Picture of my front yard as hurricane Florence came through my area in North Carolina.

in #thankful6 years ago

MVIMG_20180910_203517.jpg

I live in Burlington North Carolina near the top end of the state, but even though we are at least three hundred miles away, a very heavy rainfall is a very serious issue.

In the photo is my street that will flood and I do mean a big one it it rains really hard for an extended period of time.
My home is very near a creek that flows from behind my home that travel underground, which it happens to go under my driveway and part of my front yard that then goes under the street, then it comes out into a trench across the street then goes on to another creek coming from another direction.

This is my view during a hurricane, because if it starts to flood with a strong flow, that means we gotta leave.
So I constantly look out my front door to see if I need to leave.
Fortunately, we did not have a flood in my area like many people had in my state.
I was just sitting here on a beautiful Sunday afternoon grateful for not having the issues that many in my state are dealing with.

I have family all over this state and some are still not up to normal as usual due to damage from the storm.

I am just sitting here thankful on this day considering the fact that many are still cleaning up.
I have not been on Steemit due to me helping in where I can but now that things are getting better, I will be posting more.

Steem on!!!!!

Sort:  

Pleased to hear from you, I had been thinking about you and wondering whether you were okay. Hope everyone is safe and able to get settled down soon.

Yes, we are well here, but some of my family elsewhere were not as lucky. Flooding was mostly our problem.

Glad that you're back and that things weren't any worse for you. My family in Durham area were okay too.

Well you missed a lot of drama on here last week! Good timing. LOL

Oh man that looks not good! I heared that the floods were historically and abysmal...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh yes my friend, parts of interstate highway I-40 was completely underwater.

Yeah, we got lucky this time.