Don't Just Leaf Them Alone

in #thegreenthumb4 years ago (edited)

Every day I take the time to prune off the yellowing leaves on my plants.

Some people think that you should leave the leaves until they completely died off so that they can continue to help the plant.

IMO, I think these dying leaves take more energy from the plant then they produce.

Therefore, If I cut them off; more energy goes to healthy growth.

I used to get so concerned when a plant would start getting yellowing leaves.

Over time, I have learned it's part of the normal cycle of nature.

It is also important to take off any spent blooms on your plants.

IMG_7327.JPG

IMG_9537.JPG

IMG_9496.JPG

IMG_9745.JPG

IMG_9557.JPG

IMG_9126.JPG

IMG_9718.JPG

IMG_7627.JPG

Update on the new grow lights, the command tape did not work.

One light had fallen the first night, I put it back up and the next day 3 lights had fallen.

This evening I tried to epoxy them to my shelves and that didn't work... so I'm going to have to figure out a different solution.


IMG_4624.JPG
Stay rad - Stay safe
7-19-20

Sort:  

For the seed starting I used chains and hooks. This allowed me to adjust the height precisely. My lights had holes for hooks.

My shelves aren't large enough for chains and hooks-I will likely keep this idea in my pocket though for when I have a greenhouse one day.

If the lights do have holes for hooks, maybe screwing a screw with the right sized head to the underside and sliding it into the holes?

I just realized they have little screw holes, I think I'm gonna have to screw them to the shelf tomorrow.