Philodendron Birkin-Chemically Altered?

in #thegreenthumb4 years ago

It wasn't until I saw a Philodendron Birkin in person that I actually liked them.

After I bought 2 (one for me, one to separate and sell) that I heard the debate going on...

There is a debate going on in the plant community that this plant is actually chemically altered.

61577446974__36D3928C166E41788E0E11BA7ACAA7D2 2.jpg

Last year there was a plant called the Philodendron Pink Congo and it flooded that market with a huge price point.

Turns out, the plant reverts.

Turning from pink to all green over time.

IMG_9826.JPG

The Philodendron Birkin is suggested to be chemically altered as well and it will revert to a red color.

It would look more like a Philodendron Congo Red

IMG_9827.JPG

So time will tell if this one will revert or if it'll continue to have variegation.

There were several at the shop that had started to revert, so who knows what will happen...

IMG_9828.JPG

This plant is currently putting out its first new leaf since being in my care and I'm looking forward to watching it unfurl!

IMG_9830.JPG


IMG_4624.JPG
Stay rad - Stay safe
DATE

Sort:  

It is hard enough when plants change color based on the light conditions. I would be disappointed if my plant became a different color than it originally was. Is it an industry secret what the chemical trick is to force it back into the red/pink color?

I have no idea!

Hhhmmmm... chemically altered houseplants?? Seriously, wtf?!? They're all so unusual and beautiful anyway!!!

You should watch the video I linked about the Pink Congo, it's actually really interesting!

The coloring is stunning! I hope it lasts and doesn't fade....