, and I saw numerous human trafficking young and old which was kind of sickening when you see a 60 year old with 2 underage teenage girls following him and attending to his every need. The image of that has forever burned into my memory.

The city of Pattaya is the hosting city of LadyBoys beauty pageant. There are tons of ladyboys everywhere. When you take a look at them they really can fool most tourist. My tourguide informed to us that a lot guys who are pressured in having surgeries in becoming a women because their families are poor and sex sells here in this country. There are more guys than girls in Thailand our tourguide says and it is resulted by eating toooo spicy. I am not too sure I believe that...

Beautiful beach in Pattaya
16236919503_ffb337453b_b.jpg

16234522084_98347ed53c_b.jpg

I came to this country with a open mind and left with eye opening experience of how a city can tailor sex, and a anything goes type of lifestyle to foreigners to make a living to support themselves and their families.

Pros:
Beautiful beaches
Tropical fruit (probably the best coconut and mangos you will ever eat)
Leaves you humble
Money can buy you anything
Cheap goods & services
Get lots of Thai massages

Cons:
Tons of lady boys (Don't be fooled)
Human trafficking
Underage trafficking
Money can buy you anything

Tips:
Never buy anything at a tourist spot. Most likely it will be very cheaply made crap
3 ways things to look out for spotting a ladyboy (adams apple, look at hands and feet, and shoulders)
Do not take durian and eat it in a public area (you will be yelled at because that smell travels)
Don't get stuck and be brought to see a sex show (Go if that is your thing)

Enjoy and donate if you like my blog :D